Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newbie to the ring of kerry 2016

Options
  • 30-05-2016 9:19pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3

Myself and a few friends signed up to the Ring of Kerry 2016 as i thought it would be a great challenge. I'm new to road cycling (last year) and thought it would be great achievement to aim for. I've been doing some bits and pieces of training but not near as much as I had hoped as life is just hectic and long cycles are time consuming. Panic is starting to set in that i really wont be able for it. I managed 76miles yesterday average pace of 12.5miles an hour and 900ft of climbs in tota with a decent stop for a pub lunch!. But I was completely knackered and ready to keel over and I worry as with only 4/5 weeks to go, the actual cycle has alot more hills than that and another 35+miles to go.

I am looking for some genuine realistic advice from someone who has done the event before or has tackled it as a newbie before. I've read a few threads on here but seem to be getting alot of mixed messages.
    I am coming from the UK so doing the event will be a big expense for me and the group (getting ferry with the bike and accommodation etc). I could possibly pull out now before i book the ferry and give my ticket/ accommodation to a more willing and grateful soul! I dont want to go to such a big expense and not be able to finish it on the day. For the same reason I have started asking for sponsorship.

Any advice would be grateful appreciated. Many thanks

Comments

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie