Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best occupation for cheap car insurance

• 23-05-2016 9:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭

Since the ads for car insurance always mention the 40 year old nurse in Dublin this is probably a low-risk profession but nursing is a hard job that requires a lot of training, but I'm thinking there must be other easier jobs in the list that are equally low risk or even less risk.

I'm thinking I might become a Telex operator, these are bound to get very low premiums because they never go anywhere except the odd Telex enthusiast convention. I'll buy a disused lighthouse and fill the place to the brim with telex machines, hang pictures on the walls of famous people from the telex world and spend my day communicating with other telex users while my skin gets pastier and my beard grows longer.

Ya might see me interviewed on Nationwide some day, sitting on my wooden chair with a desk full of telex equipment behind me, blathering on about the glory days of telex.

Any other professions that might be worth a shot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Since the ads for car insurance always mention the 40 year old nurse in Dublin this is probably a low-risk profession but nursing is a hard job that requires a lot of training, but I'm thinking there must be other easier jobs in the list that are equally low risk or even less risk.

I'm thinking I might become a Telex operator, these are bound to get very low premiums because they never go anywhere except the odd Telex enthusiast convention. I'll buy a disused lighthouse and fill the place to the brim with telex machines, hang pictures on the walls of famous people from the telex world and spend my day communicating with other telex users while my skin gets pastier and my beard grows longer.

Ya might see me interviewed on Nationwide some day, sitting on my wooden chair with a desk full of telex equipment behind me, blathering on about the glory days of telex.

Any other professions that might be worth a shot?

Suicide car bomber , all you need is insurance for your first day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Suicide car bomber , all you need is insurance for your first day.

Comprehensive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

55 year old online stamp seller
    35 years NCB
    2016 Fiat Punto
    1L
    0 miles a year as you work from home.

Or

Motor insurance salesperson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Comprehensive?

Yeah , includes the 76 virgins .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

McGruber wrote: »
    Motor insurance salesperson

Believe it or not, some insurance companies don't like people that work in the insurance industry.

I was getting a quote recently for my wife's renewal, I'm a named driver and am an insurance underwriter.

I was speaking to an agent in Allianz and gave my occupation and she said that they would not quote with that occupation and put me in as an office worker.

When I questioned this she couldn't tell me why.

The only thing i can think of is because in the event of a claim I'd have an unfair advantage in terms of the knowledge I'd have vs a non insurance worker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Believe it or not, some insurance companies don't like people that work in the insurance industry.

I was getting a quote recently for my wife's renewal, I'm a named driver and am an insurance underwriter.

I was speaking to an agent in Allianz and gave my occupation and she said that they would not quote with that occupation and put me in as an office worker.

When I questioned this she couldn't tell me why.

The only thing i can think of is because in the event of a claim I'd have an unfair advantage in terms of the knowledge I'd have vs a non insurance worker.

Thats crazy!

Iv been turned down a couple of times over the years for my occupation too. The whole industry is impossible to predict.

Although, the more the companies stand to lose, the more the premiums increase, the more we lose.

Everyone gets a bite of the sh1t sandwich!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Someone who works from home surely. They'd spend less time in the car and therefore would be less of an insurance risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

A nun.

But not a nun with a gun. Or a nun on the run.

Just a nun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

maudgonner wrote: »
    A nun.

Just a nun.

A no fun nun then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

maudgonner wrote: »
    A nun.

Just a nun.

Years ago, I was insured for a few years running as a 'cleric'.

I had actually said 'clerk' (as in office worker) over the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Lyaiera wrote: »
    A no fun nun then?

Hope UR ok nun xxx

Same 2 u bebo nunnah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

The missus works in training and recently got promoted to a management role. My renewal this year was mental so I shopped around. With her occupation listed as just "Manager" I saved €250.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Lyaiera wrote: »
    A no fun nun then?

Maybe a nun with a bun? I don't think buns affect insurance rates.

But not a bun-in-the-oven kind of bun. That would definitely be a fun nun's bun hun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭Broken Hearted Road

I really don't think professions should come into the question when it comes to insurance. It's giving some people an unfair advantage over others based on their profession. What's to say, for example a retail or hospitality manager is more mature and sensible than like regular retail staff or hospitality staff.

I think it could even be argued a 40 year old nurse would be a bad one to insurance due to the hours, usually 12 hour shifts × 4 days or nights and the intensity of the work, she might be more likely to fall asleep at the wheel of the car and crash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭kieran.

^^^^

Dont think it works on thinking like that, I would imagine its driven by historical statistics from claims data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

race car driver who works nights as a nightclub DJ

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I really don't think professions should come into the question when it comes to insurance. It's giving some people an unfair advantage over others based on their profession. What's to say, for example a retail or hospitality manager is more mature and sensible than like regular retail staff or hospitality staff.

You could replace the word professions with
    1. Age
    2. Gender
    3. Driving history
    4. Address
    5. Car type
    6. Etc etc

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    You could replace the word professions with
    1. Age
    2. Gender
    3. Driving history
    4. Address
    5. Car type
    6. Etc etc

I think there are some countries where there's a standard rate for everyone. They may change it based on the car type, but if you have your license then you're charged the same insurance as everyone else. Then they heavily increase the rates for penalty points and convictions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

Most countries in Europe just insure the car and anyone can drive it. Ireland and Britain are two countries which charge according to the driver.
    Primary school teachers get very good rates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Shift workers like nurses, Gardai etc incur extra premiums as they're on the road after long night shifts and can be tired/fatigued.

Clerical or office worker would be one of the more ideal professions.

The irish insurance industry is rotten to the core. They have created so many get out clauses and so many 'catch all' clauses to charge a hefty premium regardless of your age profession car type etc etc that everyone incurs high premiums. They claim it's based on statistics but that's rubbish, everyone is lumped under the one umbrella in order to fleece them.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Get third party as a foreign diplomat.

No paying out if you've got Diplomatic Immunity.
    Then again you don't need insurance either \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭larchielads

Put the girlfriend on me insurance she works in a crèche me insurance actually went up. Rang another insurance company yer wan on the phone says I'll stick her down as workin in administration cos insurance companies think ththat there's a risk of a crèche worker bringing a child home in the car or whatever saved me the guts of 250 puttin her down for administration. Fair play to the insurance wan for tellin me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Put the girlfriend on me insurance she works in a crèche me insurance actually went up. Rang another insurance company yer wan on the phone says I'll stick her down as workin in administration cos insurance companies think ththat there's a risk of a crèche worker bringing a child home in the car or whatever saved me the guts of 250 puttin her down for administration. Fair play to the insurance wan for tellin me

Tbf, most sales agents will try and get you the best price possible, they will have sales targets, get commission etc so its in their best interest to do so. Once they aren't falsifying information in a major way eg you are a mechanic and they put you down as a home maker then there is no issue.

It annoys me when I hear about people giving call centre staff grief over premiums, they aren't the ones that set the rates or acceptance criteria yet have to listen to crap from disgruntled callers. Pretty unfair and people should have more respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

As a full time mad bastard I find my insurance premiums are very expensive but it's all I'm qualified to do.