Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trump ancestral home??

• 04-06-2016 8:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭

There doesn't seem to be much effort into tracing Donald Trump's ancestral home in Ireland. Surely he has one? Muhammad Ali, Ronald Regan, Bill Clinton, the Kennedys and even Joe Bidon had Irish ancestors or so we're led to believe. Nobody in a tizzy to try and trace Trump's.
    I'm wondering if he's not good enough for us??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

He always struck me as Dutch.
    Please be Dutch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,796 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Maybe no one wants to claim to be related to him??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Your Face wrote: »
    Please be Dutch.

Looks a bit like LVG alright. Buzz Lightyear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,192 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Mostly German and scandi I believe. And hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,577 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Under a rock somewhere, or a cave.

Looks a bit like LVG alright. Buzz Lightyear.

He always reminded me of one the Dutch people in Sleepy Hollow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

His Grandfather was German :D

From Kallstadt, Rheinland-Pfalz

0,,19014516_401,00.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭buried

Buford "Mad Dog" Tannen is that lads ancestor

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,574 ✭✭✭pajor

Please be Dutch.

Nope, I won't allow it.

Mag niet.

Check out John Oliver's research - his family name was Drumpf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

His granny's surname was Christ... any relation?

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elizabeth_Christ_Trump

:-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Please be Dutch.

I'll just throw , this in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

His origins a Geman / Scottish, his father and his family are German, his mother's lineage is Scottish.
    Nothing to do with Ireland except business'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Selfbuilder14

His mother I believe is a Mcleod dfro the isle of Skye,he has always been proud of his Scottish roots but Scotland h as never been proud of him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

His mother I believe is a MacDonald from the isle of Skye,he has always been proud of his Scottish roots but Scotland h as never been proud of him

The trouble with Scotland, is that its full of Scots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Michah

K.Flyer wrote: »
    His origins a Geman / Scottish, his father and his family are German, his mother's lineage is Scottish.
    Nothing to do with Ireland except business'.

His mother is Scottish born, is she not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭12Phase

Hopefully they're not the O'Trumps of Termonfeckin.

D.T.'s family tree can be traced back as far as 1727 and the family surname was Trump then.

Johann Paul Trump (1727-1792)

Michah wrote: »
    His mother is Scottish born, is she not?

Yes, Mary-Ann McLeod

Mary Anne Trump (MacLeod)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

K.Flyer wrote: »
    Yes, Mary-Ann McLeod

Mary Anne Trump (MacLeod)
    Given Scotti was the general Roman name for the Irish* and gave it's name to the land we know today, he may have a better claim to Irish ancestry than many who tried to milk it in the past.

*It covered Irish and "little Ireland", IE Scotland. Sometimes Irish was later narrowed down to how we might view it with the addition of "Erugena"(SP?), "born of Ireland" to Scottus. So Donald Scottus would be a general Gael, likely Irish, Donald Scottus Erugena would defo be a local.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

All those Scottish island families are mixed with blood of Viking invaders. Actually makes sense he'd be related to those immigrant invaders given his hard on and hatred for the present immigrants spilling into the current country he wants to run. He's a self hating immigrant

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

buried wrote: »
    All those Scottish island families are mixed with blood of Viking invaders. Actually makes sense he'd be related to those immigrant invaders given his hard on and hatred for the present immigrants spilling into the current country he wants to run. He's a self hating immigrant
    That could be regarded in another way. That he has the hard on and hatred for invaders because his ma's clan were fecked over by same back in the day. You can put a spin on anything these days. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    That could be regarded in another way. That he has the hard on and hatred for invaders because his ma's clan were fecked over by same back in the day. You can put a spin on anything these days. :D

True! They could have gifted the family that ridiculous blonde comb-back hairdo straight from the dark fjords of Scandinavia

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,090 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Ah here, you've just triggered his fanboys into ****posting here. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭HornyDevil

I think Trump's ancestral home is somewhere dark and warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

When he's president he will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,214 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

There doesn't seem to be much effort into tracing Donald Trump's ancestral home in Ireland. Surely he has one? Muhammad Ali, Ronald Regan, Bill Clinton, the Kennedys and even Joe Bidon had Irish ancestors or so we're led to believe. Nobody in a tizzy to try and trace Trump's.

Maybe he doesnt have Irish ancestry

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭terenc

Millions of Americans seem to like him and am quite sure a lot of Irish descendants voted for him then again they went over there when you had no social welfare and we every scheme under the sun to entice people not to work and rip off the system , do gooders shout loudest and we cave in (taxpayer) at least Trump shouts louder.He gets my vote and cead mile failte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

When a politician comes to national public attention in the USA their roots are traced by genealogists over there, not in Ireland. It might get reported here if they find an Irish link, such as with Obama or Sarah Palin, but it's American genealogists who do the research and publicise it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

If he wants to come, why not? He seems to be the acceptable person to hate at the minute among the usual suspects (hypocritical libtards). To say he's doing the Irish-visit, it shows he must be a serious contender for the White House.

I'd vote for him over Hilary any and every day of the week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

When a politician comes to national public attention in the USA their roots are traced by genealogists over there, not in Ireland. It might get reported here if they find an Irish link, such as with Obama or Sarah Palin, but it's American genealogists who do the research and publicise it.

I'd love to know how they found the Muhammad Ali link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Is he not originally from Doonbeg in Clare?

I'm pretty certain that Trump's ancestral home is actually Mexico.

gramar wrote: »
    Is he not originally from Doonbeg in Clare?

No

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

No

Are ya sure?

There's this new invention called google. You should try it sometime.

Terry Pratchet

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Ah I dunno, wasn't the whole Obama connection pretty much the work of the vicar in Moneygall taking an interest in it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Jaysis, you're sound!

He has a big pad down there, golf course the whole lot with his name.
    Thought he might hail from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,770 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

He has a big pad down there, golf course the whole lot with his name.
    Thought he might hail from there.

He has one in Dubai too :-/\

Terry Pratchet

He has one in Dubai too :-/\

Maybe he's from there?

Anyone know the ancestry of his wig?

Probably from ivory, like this dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

He's on record as wanting to date his own daughter, so he must be from Longford.