Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycling Lucan to City Center

• 16-05-2016 8:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭

Hi all, I live in Lucan around the Esker Manor area, and recently moved to a job which is located beside Stephens green.

I am considering possibly cycling in and out to work one or two days a week. Does anyone else do this and if so how do you find it and what route do you use? I note from google maps there seems to be a route all along the canal up until Dolphins barn or so? Estimated time of journey is about 45 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Hi all, I live in Lucan around the Esker Manor area, and recently moved to a job which is located beside Stephens green.

I am considering possibly cycling in and out to work one or two days a week. Does anyone else do this and if so how do you find it and what route do you use? I note from google maps there seems to be a route all along the canal up until Dolphins barn or so? Estimated time of journey is about 45 minutes.

The canal route has a good surface but the gates at the various road crossings are a little bit annoying although it helps prevent access for motorbikes and horses. On days like this, you can have large groups of kids but for the most part the don't cause any hassle.

Another route with a significant chunk of the journey away from traffic is along the river bank from Chapelizod to the War Memorial Gardens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭magicray

The hubby cycles regularly to Rathmines down the canal route mentioned, usually when there are gangs the cyclists wait for each other and go through together so you will be safe enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭sapper

Ive been cycling from Lucan to the city for 10 years daily - I go down the N4 from Woodies, at the Deadmans Inn go down the old Lucan road through Palmerstown and then Chapelizod down by the Park and on to the quays. Never any trouble. People also go all the way down the N4 but I prefer my way in case I get a puncture etc - I can either fix it or lock the bike somewhere and get the bus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭Dr.Winston O'Boogie

alias no.9 wrote: »

The canal route has a good surface but the gates at the various road crossings are a little bit annoying although it helps prevent access for motorbikes and horses. On days like this, you can have large groups of kids but for the most part the don't cause any hassle.

Another route with a significant chunk of the journey away from traffic is along the river bank from Chapelizod to the War Memorial Gardens.

Yep only noticed this one the other day. Seems like a nice cycle. How do you get to Chapelizod firstly though? Would it be along the motorway?

My cycling is mostly leisure and when I do cycle to work I go the opposite direction but here are my thoughts.... there's a foot/cycle bridge joining the parts of Esker Lane that were separated by the lucan bypass, if avoiding the heavy traffic around the Willsbrook Road / Ballyowen Road and Ballyowen Road / N4 junctions is appealing.

Woodies to the Liffey Valley slip on the N4 then down past the Deadmans across the foot/cycle bridge through Palmerstown village and the new cycle lane down into Chapelizod.

The lights just before the bridge in Chapelizod aren't great for heading onto St Laurence's Road to get onto the riverbank, I can see why a lot of cyclists would just follow round over the bridge and along by the park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭onmebike

An alternative to the above would be to go through Ballyfermot and join the N4 much closer to town. It's slightly shorter, but more traffic lights. Whether I go this way or the ways others have described, I go via the Fonthill Road.

I'd advise against being on the N4 at the M50 flyover. I've seen trucks tailgating, nearly taking a cyclist out of it when changing lanes. The Deadman's cycle lane is much safer and only a minute or two longer. Not much in the grand scheme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭munsterbear

Always use the cycle lane bridge over the M50. For the life of me I can't understand why some cyclists insist on cycling the flyover.

When you get down to Chapelizard, you can go straight through lights and go onto path which goes down by the Liffey. Nice to get away from the hustle and bustle. You come out at the bottom of the Memorial Park and could turn right up to Kilmainham and onto canal there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭maverick_21

Hi Guys,

Just jumping in here. I have recently started cycling from Hermitage Lucan to Ranelagh and I've been taking the attached route which involves going down the M50 turnover. Would any of you be able to recommend a better route?
    Where is the cycle lane bridge over the M50? Does that take me towards town?
    Cheers

Hi Guys,

Just jumping in here. I have recently started cycling from Hermitage Lucan to Ranelagh and I've been taking the attached route which involves going down the M50 turnover. Would any of you be able to recommend a better route?
    Where is the cycle lane bridge over the M50? Does that take me towards town?
    Cheers

The cycle lane starts at the bus stop by the Liffey Valley foot bridge and follows around to the left to the M50 foot/cycle bridge bringing you onto the Old Lucan Road through Palmerstown Village and back out just past the Second set of lights on the N4. It's slightly longer without doubt but much safer and by skipping both sets of lights, you'll never be held up by them.

