Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aubrac crossed with dairy cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Anyone use aubrac on dairy cows they're supposed to be easy calving and short gestation. They look a lot like jex though as calves would that stop anyone buying them?

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/should-more-dairy-farmers-use-aubrac-bulls-to-clean-up/
    Bought one during week for creasing u outlined ,easy calving ,short gestation and also heifers should be 5 star and in demand by beef suckler men .look like je stock from front alright but not even a close relation from side or back .y

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Haven't used them on dairy cows, but have used them a lot on angus x fr cows. Lots of U and R grades after him, I think I've only had 1 O grade bull so far. They tend to be mostly black, from the mother's side, an odd red where there is limo in the back breeding, and some black with rusty stripes like a tiger:confused:.
    I don't know what way the calves will be marked from dairy cows. Agree with the calving, born small, easy calving, short gestation. Only ever had to jack one, out of a BB x angus heifer.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Anyone use aubrac on dairy cows they're supposed to be easy calving and short gestation. They look a lot like jex though as calves would that stop anyone buying them?

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/should-more-dairy-farmers-use-aubrac-bulls-to-clean-up/
    Other than seeing them at shows and in France I know feck all about them.
    I wouldn't be too worried about the colour of the calves (JEx) and as mahoney says, once they have the shape.
    In my life I have never bought a calf due to colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

I had an aubrac with my dairy cows a few years ago.
    Very quite bull easy calving the calves were born handy but trived well if you held onto them came brownish black usually mostly solid color
    Sometimes with white sock etc.
    Only downside at the time was some lads at the Mart didn't know the breed as well as limos ch or aa etc.
    The only reason I changed bull was I was running low on replacement heifers.
    He was the quietest bull I ever had would come in and lie down in the front of the parlor every day and you would nearly have to step over him to come out of the pit.
    The dark calf in that photo from link would be typical color from a black and white maybe the others are from red cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭furandfeather

I was doing work for a dairy farmer a couple of months ago that was running a aubrac with his cows. Have to say I was very impressed with all the calves. About 50/50 solid black/solid brown. Lads were queing up for the hiefers, all 5 star

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

djmc wrote: »
    I had an aubrac with my dairy cows a few years ago.
    Very quite bull easy calving the calves were born handy but trived well if you held onto them came brownish black usually mostly solid color
    Sometimes with white sock etc.
    Only downside at the time was some lads at the Mart didn't know the breed as well as limos ch or aa etc.
    The only reason I changed bull was I was running low on replacement heifers.
    He was the quietest bull I ever had would come in and lie down in the front of the parlor every day and you would nearly have to step over him to come out of the pit.
    The dark calf in that photo from link would be typical color from a black and white maybe the others are from red cows.
    That's what I was wondering about, if the buyers would recognise them as calves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

That's what I was wondering about, if the buyers would recognise them as calves.

I found you had to give him them time before selling to show the flesh otherwise fellas might be wary.thought they took a good bit of time as well,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Have me thinking now. What would the au x fr heifers be like for killing at 18 months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

keep going wrote: »
    I found you had to give him them time before selling to show the flesh otherwise fellas might be wary.thought they took a good bit of time as well,

I would agree with that.
    I never had anyone mistake them for jersey's either when sold young
    Friesian made less and ch made more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭stretch film

Was killing time recently and had a look at some of th e bulls available through ai stations .
    On memory a lot were in the 8% bracket for calving ease and nearer 290 than 280 days for gest length.
    Better option than a limo but hardly a Hereford on those criteria .
    Good Herefords made up on 300 this year .avg 250 or so . 3wks old .
    Do lads find a premium on those prices with aubrac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

nearer 290 than 280 days for gest length.

