Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

sales reps , what are they cost you

• 17-05-2016 10:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭

Is it me or do others have the same problem of these guys coming around usually at cow time or when you up to you neck in it , then going on waisting you precious time when you got better thing to do and have no interest on what they are offering as you already have a relationship with other suppliers , and they keep coming back ,
    Should we have them locked out , a guard dog , or our number displayed at our entrance to ring before they enter ? ? Any opinions .thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,717 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Hard call.
    If you lock them all out you could be missing finding a new better value supplier.

You could let them in and if your not interested just ask them not to come back, it's their job so they're used to being told no thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

there are gate systems where you ring a number to open them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Most lads that call to me get a quick chance to say what they about.most are fine but there will always be the thick ****er that won't take no for an answer.had one particular lad who a few yrs ago came in selling dairy detergents.he had said he was sent out by my local co-op as the stuff I used was supposedly going off the market.anyway hw was getting nowhere with me and then started complaining about how he had a wife and partner to keep up.to which I told him it was his problem that he couldn't keep it in his pants and not for me to buy his rubbish

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Heard of a lad who has a sign up at the gate 'by appointment only' If they get in, ask did they make an appointment, if not, then told to feck off.

Used to be plaqued with them when I was milking, never see one now that I'm in beef:eek: I wonder why?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

blue5000 wrote: »
    Heard of a lad who has a sign up at the gate 'by appointment only' If they get in, ask did they make an appointment, if not, then told to feck off.

Used to be plaqued with them when I was milking, never see one now that I'm in beef:eek: I wonder why?

I was in dairying then changed to beef and they stopped calling, I'm back dairying again but they haven't copped on yet :) apart from one fella selling snake oil for cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,456 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I was in dairying then changed to beef and they stopped calling, I'm back dairying again but they haven't copped on yet :) apart from one fella selling snake oil for cows.
    What in the world is snake oil for cows :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Sam Kade wrote: »

They must be slow down your way. I hadn't the button pushed on the parlour getting back in and there was an orderly queue forming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭welton john

were lucky were only 'small' farmers on the side of a mountain.they never bother us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

No problem ,Just say ur busy ,call during the day if you have something worth while. Generally sorts out th S**** fairly quickly.
    No issues here in years and no need for signs or otherwise.
    They learn quick:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Speaking as a former animal feed sales rep I can back up the one about the "by appointment only" sign. Leaves ya in no doubt!
    Your other full proof method is to say you are in a purchasing group and pass the sales person the secretary's phone number!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Had a funny experience with a sales rep recently from a machinery dealership. I contacted tanco about theit wrappers just out of interest and one of their reps came down. Anyway he told of a lad selling a second hand one. I bought that one in the end because it was such great value. The rep from the dealership arrived into the yard one day when I was off spreading dung for a farmer and my father was dealing with him. They already lost out twice before with a tractor and a baler as they were way too dear and the quality of the baler wasn't as good as the one we bought. Anyway the father told him I bought a wrapper and the sales rep was speechless. The rep asked my father "is there reason you don't like dealing with us" twas the gassest response I've ever heard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Base price wrote: »
    This should help you ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

^^^ Reminds me. I used to have a big black lab x spaniel. In the yard one day and a sales rep reached to touch me or shake hands. The dog thought yer man was attacking me, jumped up, covered in mud and destroys yer man's suit.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Base price wrote: »

"Ah, just squirt this homeopathic spray up their nose/vulva and they'll never get TB. €400 will treat your 35 cows and 12 heifers. "
    "Yeah, guaranteed to work. Homeopathic you see. The smaller the amount, the stronger it is. You could dilute it with water, 50 to 1, but that might make it too strong"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭alps

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    "Ah, just squirt this homeopathic spray up their nose/vulva

Thought you were talking about the sales rep.....