Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad parking, a good recovery but what do you guys think?

• 26-05-2016 10:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭

Saw this in Dun Laoghaire today.

The pugeot seems to parked very close behind the Merc (it was there overnight) and the BMW then seems to have gone in right behind the Peugeot.

Not sure what I would do here - the Puegeot touches off both cars each time she moves, but apart from parking with enough space in the first, what would you guys do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Bumpers are for bumping.

That's the mentality on the continent and I tend to agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Beemer driver was a pr1ck for getting so close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I would have poured brake fluid on the other cars, but other than that, great going by that driver. Especially in the rain and with other cars passing by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

10 out of 10 to the lady. My guess is that she lived in Italy at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭ezra_

I don't think I'd have had the nerve to rock it back and forward like that.

Also, my parking sensors would have probably exploded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭honreal

I would have red lined the accelerator in first gear and let the clutch out..... change gear into reverse and red line the accelerator and let the clutch out... the repeat until im out.

that's if both cars blocked me in.... if just the BMW i would have done the same thing but sparred the Merc as it's not their problem.

Dickhead BMW driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Well done to her. Any scuffs on the cars in front and behind are absolutely deserved. Maybe next time they won't be so ignorant and be a little more considerate of others driving.

Had that been me, they wouldn't have got away so lightly. My car is 11tyrs old and has lots of little marks on it, I intend to drive it till it dies so I don't care about a few more marks and scuffs on my bumpers. I would have left noticeable marks/dents on both those cars.

In Paris they leave their handbrakes half off to allow for tight parking and so other cars can 'bump' them along to get out of tight spaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭ezra_

Well done to her. Any scuffs on the cars in front and behind are absolutely deserved. Maybe next time they won't be so ignorant and be a little more considerate of others driving.

To be fair - the merc was there before she was.

Its the beamer who 'locked' her in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Makes me think of the Queen song "I want to break free". Fair play to her she did well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Belongs in the what makes a good driver thread :pac:
    Fair play to her I don't think I'd have the patience, once she is only touching of them shouldn't leave any marks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I would get out of that in less then 60 seconds.

I hope she keeps her hands at 10 and 2 as well as that while actually driving on the road.

Go that took some time but fair play to her for getting out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Friend how lives in Barcelona, tells me most people leave car in neutral with very slightly engaged handbrake, so if other driver wants to push their car out of parking space to get out or fit in, then there's not much damage to the bumper.
    He says its absolute norm there that one car pushed another on the parking space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,407 ✭✭✭Patser

ezra_ wrote: »
    To be fair - the merc was there before she was.

Its the beamer who 'locked' her in

The beemer might have locked her in, but she must have been right up on top of the Merc too.

So poor Merc owner is blameless and comes back to a scuffed up rear bumper because of 2 others that can't park and don't care.

As for bumpers are for bumping, are you one of those that thinks door strips are for dinging, dents are just wear and tear and anyone that takes pride in keeping a car tidy inside and out is just too precious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭MargeS

But she must have parked awful close to the Merc too. She gave herself no wiggle room to get out if someone parking behind her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Fair fecking play to her. :cool::cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,083 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

To be honest, if one of those cars was there before her I'd be pissed as shes definitely left something behind that will have to be fixed. Also, she didn't leave enough spaceun that case.

But at the same time the car that blocked her in deserves it - can't expect someone to be able to get out in a situation like that. If I was worried about damaging my own car (which I would be) I'd take great pleasure in getting them towed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Always leave space between you and the car in front.

Schoolgirl error.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,529 ✭✭✭✭Alun

At least she realises she has to turn the wheel a significant amount, and which way to turn it, between each 'shuffle' which is more than most people, male or female seem to do. I'm not sure she turns it fully lock to lock though, as I'd have thought she could have got out a bit quicker than that.

An acquaintance of mine has absolutely no idea of what to do whenever she ends up in a tight spot in a car park, and ends up just shuffling backwards and forwards endlessly without actually changing the direction the car is facing in at all. I usually put up with it for a few minutes and then just tell her to get out and let me at it. I've tried explaining it, but she just thinks it's some kind of black magic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Notch000

a 190 mercedes would have got out of there in two or three turns

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Love the way she starts out with the shuffle method and then realises she'll be there for a week and uses hand-over hand steering. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Patser wrote: »
    As for bumpers are for bumping, are you one of those that thinks door strips are for dinging, dents are just wear and tear and anyone that takes pride in keeping a car tidy inside and out is just too precious.

Nope. Never mentioned door strips, panel dents or interiors.
    I mentioned bumpers. You know, the part designed specifically for accidental bumping?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,407 ✭✭✭Patser

Ah yeah, sure they're free and disposable

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057601582/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,255 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Patser wrote: »
    Ah yeah, sure they're free and disposable

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057601582/1

I think that if bumpers are damaged by a touch when parking in the above, then they are badly designed. Someone crashing into them at 30Kmh at a roundabout is a different situation.

But it is quite probable that many modern bumpers, with "colour coding" and the like are more concerned with their decoration than function.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,041 ✭✭✭Comhrá

That's why I leave my nice 161 Audi at home most days and get the bus into town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

I would have just rang in sick!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

All the while she was doing that hand sliding on the steering wheel we were talking about the other day

Love the way she starts out with the shuffle method and then realises she'll be there for a week and uses hand-over hand steering. :D

OOPS ye got there before me Doc :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,541 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

She is 50% to blame along with the BMW driver, she parked to close to the Merc driver. I suppose her only other solution was to place her car tyres on biscuit tin lids and push it out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

Bumpers are for bumping.

That's the mentality on the continent and I tend to agree.

Tell that to the guy who I billed for €300 after he glanced my bumper, scratching the shít out of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

I think that if bumpers are damaged by a touch when parking in the above, then they are badly designed. Someone crashing into them at 30Kmh at a roundabout is a different situation.

But it is quite probable that many modern bumpers, with "colour coding" and the like are more concerned with their decoration than function.

The 'bumpers' you are referring too are actually just covers and not bumpers ;), . And yes, the are purely aesthetic.

The actual bumpers are behind the cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,607 ✭✭✭✭josip

She needs to do the opposite of this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oqWO0IKPEos

Tell that to the guy who I billed for €300 after he glanced my bumper, scratching the shít out of it.

He must've done more than glance it if he scratched the sh1t out of it. Doing what yer one did causes no damage whatsoever.