Where did you find that, use to be on old AI books, found it helpful

Farrell wrote: »
    Where did you find that, use to be on old AI books, found it helpful

Icbf, bull search.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Was killing time recently and had a look at some of th e bulls available through ai stations .
    On memory a lot were in the 8% bracket for calving ease and nearer 290 than 280 days for gest length.
    Better option than a limo but hardly a Hereford on those criteria .
    Good Herefords made up on 300 this year .avg 250 or so . 3wks old .
    Do lads find a premium on those prices with aubrac.
    I don't know if it makes a difference but would you buy a good AU bull a bit cheaper than a HE bull ? Hard to pick up a decent AA or HE bulls cheap compare to continental lads

Icbf, bull search.

Just noticed most of the Bulls we use are over 290 days.
    Pity ICBF work of 286

Farrell wrote: »
    Just noticed most of the Bulls we use are over 290 days.
    Pity ICBF work of 286
    are these bulls you use aubracs.?
    5 days extra gesr ation or more on say 50 cow's and t he loss of milk sales (at peak)wouldn't be long taking the shine off any extra calf revenue .
    Lads selling weanlings or stores etc might have a diff argument

Any websites I checked the aubrac's gestation was 281 days the same as Angus.

Maybe .Was only comparing the figures on the 6 or so bulls on sale through ai stations . The Hereford straws I have atm are between 2 and 4% difficulty also.the aub were 7 or more bar one.
    No doubt an easy calving cont with short gest would be very attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭welton john

had four of them a few two years ago.Gestation was somewhere around
    he and bb, def no where near angus. easily calved alright but as said earlier very slow to show a bit of muscle.Sold all as calves and hard sold similar to saler/blond from dairy, some lads be slow to buy them and will pay more for a lesser quality he/bb/lm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

There my purchase any way ,way better value than he or aa .lads selling them are pricing themselves out of the market

are these bulls you use aubracs.?
    5 days extra gesr ation or more on say 50 cow's and t he loss of milk sales (at peak)wouldn't be long taking the shine off any extra calf revenue .
    Lads selling weanlings or stores etc might have a diff argument
    Not Aubrac, but now tempted to use on maidens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Future Farmer

I know there was a guy in WW used an AU Stock Bull on heifers had a clatter of very difficult calvings out of Dairy Heifers.
    Suppose there is hard and easy in every breed, AA & HE too! He should have looked more at the bulls pedigree etc.

ANDALOU S577 https://webapp.icbf.com/bull-search/view/564803849 5 Star Aubrac on gestation length (in top 7%) 287 days (he just happened to be the first one I looked at on their website).

They seem to have a fairly big presence on Social Media, but only 440 Pedigree births in 2014 https://issuu.com/herdplus/docs/journal_body more births than pedigree BB though! On AI in 2014 634 Aubrac Inseminations, round the same as Speckle Park, as a comparison over 46k BB serves, 62k LM serves, 76k AA serves.....

I do think that they will be up though with 2015 figures....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 farmerf

I bought an au bull. Half the price of a descent HE or AA with the same figures on icbf. He'll just be used to mop up. Calving at 2.5 ,5 star on replacement . 3 on terminal. Expensive to get anything else with compatible figures. It's all about the return.

farmerf wrote: »
    I bought an au bull. Half the price of a descent HE or AA with the same figures on icbf. He'll just be used to mop up. Calving at 2.5 ,5 star on replacement . 3 on terminal. Expensive to get anything else with compatible figures. It's all about the return.
    What age, weight is he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 farmerf

What age, weight is he?

March born calf 310 to 320 kg.
    He's smaller and younger than I'd like but was the nicest of the group. He's a bit of a chance but won't have any thing to do till the middle of May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭visatorro

March born calf 310 to 320 kg.
    He's smaller and younger than I'd like but was the nicest of the group. He's a bit of a chance but won't have any thing to do till the middle of May.

As long as he's lucky. Gave big money for Hereford with stars and rosettes coming out his hole. Feckin rig of a yoke. Better off buying a lad off the side of a mountain rather than a pampered fecker out of a straw bedded palace!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭High bike

bought one myself with similar figures to your lad but a few mts older and about 450/470 kgs only problem is he seems a bit flighty,hopefully he settles in the shed over the winter