Sorry this is really cheeky but would you mind showing me on this exactly where to go? https://www.plotaroute.com/routeplanner
    Im completely new to the area so any help would be great.

Sorry this is really cheeky but would you mind showing me on this exactly where to go? https://www.plotaroute.com/routeplanner
    Im completely new to the area so any help would be great.

Just look at the satellite image of the N4/M50 junction and you'll see the foot/cycle bridge across the M50 and everything else is obvious

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

That's a lovely route but between Knockmaroon Hill and the ramps*, the main road can appear attractive.

* obviously designed and constructed by people who don't cycle!
    The cycle lane starts at the bus stop by the Liffey Valley foot bridge
    You have to stop and step onto the kerb as there's no access ramp. Like the above, it was not designed by someone who uses a bike!

Just look at the satellite image of the N4/M50 junction and you'll see the foot/cycle bridge across the M50 and everything else is obvious

Cheers. Just found the route and it does look a lot safer. What route do you use coming back out of town towards lucan?

If you come through Chapelizod you can come back the same way, coming out the N4, well I just wouldn't.

kbannon wrote: »
    That's a lovely route but between Knockmaroon Hill and the ramps*, the main road can appear attractive.

* obviously designed and constructed by people who don't cycle!

You have to stop and step onto the kerb as there's no access ramp. Like the above, it was not designed by someone who uses a bike!

Better to take off ramp for Liffey Valley /Hermitage and cycle past the Deadmans Inn. There you turn onto cycle Lane. No kerbs, etc So you don't have to cross any of the on/off ramps.

The canal is fine in the summer months/good weather up until lunch time. That's when the gangs tend to come out. I haven't had any hassle with them but stopped chancing it. I'd cycle up through Dolphin's Barn out the Long Mile Rd and across to the Nangor Road. Then turn at 9th Lock Road. Never any issues with that other than boredom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭VeryRapidSkoda

I actually tried a new route that may be of use to you.
    I cycled home from city center along the quays, past heuston station then took the left slip road onto Con Colbert road and its practically a straight run through Ballyfermot.

Then turn left after cherry orchard hospital and that will bring you up past B&Q towards fonthill. Turn left into neilstown at the big roundabout and the continue down to the 3rd roundabout where the school is and take 3rd exit. Continue straight through balgaddy towards the penny hill and onto esker.

My time was about 30 minutes which is faster than the canal route for me which is normally about 40. I'm only getting fit so you may do it a hell of a lot quicker. I haven't cycled it into town as I work on the southside of the liffey so its easier to come in by the canal.

Overall its safe enough and majority of the journey has cycle paths.

Whats the traffic and traffic light situation like on that route?

I often cycle into town through Ballyfermot and there is a bunch of 3 sets of lights near the civic centre that are nearly guaranteed to stop you each time because of the ridiculously fast sequence. Apart from them, there are one or two others, but you're on the main road so have a good chance of them being green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭ArthurG

Sorry for digging up an old thread... but rather than start a new one.

I'm strongly considering doing this, starting in the next few weeks.

Is the advice the same - in past Deadmans, cycle lane through Palmerstown etc?. I'm heading from Lucan village to near Heuston.

TIA.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I'm not aware of anything having changed.

Yep - it's a nice straight line for you.

So, a bit later than planned I got the bike and gave the route a test run on Saturday.

Way in is pretty straightforward, just about a straight run, bit of messing about at Liffey Valley, but generally OK.

Way back out is a different matter. Following the cycle track signs brings you over the LV flyover and up into the shopping centre..... where the track abruptly disappears down by the Arc bar...

I must be doing something wrong - should I go out onto the N4 (which I don't really want to do there, right at the crazy LV junction for cars heading west) or something else?.

Thanks!.

ArthurG wrote: »

So, a bit later than planned I got the bike and gave the route a test run on Saturday.

Way in is pretty straightforward, just about a straight run, bit of messing about at Liffey Valley, but generally OK.

Way back out is a different matter. Following the cycle track signs brings you over the LV flyover and up into the shopping centre..... where the track abruptly disappears down by the Arc bar...

I must be doing something wrong - should I go out onto the N4 (which I don't really want to do there, right at the crazy LV junction for cars heading west) or something else?.

