Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

fertiliser in these conditions

• 31-05-2016 5:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭

is it ok to put out fertiliser in these conditions 18-6-12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Fire it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Pallet of can sitting here the last 2 wks and it's staying in the bag ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Tomjim

conflicting advice here?

I find there is still a bit of dew in the mornings going for cows anyway. If it was urea I'd say hold it but with anything else drive on. Don't mind timmay he farms in the Sahara ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Tomjim wrote: »
    is it ok to put out fertiliser in these conditions 18-6-12

Spread away, its Ireland the rains never far away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

farmerjj wrote: »
    Spread away, its Ireland the rains never far away.

He he - i said that too, as we put in grass seed last Saturday week... ;)

Still sitting on top of the ground... Well, the bit the crowd haven't taken... :(

I'm probably the only man in the country that wouldn't mind a good heavy days rain ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

Still sitting on top of the ground... Well, the bit the crowd haven't taken... :(

I'm probably the only man in the country that wouldn't mind a good heavy days rain ;)
    I want 2 days heavy rain haha. I was looking this evening at everyone putting out slurry left right and centre. all that will do now is cake on top of the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,884 ✭✭✭mf240

I was thinking the same about the slurry. if it was watery and going straight out after silage would you get away with it.

Don't want rain though this weather is great for the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

mf240 wrote: »
    I was thinking the same about the slurry. if it was watery and going straight out after silage would you get away with it.

Don't want rain though this weather is great for the head.

Tis great for the head alright but my builders bum got sunburnt today and it's a hoor now trying to get to sleep !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,884 ✭✭✭mf240

Bullocks wrote: »
    Tis great for the head alright but my builders bum got sunburnt today and it's a hoor now trying to get to sleep !

Tell the builder to go home if he's keeping ye awake :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

You are not the only one...

Same problem here with some small reseeded bits. Every thunderstorm or shower seems to go around us.

kowtow wrote: »
    You are not the only one...

Same problem here with some small reseeded bits. Every thunderstorm or shower seems to go around us.

Yeah, sure we're in the same area, so same issue...

I reseeded 4 acres, and it was too steep to work with a tractor so I had to get the track machine to redden the ground and then put out the fertiliser with a quad...

If it doesn't take, its not a simple re-harrow type job :(

I reseeded 4 acres, and it was too steep to work with a tractor so I had to get the track machine to redden the ground and then put out the fertiliser with a quad...

yeh.. much the same with a chain, quad & a roller. Looked fantastic when it was done... might see if I can fire some watery slurry across it today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭visatorro

Fraz said before if you were worried about spreading fert in dry weather, Spread it on paddocks before they were grazed. The bit of grass kept a little bit of moisture and shielded the fert from the sun I suppose.
    Tried it here and found it worked well.

yeh.. much the same with a chain, quad & a roller. Looked fantastic when it was done... might see if I can fire some watery slurry across it today.
    If the grass hasn't peeped yet might be as well to leave it be as if you put a bit of moisture in it now and it doesn't rain for another bit the roots may come up towards the surface and the sun will burn it off. Light rain is something like the equivalent of 8k gallons of water to the acre i think so I'd wait for the rain before putting watery slurry out. Others may differ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Am I too late? Leave it alone, If you get a shower or spread a small bit of water and force the grass seed to germinate it will die on top of the ground if you do not get more rain.

Just wait. I guarantee that this dry spell will end,:D:D

Am I too late? Leave it alone, If you get a shower or spread a small bit of water and force the grass seed to germinate it will die on top of the ground if you do not get more rain.

Just wait. I guarantee that this dry spell will end,:D:D

Not too late.. I took a look at it this morning and decided patience was the answer :) !! - there are signs of the seed coming up in places, usually where the old meadow grass below is forcing it's way through.

As you say, there is every chance it will rain again sometime in the near future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

I've been spreading treated urea ie. KAN or in my case GEN and it seems to be working away fine. You certainly won't see it siting on top of the ground for weeks as it disappeared within 24 hours.

Its not even a week since rain here, its hardly a drought we,re haven... Sometimes fellas get v excited about nothing.

Haven't seen rain in over 3 weeks here, ground is all crack marks... We could do with a bit of rain for the reseeding... It'll come, but twould just suit me better sooner rather than later... ;)

But sure if it hasn't rained where you are in a week, we must all be grand :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭stanflt

I put out 2 tonne of nutri booster today 25% can with selenium and sodium

Fert prices have dropped 40 a ton since May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Happy days

Haven't seen rain in over 3 weeks here, ground is all crack marks... We could do with a bit of rain for the reseeding... It'll come, but twould just suit me better sooner rather than later... ;)

But sure if it hasn't rained where you are in a week, we must all be grand :)

Funny you said it was raining 2weeks ago,on the weather thread on f&f:rolleyes:

Oh, I did too

We got rain on the Friday nice drop in the city and was lashing in bandon but feck all at home - I know cos the ground we were reseeding couldn't be worked if twas wet.
    Grass seed out 2 weeks ago today... Wasn't harrowed in cos it couldn't be...

No rain since...

Will it take? :(
    I don't want to be at it again...

So yeah, I could do with rain... Again, sooner rather than later...

We got rain on the Friday nice drop in the city and was lashing in bandon but feck all at home - I know cos the ground we were reseeding couldn't be worked if twas wet. Grass seed out 2 weeks ago today... Wasn't harrowed in cos it couldn't be...

Its vanished off the forecast for next week now.

Weatherpro says next weekend.

Its vanished off the forecast for next week now.

Weatherpro says next weekend.

Balls... :(

Your seed germinate yet? Mine hasn't so might be ok, but ground is very hard for it to take any kinda root now. Would we need a lot of rain to soften it?

Balls... :(

Your seed germinate yet? Mine hasn't so might be ok, but ground is very hard for it to take any kinda root now. Would we need a lot of rain to soften it?

Signs of it here and there, the middle of the paddock is grassy mainly with the old stuff, but some whispers of new grass in it, at the edges where we brought machines in and out to do some stuff and the old grass was gone it's not so good. It got a rolling with a 400kg roller as well so the surface is quite hard.

We'll just have to see how it looks in a week or two, maybe hit it again if the weather turns wet and nothing has come through. It's all a learning experience.

Have a very strong paddock on a steep hill which can only really be grazed, hasn't been touched this year so far, time to give the cows a team talk and get them at it - they'll be leaving some great grass behind them in the meantime which we'll maybe bale later in the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭hurling_lad

How best could one get 80 units of N out on bare fields for second cut silage with the sun shining all the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭stanflt

How best could one get 80 units of N out on bare fields for second cut silage with the sun shining all the time?

With a fertiliser spreader behind a tractor and the right setting you'll be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Put it on in the cool of the evening. Heavy dew will help melt it in

stanflt wrote: »
    With a fertiliser spreader behind a tractor and the right setting you'll be fine

Damn.

Better put the gigantic steam catapult back up on done deal, along with the flock of trained load carrying sparrows...