Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Market place for lambs

• 02-06-2016 7:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭

Just wondering where people go with there lambs and where they find there getting the best deal. It's my first year with a nice even batch to go soon but don't think I'd have enough to go direct to the factory so a mart or agents are probably my route. Just like to hear other people's opinions and advice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

390kid wrote: »
    Just wondering where people go with there lambs and where they find there getting the best deal. It's my first year with a nice even batch to go soon but don't think I'd have enough to go direct to the factory so a mart or agents are probably my route. Just like to hear other people's opinions and advice

Where are you based?
    My local mart does a factory run every week, drop em off at the mart, you get a cheque in the post from the factory a few days later. (Minus about 3euro for the mart handling fee)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭390kid

Where are you based?
    My local mart does a factory run every week, drop em off at the mart, you get a cheque in the post from the factory a few days later. (Minus about 3euro for the mart handling fee)

That doesn't sound like a bad job. I'm based in cavan along the Leitrim and Fermanagh border

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

That doesn't sound like a bad job. I'm based in cavan along the Leitrim and Fermanagh border

Options are
    Factory in Navan
    Carrigallen on Monday
    Dowra tomorrow
    Cotehill mid week
    Local butcher.

It could be best going for a look to some of the marts first

Farrell wrote: »
    Options are
    Factory in Navan
    Carrigallen on Monday
    Dowra tomorrow
    Cotehill mid week
    Local butcher.

It could be best going for a look to some of the marts first

Ye il just have to try and shape me self to get to 1 for a look before hand got on well in coothill before so could be drew back handy enough

It is difficult when you have small numbers, just don't get full value in mart, but too much hassle to go along way to the factory.
    It's a pity as mentioned above, that there wasn't a service where fit lambs could be weighed & delivered to factory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Farrell wrote: »
    It is difficult when you have small numbers, just don't get full value in mart, but too much hassle to go along way to the factory.
    It's a pity as mentioned above, that there wasn't a service where fit lambs could be weighed & delivered to factory

Why weigh, surely everyone should have their own scales

rangler1 wrote: »

Yeah - all the mart do in my case is transport the lambs. They don't care if you lamb is over or under weight...

It's not group type arrangement where the lambs hae to be within spec. The flip side is you don't get the group premium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Yeah - all the mart do in my case is transport the lambs. They don't care if you lamb is over or under weight...

It's not group type arrangement where the lambs hae to be within spec. The flip side is you don't get the group premium.

are they weighed individually, do they pay on the liveweight

No, the factory pays on deadweight. All the mart do is provide a loading point and transport.
    The lambs go to the factory, you get paid deadweight as if you dropped em there yourself... And the factory deducts a fee for the mart...
    Tis grand...

Now - the price mightn't be as good as lads on here quote at times. But with only a few lanbs anyways, I have no bargaining power so I don't feel it's any worse than I'd do on my own... And time is my biggest problem, so the drop off and gone again in 5 mins suits me...

No, the factory pays on deadweight. All the mart do is provide a loading point and transport.
    The lambs go to the factory, you get paid deadweight as if you dropped em there yourself... And the factory deducts a fee for the mart...
    Tis grand...

Now - the price mightn't be as good as lads on here quote at times. But with only a few lanbs anyways, I have no bargaining power so I don't feel it's any worse than I'd do on my own... And time is my biggest problem, so the drop off and gone again in 5 mins suits me...
    It's a good opportunity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Green farmer

some lads with 5-10 ewes knocking around the place may not have one. In my early days , I used borrow the bathroom weighting scales and stand on it by my self and then with lamb. shortly afterwards, I saw sense and bought a secondhand scales for €250. Never looked back.

Not so bad I thought I was the only one that used that method !!!