Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Eddie Hobbs still relevant?

• 16-05-2016 7:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭

Now that Renua has withered on the vine where can Eddie go from there? His reputation as an economist isn't great considering he was telling us things were grand right up until 2008 collapse, he never saw it coming. Can Eddie reinvent himself again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭john the one

That would be an ecumenical matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

He was only ever relevant if you were a bit daft and easily led.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

He tried to reinvent himself with Renua, and look what happened there. He's always wrong.

One feature in his favour is that he looks exactly like The Count from Sesame Street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

smash wrote: »
    He was only ever relevant if you were a bit daft and easily led.
    Nonsense, he was our Warren Buffett

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Minus any measurable success :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Economists barely know what ****ing day it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Show me the Money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭dusty207

"Only when the tide goes out do you discover who's been swimming naked." Warren Buffett

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Renua announced he was their economist. And Eddie announced he wasn't standing.

Not that anyone expected Renua to actually go anywhere.

People have sad uncomplimentary things about Eddie over the years. And not all
    of them have been true.

The big question of course. Is he selling a book or what ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

kneemos wrote: »

I laugh at this funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Ruu wrote: »
    Show me the Money!

It was just resting in Cape Verde property.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Ruu wrote: »
    Show me the Money!

I'll show you me "exclusive" bloody villa, in stupid Cape bloody Verde that is slowly deteriorating because no flamin galah wants to go and stay in the bloody place.

"Next big thing" my well padded backside Hobbs, you great big drongo!:mad:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

If you laid all the world's economists end to end they wouldn't reach a conclusion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,677 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Buy property in Bulgaria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

That would be an ecumenical matter.

More like an economical matter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

dusty207 wrote: »
    "Only when the tide goes out do you discover who's been swimming naked." Warren Buffett
    "Show me the money." Eddie Hobbs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I'll show you me "exclusive" bloody villa, in stupid Cape bloody Verde that is slowly deteriorating because no flamin galah wants to go and stay in the bloody place.

"Next big thing" my well padded backside Hobbs, you great big drongo!:mad:

And why exactly is that, Alf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

NIMAN wrote: »
    Buy property in Bulgaria.

On your credit card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

The real question is 'was he ever relevant?'

I never liked the squeaky voiced little twerp, he was like a stupid little cartoon character that never off the TV.

IMO he was never relevant and is dead wood now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

Economics: The science of explaining tomorrow why the predictions you made yesterday didn't come true today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

He's helping out (advising!) Delores Euromillons to buy a shopping centre.

No seriously it's true ....euromillions-winner-dolores-mcnamara-with-advice-from-eddie-hobbs-bids-for-retail-park-729426.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Fyp..
    NIMAN wrote: »
    Buy property in Bulgaria Cape Verde
    THE controversial property deals on the Cape Verde islands off the coast of Senegal in Africa have unsurprisingly reached court.

One development on the island led by Thomas Sheehy of Clonakilty, Co Cork, has been the subject of heated debate. The destination came to widespread public attention after being mentioned by Eddie Hobbs on Tubridy Tonight in 2006 when he was warning about investing in Bulgarian holiday homes.

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/exotic-islands-project-not-so-sunny-26533272.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Something tells me ol' Eddie is worth a good few bob from giving all of his glorified predictions.

Who's the real ejitt ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

*cringe*

He reminds me a lot of those televangelist fellas that try to sell people "salvation" in the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Ed will move to America and start a few schemes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭caille

I need to eat something and now, I read the title as 'Are Hobb Nobbs still relevant?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

To be fair to them though they usually do know what day it. Despite that information however, telling what day it will be tomorrow, is where they come unstuck.

Econ 1, Econ 2, Econ 3, Econ 4 : "Yes, we all agree today is Wednesday"
    Econ 1 : "Its clear from our data, it will therefore be Sunday tomorrow"
    Econ 2 : "Thats nonsense. We are still analysing the information, but it seems to us that while today is Wednesday, yesterday was probably Friday, and so tomorrow will be Tuesday"
    Econ 3 : "That is based on a discredited theory though. The advanced algorithms we use, and based on more accurate calenders, we can say with 95% confidence that tomorrow will be either Monday or Saturday."
    Econ 4 : "Predicting what day tomorrow will be is impossible. Sometime next week we may be able to tell you what day it was. Either way, you will be worse off, and the outlook for future days will be grim".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Nobody likes a know it all.
    That accent is like having acid poured in your ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

He tries to educate people on a range of financial topics.

Someone has to do it.
    For that he has my respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Beware of the man with all the answers, be that politician, messiah or economist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Economists - They should be treated the same as psychics and homeopathists. If ever there was a "profession" that didn't know it's arse from it's elbow it's economists.
    As the saying goes "an economist is someone who can tell you tomorrow why what they predicted yesterday didn't occur today" Useless shower of twats the lot of them.:mad:

That being said - I do kinda like eddie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭carrolls

David McWilliams is not far behind him in terms of being a clueless economist. This clip proves McWilliams is a spoofer. In 1999 he stated that there will be a severe crash in 2000.
    The bubble was only getting started in 2000.
    Even a stopped clock has the correct time twice a day.

valoren wrote: »
    He tries to educate people on a range of financial topics.

Someone has to do it.
    For that he has my respect.

Hobbs tried to raise €250 million for foreign property investments in 2007 and tracked down Euromillions winner Dolores McNamara looking for investment. She did invest quite a large amount but he didn't reach his target and then what happened the following year? Global property meltdown! She escaped luckily from that one, but again now only this year he has her bidding €44 million (this is above the asking price) for a retail park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 982 ✭✭✭VincePP

Shane Ross & Eddie Hobbs - only difference is the accent.

Great narrators, and they convince themselves that they are 100% right, but when to comes to the real world, they find it works out quite differently.

Its very easy to use hindsight and say what shoudl have been done - totally different to actually doing it.

Hobbs pushed Bulgaria and Cape Verde and some "shamrock" property fund onto people. All failed miserably. Not because of any direct fault of his, but he like thousands of others got caught up in the boom and thought Ireland and its citizens were invincible.

General public here are suckers for those who can talk well in public - aka Charlie Haughey & Bertie Ahern. But take a unbelieveable dislike to anyone who doesn't perform well in public - aka Enda Kenny & Joan Burton (no, I'm not a FGer). The media itself are probably more to blame - esp the indo rag group.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

smash wrote: »
    She escaped luckily from that one, but again now only this year he has her bidding €44 million (this is above the asking price) for a retail park.

I believe that whole story was what is known in the newspaper business as "lies"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

carrolls wrote: »
    David McWilliams is not far behind him in terms of being a clueless economist. This clip proves McWilliams is a spoofer. In 1999 he stated that there will be a severe crash in 2000.
    The bubble was only getting started in 2000.
    Even a stopped clock has the correct time twice a day.

As the old saying goes, when you're in the business of making predictions. Make a Lot of predictions. :pac:

sabat wrote: »
    I believe that whole story was what is known in the newspaper business as "lies"

And you know this how? It has been reported by The Independent, The Examiner, The Irish Times, The Sunday Times, The Journal, The Sun, The Limerick Post and more.