Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Date Outfit

• 01-06-2016 2:10pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭

Hi ladies

Just wanted to start by saying I'm a long-term Boards user but started a new account.

So - I have a date.
    I have really, really hit it off with a guy online and we're meeting up in town for a few drinks this Saturday.

I've been on dates before but never stressed too much, but this guy - I don't know, there's something special about him and I want to impress. I'm nervous to the max.

So, what to wear?

Go for skinnies, top and nude heels or should I go for a cute summer dress?
    I want to be relaxed and comfortable but obviously look attractive too.
    We may end up staying out late and hitting a club so need to cover all possibilities...

If there's any guys on here, your input is welcome.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

In this weather, I'd be a little underwhelmed if my date showed up in a pair of jeans. You only get one chance to make a first impression, so a nice, light summery dress would go down a treat.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭BetsyEllen

In this weather, I'd be a little underwhelmed if my date showed up in a pair of jeans. You only get one chance to make a first impression, so a nice, light summery dress would go down a treat.

That's a good point - I was just thinking more of the tanning aspect - I'm pale as ghost right now so would have to go down the fake tan route, which is something I'm not very experienced with.

Maybe a spray tan would be good in this case!

Men have it so easy :P

• Registered Users Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Turn up in what you feel confident in ,
    If that's jean then wear jeans, more confident you are in yourself the better,

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

BetsyEllen wrote: »
    That's a good point - I was just thinking more of the tanning aspect - I'm pale as ghost right now so would have to go down the fake tan route, which is something I'm not very experienced with.

Maybe a spray tan would be good in this case!

Men have it so easy :P

I can't speak for all men, but I love Irish girls pale skin and hate fake tan!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,388 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Underwhelmed by jeans? Seriously?

There must be a trail of underwhelmed men in my wake, so.

OP, wear whatever you'll feel most confident and comfortable in. If skinnies, heels and a nice top is your go-to night out outfit, then wear that. I don't wear dresses at all so I'd feel like a total imposter if I wore one on a first date.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Wear something that you feel comfortable in. I'm not a man and also not a huge fan of fake tan but for me getting spray tan for a date would be trying too hard. Especially if you normally don't use it.

meeeeh wrote: »
    Wear something that you feel comfortable in. I'm not a man and also not a huge fan of fake tan but for me getting spray tan for a date would be trying too hard. Especially if you normally don't use it.

Yes you're right - I normally wouldn't go to these lengths but this one is different.
    I'm getting a bit carried away, I need to just relax and be natural!

Think I'll just put a bit of the Dove stuff on like I normally would and hope for the best.

Thanks for the input everyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 CassieLyons

Go in what you're comfortable in! For me personally, that'd be the dress. I agree with others, no need for the fake tan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭SarahMollie

Hi OP,

Firstly, good luck with your date, I hope he lives up to your expectations :)

Secondly, wear what you know works for you. A date/event/whatever is not the time to experiment with a spray tan if you're not used to it. They're actually quite a fiasco, between needing to walk around grubby on the day its done and then ruining your sheets, before finally washing off the excess the next morning.

If you really want to get rid of the deathly whiteness, one of the gradual tanners would be much safer. You won't exactly be brown but it should take away the greyish tone that an Irish winter can leave on your skin. I use Dove Summer Glow personally, but there are plenty out there.

Regarding what to wear, I'd say be yourself. Yes there is a wintery look associated with dark jeans, black court shoes etc, but you can also do a summer version of the same look. How about white jeans, espadrilles, and a light blouse - still summery and appropriate but also not too much of a departure :)

While its nice to be well presented, don't go over the top to the point where you're actually feeling a bit uncomfortable. Just try to look like the best version of yourself, and not like someone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

Hi ladies

Just wanted to start by saying I'm a long-term Boards user but started a new account.

So - I have a date.
    I have really, really hit it off with a guy online and we're meeting up in town for a few drinks this Saturday.

I've been on dates before but never stressed too much, but this guy - I don't know, there's something special about him and I want to impress. I'm nervous to the max.

So, what to wear?

Go for skinnies, top and nude heels or should I go for a cute summer dress?
    I want to be relaxed and comfortable but obviously look attractive too.
    We may end up staying out late and hitting a club so need to cover all possibilities...

If there's any guys on here, your input is welcome.
    Something sexy. Shorts or a short skirt and belly top.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭ChampagnePop

Best way to attract a quality partner!

Don't see what is wrong with a woman showing off her body. They obviously have a mental connection. I'm not saying dress like a hooker but men are very visual creatures and if she looks sexy it'll make a good impression.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

Jaysus :eek:

Sounds like something out of bad porn!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭ChampagnePop

Don't see what is wrong with a woman showing off her body. They obviously have a mental connection. I'm not saying dress like a hooker but men are very visual creatures and if she looks sexy it'll make a good impression.