Thanks!.

It depends on where in the village you're going which will dictate the best place to cross the N4.

All of the options that avoid rejoining the main N4 will involve continuing onto St Lomans Road.

To cross at Woodies you have a choice of continuing onto the traffic lights on the Ballyowen Road or using Ballyowen Lane to rejoin the service lane of the N4 just before Texaco, it's narrow and twisty but it skips a number of sets of traffic lights as it also let's you access the pedestrian/cycle bridge beside the main road bridge even if the last stretch to joining the Lucan road from the pedestrian/cycle bridge is appalling badly designed for cyclists.

Alternatively, there are pedestrian / cycle bridges joining Willsbrook Park with Esker Lane (probably a bit of a roundabout route for the village compared to the Woodies route) and joining The Glebe and Cherbury Park (maybe handy for Esker Lawns or Beech Park too).

It depends on where in the village you're going which will dictate the best place to cross the N4.

All of the options that avoid rejoining the main N4 will involve continuing onto St Lomans Road.

To cross at Woodies you have a choice of continuing onto the traffic lights on the Ballyowen Road or using Ballyowen Lane to rejoin the service lane of the N4 just before Texaco, it's narrow and twisty but it skips a number of sets of traffic lights as it also let's you access the pedestrian/cycle bridge beside the main road bridge even if the last stretch to joining the Lucan road from the pedestrian/cycle bridge is appalling badly designed for cyclists.

Alternatively, there are pedestrian / cycle bridges joining Willsbrook Park with Esker Lane (probably a bit of a roundabout route for the village compared to the Woodies route) and joining The Glebe and Cherbury Park (maybe handy for Esker Lawns or Beech Park too).

The whole arrangement round LV is bonkers, and I really don't want to go out on the N4 there, at least now, I'm still getting used to it and driver behaviour around there isn't good.

I'm going to try the Ballyfermot route suggested above on way home today.

Can't wait to bring this up next time some councillor or TD comes to the door begging for a vote.....

Although having said all that, maybe I just need to grow a pair and go over the M50 roundabout - you see people doing it all the time. I can't get away from thinking you're taking your life in your hands though.....

onmebike wrote: »
    I'd advise against being on the N4 at the M50 flyover. I've seen trucks tailgating, nearly taking a cyclist out of it when changing lanes. The Deadman's cycle lane is much safer and only a minute or two longer. Not much in the grand scheme.

As I mentioned earlier in this thread, I'd advise against the M50 roundabout. I think there's too much appalling driving there...particularly as you have to get into a lane position with vehicles that are nearly guaranteed to be speeding on both sides of you. That's not to mention the blind lane changing caused by tailgating trucks that I refer to, above.

Yeah you're right I suppose.

Ballyer route looks on the way home, I'll give it a spin and see how it goes.

Ballyfermot it is. As posted above it's an almost straight run out with decent bike lane most of the way. I'm impressed.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Although having said all that, maybe I just need to grow a pair and go over the M50 roundabout - you see people doing it all the time. I can't get away from thinking you're taking your life in your hands though.....
    Take the Old Lucan Road there's a cycle bridge.

Then take the bridge to Liffey Valley

Take the Old Lucan Road there's a cycle bridge.

Then take the bridge to Liffey Valley

I did try that, the problem being that when you cross to LV, the cycle path meanders randomly around the centre, then abruptly stops at the large roundabout of death at the entrance.

The Ballyfermot route mentioned above is really good, and I'm going to continue using that I think.

I did try that, the problem being that when you cross to LV, the cycle path meanders randomly around the centre, then abruptly stops at the large roundabout of death at the entrance.

The Ballyfermot route mentioned above is really good, and I'm going to continue using that I think.

When you get the busstop at LV/Foot bridge over, turn right down onto the old road. You cycle up road to Hermitage, onto path and cycle up cycle path getting back onto beside the N3. Not having to cross the on/off ramps of the N3.

Still don't understand why cyclists are continuing to cross them or cycle out with the traffic on the N3 over the M50 interchange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Tommy Max

does canal path go the whole way in to city centre from adamstown lucan. or do you have to come off it onto main roads.

was thinking of jogging to work along the route. is it safe? I see a bit online about attacks etc.

the other option is to jog into chapelizod and then on via islandbridge but then you get into the city and its just a nuasance with traffic and lights.

