Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Two Arrested at Shannon Airport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭zone 1

clowns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭Fattes

zone 1 wrote: »
    clowns

Do not insult clowns at least, clowns are entertaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

A man was on the Jonathan Healy show who is part of the group. Basically his speil was that they could do what they wanted because of their cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,367 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

How do they think this "do what we have to for our cause". That doesn't make what you do good. Islamic fundamentalists " do what they have to for their cause". Do you consider them moral?

Its not moral to break into an airport.

Carnacalla wrote: »
    How do they think this "do what we have to for our cause". That doesn't make what you do good. Islamic fundamentalists " do what they have to for their cause". Do you consider them moral?

Its not moral to break into an airport.

Hogan V Taoiseach, clearly rules that the use of Irish Airfields for the transit of military aircraft is legal when approved by Dáil Éireann, so these protesters apparently do not recognize Irish law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

A man was on the Jonathan Healy show who is part of the group. Basically his speil was that they could do what they wanted because of their cause.

I am just imaging all the burglars etc, in courts next week coming out with that line.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I immediately assumed it was Daly and Wallace at it again...I was disappointed ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Straight Edge Punk

Can anything seriously be done about these people and their friends in "Shannon watch"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭12Phase

I know it's a huge area but shouldn't security be increased a tad?

Last thing you want is someone on the runway as something lands.

An unscheduled emergency landing isn't exactly unheard of at Shannon.

12Phase wrote: »
    I know it's a huge area but shouldn't security be increased a tad?

Last thing you want is someone on the runway as something lands.

An unscheduled emergency landing isn't exactly unheard of at Shannon.

It is not possible to secure the entire area, it is just too big. From what I have been told, there was a cargo flight which had to do a touch and go because of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,367 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

It is not possible to secure the entire area, it is just too big. From what I have been told, there was a cargo flight which had to do a touch and go because of this.

Could you not use drive by patrols? Cameras? Higher fences?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Simon Gruber Says

I can only imagine what would happen if they tried this at an international airport stateside.

I'd say Cork's naked jeep man would have ended differently too.

Carnacalla wrote: »
    Could you not use drive by patrols? Cameras? Higher fences?

There are regular drive by patrols but the size of the area makes it impossible to always be on top of things. All these idiots need is 30 seconds to cut through the wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Harsher penalties would be a better deterrent, Airports an extremely difficult to keep secure, the vast area is difficult to always watch, all you need is 30's and your through a fence, easy to do at all of Irelands airports.

Perhaps a minimun 3 - 6 months in prison and a 5 grand fine would be a better than the slap on the rist you get now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

They need to upgrade the fencing to keep out the terrorists

Treat it like an inside-out prison, since lots of money and research has been done on prison security

Simple wins, toast the terrorists :

"The fence doesn't get distracted, it doesn't look away for a moment, and it doesn't get tired," Warden K.W. Prunty said.

Calipatria, a maximum-security prison, opened nearly two years ago. It's set in the desert scrub near the Salton Sea, 35 miles north of the U.S.-Mexican border.

Guards threw the switch on the fence Nov. 8.

It carries 4,000 volts and 650 milliamperes. About 70 milliamperes is enough to kill.

The fence stands 13 feet high, erected in a no man's land between two 12-foot fences topped with razor wire so nobody touches it accidentally.

Not even to US electrify airport perimiter fences, a slightly ridiculous solution.

You could reffer to these people as terrorists, probably wouldn't go down that well with most people tho.

Shane_ef wrote: »
    Not even to US electrify airport perimiter fences, a slightly ridiculous solution.

You could reffer to these people as terrorists, probably wouldn't go down that well with most people tho.

I would love to see that happen at SNN, to finally put an end to these idiots.

You need to fight terrorists

Just do the trickiest parts to look after first :

https://www.google.com/maps/@33.1681465,-115.4866758,86m/data=!3m1!1e3

bafbdaD.jpg

Thats a prison, not an airport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

Security at SNN is a joke.

I would love to see that happen at SNN, to finally put an end to these idiots.

Or booby trap the permiter with one of those pits with pointy sticks :D

roundymac wrote: »
    Security at SNN is a joke.

It's not just shannon tho, Dublin, Cork & Knock all are easy to break into airside..

I don't think higher fences etc are the solution, a law similar to "interfering with the safety and security of an aircraft" should be introduced with like i said earler minimun prison time and a hefty fine.

You can build fences high and ditches wide, but you still only need a few moments

It's not just shannon tho, Dublin, Cork & Knock all are easy to break into airside..

I don't think higher fences etc are the solution, a law similar to "interfering with the safety and security of an aircraft" should be introduced with like i said earler minimun prison time and a hefty fine.

You can build fences high and ditches wide, but you still only need a few moments

Exactly, these people aren't climbing over the fence. They are cutting the wire and going through.