A belly top and mini skirt is dressing like a hooker though. Also - all men aren't the same, some men prefer elegant glamour to page three glamour model

A belly top...hahaha...he would be running for the hills, I'm not a Victoria's Secret model you know!

Hi OP,

Firstly, good luck with your date, I hope he lives up to your expectations :)

Secondly, wear what you know works for you. A date/event/whatever is not the time to experiment with a spray tan if you're not used to it. They're actually quite a fiasco, between needing to walk around grubby on the day its done and then ruining your sheets, before finally washing off the excess the next morning.

If you really want to get rid of the deathly whiteness, one of the gradual tanners would be much safer. You won't exactly be brown but it should take away the greyish tone that an Irish winter can leave on your skin. I use Dove Summer Glow personally, but there are plenty out there.

Regarding what to wear, I'd say be yourself. Yes there is a wintery look associated with dark jeans, black court shoes etc, but you can also do a summer version of the same look. How about white jeans, espadrilles, and a light blouse - still summery and appropriate but also not too much of a departure :)

While its nice to be well presented, don't go over the top to the point where you're actually feeling a bit uncomfortable. Just try to look like the best version of yourself, and not like someone else.

Thanks SarahMollie, very good advice :)

I have been putting on Dove for the past couple of evenings and I'm looking a little healthier now haha

I actually thought of Espadrilles earlier today, I'm going shopping tonight to find a pair and I can then wear them in a bit tomorrow.

God, I'm SO nervous but excited - thanks a mill for all the advice guys, will keep you updated!

Something you can run in. You are meeting an unknown.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

This is top quality advice OP. Yoga pants & asics runners. Rather be safe than sorry.

Haha, excellent advice indeed! I will keep this in mind when picking shoes.
    I'll do a little run around the shop to test them out.

Thanks SarahMollie, very good advice :)

I have been putting on Dove for the past couple of evenings and I'm looking a little healthier now haha

I actually thought of Espadrilles earlier today, I'm going shopping tonight to find a pair and I can then wear them in a bit tomorrow.

God, I'm SO nervous but excited - thanks a mill for all the advice guys, will keep you updated!

As it happens, I got a pretty pair of espadril type wedges in Penneys a few weeks back, think they might still have them. They're not too high, but just give a little lift and are totally comfortable.

I'm actually wearing them to work today with white skinny jeans (casual Friday :)) and they're cute and comfortable.

If I had a slightly nicer top on, it would be a cute first date option IMO :)

One slight note of caution, just be careful with new shoes, don't risk anything that you think might give you blisters, because in my experience, men find women who can't walk in their shoes pretty ridiculous! Maybe throw a few emergency plasters in your handbag just in case!

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

Erm...thanks DuffleBag...

A belly top...hahaha...he would be running for the hills, I'm not a Victoria's Secret model you know!
    Well okay. Don't be afraid to dress a little sexy that's all I'm saying. Probably let the imagination run away with me :)
    Yeah not all men are scary rapists you know.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭KikiDee

Jaysus :eek:

Sounds like something out of bad porn!

Bow chikka bow bow!!

OP, if you'd normally wear a pair of skinnies on a date, go with that. Nice pair of wedges and a cute summery top will see you through if ye do head out on the town.

+1 to SarahMollie's advice on the shoes being broken in. I know when I break in new shoes I can look a bit like bambi on ice. Not an ideal look for a date :/

Hope the date (and outfit) went well OP :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭StripedBoxers

Jeans, top and blazer or cardigan.

On my first date I wore jeans, top, a blazer and flats.

Nothing wrong with it, anyone who says you "must" wear a dress/skirt, ignore them, wear what you want and what you feel comfortable in, if you are uncomfortable etc it will show through.

So after all the excitement, butterflies and stress - the date was a disaster!

Haha. Just zero attraction for me, nice guy but he had definitely put his better pictures online and he came across to me as a bit sleazy which hadn't come through in his messages.

I don't think online dating is for me!

Thanks for the advice though guys, at least my outfit was spot on ;)

Aw sorry to hear that OP, meeting in real life is the litmus test though!

Don't let it put you off too badly. I met my OH online almost 3 years ago, (admittedly, first time lucky!) but we had friends over for a BBQ to our house at the weekend, and 3 out of the 4 couples there had met online so it really can work :)

Sure now you have your first date outfit down pat, why not put it to some more use!

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

But what outfit did u pick?!

DuffleBag wrote: »
    But what outfit did u pick?!

I just went for a loose fitting cream top, dark skinnies and nude strappy sandals.
    Simple but it looked well and he did actually say I had a lovely style so that's one good thing!