Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Windows and Sliding Bi-Fold Doors

• 19-05-2016 1:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭

Looking for a large window & Folding Sliding Door (Bi-Fold) for my ART STUDIO. I need light.

I basically want what's shown in this photo. Approx 10ft wide by 16ft tall.

Any advice on a company to contact for a quote - in Ireland or overseas?

Thanks in advance folks.

popadich-residence-living-room-bifold-vistalite-doors-davor-and-august-portrait.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭DeeJunFan

How much are you hoping to spend?

For example i have an opening the same width but half the height. And i had quotes ranging from 4k (Euro) to 16k (sterling)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭justmyself

I appreciated the reply DeeJunFan. Fair play.

I've no idea what to expect to spend. And i do realize like anything there's a difference in XY and Z. But for me, as long as it looks good and functions well is more important than having the latest and greatest.

I generally gauge prices through looking at eBay UK as a reference... as the generally have most items listed.

Looking at it... i see Bi Fold Patio Doors (Aluminium) for 2395 sterling ( 3100 euro)

And Aluminum Double Glazed Windows are going at 99 pounds sterling per 1000mm x 1000m. So i'm sure for another 1000euro i'd be able to source a decent solution for the upper part of the window?

So starting at 4000euro i'm sure i could find something appropriate?

What do you think?

$%28KGrHqV,!k8FEL89TNcHBRcSL%28Nh5Q~~60_57.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭DeeJunFan

No doubt you could, do you have someone local that could fit them for you?

If not then it could be a struggle to get anyone of ebay to offer fitting.

If you do have a local fitter in mind then i would ask him to advise on what you should be ordering.

To give you an example the bi-folds you are looking at on ebay (aluminium etc) if you wanted to buy them from a local firm you are going to struggle to get those sorts of prices. As above more like 4k from a local crew and then you need the window above.

So just something to think about.

You can get all sorts. There is a company in london i was looking at that could give you a "sliding sash" window/door that size and they are pretty nice looking. But they would likely run you about 20k sterling. As they quoted me 16k for the single pivot door half that size.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

And then something goes wrong with the rails, or runners and you have nobody to repair them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

A long time ago I bought folding wooden doors from B&G Home in Tallaght. They came in a kit format with glazing and a range of widths 1.8m / 2.4 and 3.2 I think was the widest.

The were designed for DIYers to retrofit as an option on standard patio sliding doors. Not sure what the brand was or if still available but they were very reasonably prices IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

Munster joinery were another company that were doing them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭kellso81

I used [snip] for the windows and sliding patio doors in our new build. They weren't fitted properly, there's a whistle in our bedroom doors whenever it's windy and some of the external doors have to be pushed hard with your shoulder to lock them. Their aftercare is non-existant, couldn't get them back to fix the problems. I'd avoid them like the plague

DeeJunFan wrote: »
    No doubt you could, do you have someone local that could fit them for you?

If not then it could be a struggle to get anyone of ebay to offer fitting.

If you do have a local fitter in mind then i would ask him to advise on what you should be ordering.

To give you an example the bi-folds you are looking at on ebay (aluminium etc) if you wanted to buy them from a local firm you are going to struggle to get those sorts of prices. As above more like 4k from a local crew and then you need the window above.

So just something to think about.

You can get all sorts. There is a company in london i was looking at that could give you a "sliding sash" window/door that size and they are pretty nice looking. But they would likely run you about 20k sterling. As they quoted me 16k for the single pivot door half that size.
    Sorry DeeJunFan... i didn't mean i was going to buy off eBay... used it simply to gauge/ reference what the going prices are.

I realize i can expect to pay a wee bit more here. Although the Irish market is relatively competitive now, no?

kceire wrote: »
    And then something goes wrong with the rails, or runners and you have nobody to repair them.
    Maybe it's just been my luck down the years... but 9 out of the 10 I've dealt with refused to come back - mixture of job done, guarantee up, didn't quote for that etc etc...

In my experience that 'safety net' isn't worth it if the savings are big enough.

Now... that said, i know there are great providers out their that value their reputation & repeat custom.

sconhome wrote: »
    A long time ago I bought folding wooden doors from B&G Home in Tallaght. They came in a kit format with glazing and a range of widths 1.8m / 2.4 and 3.2 I think was the widest.

The were designed for DIYers to retrofit as an option on standard patio sliding doors. Not sure what the brand was or if still available but they were very reasonably prices IIRC.
    Fairplay Sconhome. I will investigate those lads. Much appreciated.

sconhome wrote: »
    Munster joinery were another company that were doing them too.
    Indeed. I see some Project Case Studies on their website. Nice indeed.

So you reckon you can buy off the shelf from them Sconhome?

c_20110815115859IMG_4193.JPG

c_20110815115910IMG_4192.JPG

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

justmyself wrote: »

Id say you can, but I'd imagine you'll get no warranty, no guarantee and no comeback if anything goes wrong with the fitting but deffo worth asking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Chisler2

kceire wrote: »
    justmyself wrote: »

Id say you can, but I'd imagine you'll get no warranty, no guarantee and no comeback if anything goes wrong with the fitting but deffo worth asking
    A supplier told me recently that the warranty only applies if they (manufacturers/suppliers) work to measurements they have taken and which are installed by themselves. They will "sell" windows and doors specified by the customer to be installed by customer or customer's builder, but the (many many!) problems and issues which then arise are not their responsibility. Sounds fair.