Thats a prison, not an airport

The fence works in both directions

The terrorist scum are on the outside trying to get into SNN runway and interfere with aircraft

Terrorist scum are always the same, they will get more and more extreme in their methods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭arubex

gctest50 wrote: »
    Terrorist scum are always the same, they will get more and more extreme in their methods

And how do democratic governments generally deal with 'terrorists'? They address the root causes, even sit down and talk and compromise with them no matter how despicable that might seem to the general electorate.

The folk who trespass at Shannon will continue, as you say, to become more and more extreme so long as their grievance remains. Ratcheting-up the response will just embolden them as martyrs, it might deter some of the more casual followers but that'll just harden the real nutcases.

I don't have any truck with them, but perhaps it's worth looking into why they're so angry about military aircraft of a belligerent state using the facilities of a neutral state? Perhaps... they have a valid point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Simon Gruber Says

If the phone company won't fix my broadband, I don't go breaking into their offices and vandalise them in order to make them do something.

If they indeed have a valid point, that becomes irrelevant through their actions. Go through the proper channels, or protest legally, which is their right.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,457 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

arubex wrote: »
    And how do democratic governments generally deal with 'terrorists'? They address the root causes, even sit down and talk and compromise with them no matter how despicable that might seem to the general electorate.

The folk who trespass at Shannon will continue, as you say, to become more and more extreme so long as their grievance remains. Ratcheting-up the response will just embolden them as martyrs, it might deter some of the more casual followers but that'll just leave the real nutcases.

I don't have any truck with them, but perhaps it's worth looking into why they're so angry about military aircraft of a belligerent state using the facilities of a neutral state? Perhaps... they have a valid point?

Ireland is not neutral. It's non aligned. We are members of the EU defence force. Plus it's been proven in court that allowing foreign military to use our airports is not against the constituation.

The folk who trespass at Shannon will continue, as you say, to become more and more extreme so long as their grievance remains. Ratcheting-up the response will just embolden them as martyrs, it might deter some of the more casual followers but that'll just harden the real nutcases.

And they try to get it across by going on to a runway and trying to interfere with a LearJet ?

That's like embedding razor blades in playground equipment because it was imported from Israel

They are filthy terrorist scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭flazio

You all seem to forget that Shannon is in the arse end of nowhere and "terrorists" wouldn't be to find the place, never mind launch an attack on the place.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

It might be difficult but it's not impossible with the right resources and the will to do it properly....

Shannon Airport Authority like every other airport in Ireland have a legal requirement to secure the airfield for many different reasons. If it's proven repeatedly that the security fence can be breached and the person or persons remain undetected for long periods of time then they can be fined and in a very extreme case have their licence withdrawn.

Look at Heathrow for example with the numerous "Brain dead" activists breaching the perimeter and shutting down a runway. This has happened a few times so now HAL has had to react after it was pointed out to them by the CAA their responsibilities. They've put up double fencing and in places increased its height.

Now I assume the IAA will have been or will be in contact with SAA to find out what happened and how the SAA are responding. The IAA won't like the fact the intruders remained undetected for such a long period of time on an active runway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

Perhaps... they have a valid point?

Perhaps the don't and are just nutters who should be locked up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,198 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Leaving politics aside for a second.. These people firstly have clearly no regard or are ignorant of the risks to themselves and others by breaking into an airfield and crossing active runways and taxiways. A stupid thing to do.

As for the political end... I believe that there most possibly has been rendition and some other shady stuff happening at SNN facilitated by the Irish Authorities at the behest of the US. Questions should always be asked.. In particular when someone makes a complaint to their own police force and instead of checking a 'civilian' bizjet look the other way ? That only adds fuel to the fire and I have no problem with people raising that as an issue. However people breaking into an airport as stated above is irresponsible and wrong and not very effective in all honesty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭BZ

Strumms wrote: »
    Leaving politics aside for a second.. These people firstly have clearly no regard or are ignorant of the risks to themselves and others by breaking into an airfield and crossing active runways and taxiways. A stupid thing to do.

As for the political end... I believe that there most possibly has been rendition and some other shady stuff happening at SNN facilitated by the Irish Authorities at the behest of the US. Questions should always be asked.. In particular when someone makes a complaint to their own police force and instead of checking a 'civilian' bizjet look the other way ? That only adds fuel to the fire and I have no problem with people raising that as an issue. However people breaking into an airport as stated above is irresponsible and wrong and not very effective in all honesty.

Imagine for a moment you owned a bizjet. One of these crusties requests the Gardai to go and search it as they have a hunch about it. How would you feel if your aircraft was boarded and searched just to satisfy this crowd of imbeciles?

They are putting people's lives and lively hoods at risk with this ridiculous behaviour.

BZ wrote: »
    Imagine for a moment you owned a bizjet. One of these crusties requests the Gardai to go and search it as they have a hunch about it. How would you feel if your aircraft was boarded and searched just to satisfy this crowd of imbeciles?

They are putting people's lives and lively hoods at risk with this ridiculous behaviour.

One of the main reasons I won't buy a bizjet....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

One of the main reasons I won't buy a bizjet....

That and you can't afford one:rolleyes:

That was my other main reason....