Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Checklist to go contracting?

Options
  • 02-06-2016 11:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭

Lads

What do I need to do to cross over from a permanent role to contracting at daily rates?. Register as a sole trader?.

Whats the checklist to get me started quickly?

Im a Senior JEE developer / Tech Lead with 15 yrs exp just resigned from my current role & moving West to East.

Contracting market looks very lucrid and fluid.

Thanks
    Magooly

Comments

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

I don't think there's any agencies left that will pay a sole trader. You're probably better off investigating umbrella companies if you're not ready to start your own Limited company.

Check list:

1) Find contract
    2) Register with umbrella company
    3) Work
    4) Get paid

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

On top of what Graham said, be aware of what you will more than likely have to pay as a Contractor. Research Umbrella Companies thoroughly, as they will charge an Admin fee for doing your weekly or monthly pay.

Know what the going rate is for a Contractor with your experience is. With 15 years experience, you may be looking at 400/450+ per day, but you will pay for everything. i.e. PAYE, Employer and Employee PRSI, USC etc, plus your own pension contributions and health insurance.

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭magooly

Thanks guys exactly the info I need.

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭14ned

Itzy wrote: »