Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting booked by the guards for referring to officer as "constable" with an accent

• 01-06-2016 12:34pm
    Site Banned Posts: 32

Please consider this hypothetical situation.

The guards pull me over for allegedly speeding, which did not occur. I say the following ," Constable, I assure you I was well within the limit".

Now, like most Irish people I watch a lot of British TV, and in UK programmes pertaining to police officers, I have noticed that the word "constable" is pronounced "cu ntstable".

The latter is how I opted to pronounce said word, and this resulted in the guard becoming irate and booking me on the spot. I am one hundred percent certain I wasn't speeding.

Is it hypothetically possible to challenge this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

Did s/he "book" you for speeding or for being disrespectful? Allegedly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

If you call a garda a **** you will be likely to get done for anything they can do you for, even if you do try to hide your insult.

• Site Banned Posts: 32 FiannaSuccess

Did s/he "book" you for speeding or for being disrespectful? Allegedly.

I was informed I would be receiving a fine in the hypothetical post. The officer in question was very irate and intimidating so it was unclear.

Can one be fined for being disrespectful? Is 'constable ' an incorrect way of addressing a guard?

If you call a garda a **** you will be likely to get done for anything they can do you for, even if you do try to hide your insult.

But how can they prove it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭lollsangel

Hypothetically the garda may have presumed you were being a smart arse and booked you for the play on the constable word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

You can't be fined for being disrespectful in the circumstances you mention (but there is that offence), the fine would be for speeding, and no, Constable is not how a Guard is addressed- It's Guard, Sergeant, Inspector etc, but I think you know that ;-)

lollsangel wrote: »
    Hypothetically the garda may have presumed you were being a smart arse and booked you for the play on the constable word.

That is precisely what he did, but how on earth is legal to do this?

I was very subtle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,798 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I was informed I would be receiving a fine in the hypothetical post. The officer in question was very irate and intimidating so it was unclear.

Can one be fined for being disrespectful? Is 'constable ' an incorrect way of addressing a guard?

you know it is and were deliberately trying to be a smart-arse. how is that working out for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

Please consider this hypothetical situation.

The guards pull me over for allegedly speeding, which did not occur. I say the following ," Constable, I assure you I was well within the limit".

Now, like most Irish people I watch a lot of British TV, and in UK programmes pertaining to police officers, I have noticed that the word "constable" is pronounced "cu ntstable".

The latter is how I opted to pronounce said word, and this resulted in the guard becoming irate and booking me on the spot. I am one hundred percent certain I wasn't speeding.

Is it hypothetically possible to challenge this?

hypothetically you live in Ireland where we do not have Constables, which you know...

hypothetically they should have thrown you in the funny farm for being delusional and thinking you could get away with calling a guard a cnut and thinking you were smart enough to get away with it.

you can of course appeal anything but i would find the Judge would also not look favourably on the incident.

you were looking for trouble and you found it, congrats.

if you do appeal you call him 'judge' 'sir' or 'your honour' I can assure you the Judge would not be as accommodating as the guard who pulled you for 'allegedly' speeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭lollsangel

That is precisely what he did, but how on earth is legal to do this?

I was very subtle.

So you mean to call him a c$@# then? I don't know but tbh I'm guessing he didn't pull you over for nothing.......

By giving evidence the same way they do for most traffic stops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

For a "hypothetical situation", this is very detailed.

But I'd call BS on this as if you're Irish you'd know to say "guard" or "garda". Regardless of how it's pronounced on British TV.

Hypothetically saying constable and pronouncing it c*nt-stable, you know what you're doing and deserve the write up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,279 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I was very subtle.

Maybe not as subtle as you thought obviously.

It's the same as saying to someone "see you next Tuesday" the intent is visible no matter how hard you try to hide it. The fact that we haven't had constables in Ireland in almost 100 years sort of gives the game away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Lessons in life... don't act the bollix with police in any country, they win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Lessons in life... don't act the bollix with police in any country, they win.

Or, if you hypothetically burn your ass, don't complain if you have to sit on the blister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,085 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I love two things about this thread. The fact that you think you could be in the right, and the fact that you keep slipping out of the conditional tense. I would hope you appeal this vigorously, and I hope you tell in detail how the judge responds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭bladespin

A garda's statement is evidence.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,184 ✭✭✭SteM

Jeez OP, that chip on your shoulder can be seen from space!

to be fair does anyone actually believe this happened in real life though?

i accept there are people out there that are a few cents short or a euro but like to a guard?
    i dunnoooooo very scooby doubious to me.

i accept there are people out there that are a few cents short or a euro but like to a guard?

Yeah, lot of oddballs out there. Including those who don't feel like working.

The OP's points are meandering from "maybe this happened" to first hand accounts and ownership of it happening.

From hypothetical to admitting, "I was very subtle."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

See how far you get if you hypothetically said Guard to a police officer in the US.

me_irl wrote: »
    Yeah, lot of oddballs out there. Including those who don't feel like working.

The OP's points are meandering from "maybe this happened" to first hand accounts and ownership of it happening.

From hypothetical to admitting, "I was very subtle."

okay ive figured it out now,

he didnt get the SW payment so now wants a 2-3 month holiday in prison.

case closed me_irl... we make a good team :-)

This is exactly the sort of **** my brother does. He's right about everything God forbid anyone pulls him up on anything. A year after the smoking ban came in he lit up in a pub. The barman told him to put it out but he just told the barman that he had a letter from his doctor saying he was allowed to smoke indoors because 'he had a medical condition and the smoke helped clear his lungs'. He told the same thing to a guard when they called after when he lit up fir a second time. Some people are just belligerent when it comes to any sort of authority.

In fact, the OP might be my brother! Vincent, is that you? Are you causing trouble again you little bollox?

okay ive figured it out now,

he didnt get the SW payment so now wants a 2-3 month holiday in prison.

case closed me_irl... we make a good team :-)

It's not nice to mock someone without knowing their circumstances.

Anyway, I think the guard acted incorrectly and let that little bit of power go to his head.

It's not a crime to refer to an officer as constable, as far as I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I can haz free munies cunstable?

Anyway, I think the guard acted incorrectly and let that little bit of power go to his head.

I think you knew exactly what you did and you're not taking responsibility for your actions.

Hypothetically, how were you driving? Where were you driving? Were you actually speeding? If you weren't, how do you know you weren't?

But please, do contest this and be sure to post back how you got on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Hypothetically, I approve of this scenario, and hope you might learn a lesson. Should this exchange have taken place.

not its not, i agree, its also not nice to call a Guard a cnut or imply the same, when they are just doing their job...

Hypothetically speaking of course.

you're entitled of course to your opinion. if you felt like that you should have asked for his badge number and reported him.

Hypothetically speaking you mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

Just for reference Op constable is pronounced cun-staable. The first t is almost silent.

not its not, i agree, its also not nice to call a Guard a cnut or imply the same, when they are just doing their job...

Hypothetically speaking of course.

you're entitled of course to your opinion. if you felt like that you should have asked for his badge number and reported him.

Hypothetically speaking you mean?

Hypothetically speaking, I happen to believe that all guards are interfering little cnuts. I thought most people held this view?

Aaaaaaah, the penny drops.

Also, I'm starting to doubt your use of the word "hypothetically".

Hypothetically speaking, I'd say someone who starts the two threads you have is simply trolling. Go out and get some sun.

Hypothetically speaking, you are a troll.

peace out folks.

Hypothetically, if I were to offer the opinion that you come across as a bit of a tool, would I expect to receive an infraction from a mod on this forum?

Absolutely hypothetically, of course...

I don't think it's outlandish to state that most people hold a negative view of the police force in this country?

I refuse to be bullied by those pr1cks anyway. By all means you lot can bow down to them.

Good luck.

I don't think it's outlandish to state that most people hold a negative view of the police force in this country?

I refuse to be bullied by those pr1cks anyway. By all means you lot can bow down to them.

Good luck.

I refer you to my previous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I have never had any issue with Gardai

Good luck.

Bow down to them? You catch more flies with honey than vinegar and you're the one with the fine OP.

SteM wrote: »
    Bow down to them? You catch more flies with honey than vinegar and you're the one with the fine OP.

You actually think I'm going to pay it?

You're a hypothetical numpty if you do.

mansize wrote: »
    I have never had any issue with Gardai

I did, once. But I was in the wrong (speeding... I've learned my lesson!).

But I found the guard very professional. There was no disrespect either way and I didn't have to childishly resort to masking the word c*nt in my dialogue.

You actually think I'm going to pay it?

You're a hypothetical numpty if you do.

The fine that you only hypothetically received? I don't mind stupid, but could you at least aim for consistency?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I'm struggling to believe that the OP has a purely hypothetical situation in mind here so the thread violates the charter.

The "H'attitude test" might assist them in their further research.

Thread closed.