Would ideally prefer a quieter more relaxing traffic free route along the canal if it is safe and goes all the way?

It's very separate from the road from Lucan to Inchicore. After that, there's a stretch down to Suir Bridge that runs alongside the Luas line. There are just a few roads to be crossed along the way.

Regarding safety, I've never had any problem in the mornings. Too early for scumbags, I reckon. In the summer evenings, there can be some boyos around the lock gates etc. and I've been intimidated by them on occasion. I've read about attacks. I've pretty much abandoned it in the evenings but would use it if it's a mucky wet evening....as the scumbags would more likely be indoors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

The canal is nice to cycle on and the road separation is brilliant. I've found that around the clondalkin section near park west it can get a little hairy at times, lads riding motorbikes erratically along the path but they have always left me alone. There are cameras the entire route which seem to be manned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭VeryRapidSkoda

I agree with Onmebike, I do the canal route every morning and its fine. Lots of people out walking, jogging etc and other cyclists going in both directions, so far never had a problem.
    I used to come home that way in the evening but decided to stop after having stones thrown by gangs of teenagers drinking at the locks. Mainly at the Killeen lock, I went under the bridge there and unwittingly came up into the middle of them. This was when the weather was lovely, they were not there when it was raining or wintery out. They wait until people are stopped and going through the gate to throw stuff, there are cameras there but nothing ever seemed to be done to disperse them.
    I've since stuck to cycling back the Ballyfermot route and its much quicker, just be wary of cars turning left into the car park by the pub across from Iceland. I had a close call there once when a car which was stopped in traffic suddenly just pulled out without indicating and into a spot. I managed to stop but close enough that my front wheel managed to touch his tyre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

I agree with Onmebike, I do the canal route every morning and its fine. Lots of people out walking, jogging etc and other cyclists going in both directions, so far never had a problem.
    I used to come home that way in the evening but decided to stop after having stones thrown by gangs of teenagers drinking at the locks. Mainly at the Killeen lock, I went under the bridge there and unwittingly came up into the middle of them. This was when the weather was lovely, they were not there when it was raining or wintery out. They wait until people are stopped and going through the gate to throw stuff, there are cameras there but nothing ever seemed to be done to disperse them.
    I've since stuck to cycling back the Ballyfermot route and its much quicker, just be wary of cars turning left into the car park by the pub across from Iceland. I had a close call there once when a car which was stopped in traffic suddenly just pulled out without indicating and into a spot. I managed to stop but close enough that my front wheel managed to touch his tyre.

Always thought about running on it but wasn't sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 TheManthatsDan

Used to cycle the canal every day from Bawnouge towards Glasnevin, it's a joy to use as it's completely separate from cars and you can chill, same with the dark evenings as there are plenty of others around but I usually took the long way home after 11pm or so.
    Agreed that the summer is the worst part as the scrotes hang around and act hard but never had any issues with them.
    I stopped going under the bridge at Killeen after a puncture, but it often looked "inhabited" under there. The cameras can't see under there, likewise the bridge at Bawnouge.

There's always a few drinkers at the bench nearest to the waterside pub, they've never said a word to me, but watch out for constant broken glass on the ground.

Also instead of following the canal passed inchicore ( great for Rathmines/Harcourt Street etc ) you can carry on straight and make it to Thomas Street via Fatima/Marrowbone in a few minutes.

Definitely recommend it from Lucan, it's all cycle lanes from woodies/penny hill to the canal too. practically Amsterdam sure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Tommy Max

is the canal route straightforward the whole way in from adamstown? you don't have to come off the canal path? I want to get in to merrion square.

since I plan on running some mornings I just want to be away from traffic. have gone in his deadmans inn down tgrough chapelizod islandbridge. its grand until you get to heuston and then its just traffic and lights. not very enjoyable jogging stretch.

has anybody jogged in the mornings early between 6 and 7am along the canal towards merrion square? any hassle or risk at that time?

I'd regularly cycle that early and never had any bit of trouble. It's very quiet and usually only a couple of people walking or cycling at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 TheManthatsDan

There's several stops at traffic lights along the way I'm afraid, but this is after good long stretches of Canal, there's a couple of those kissing gate things too that aren't even at lights, but they have a space for you to scoot through, it will stop your rhythm a but you will stay on the canal path until Inchicore.

To get to Merrion Square you would turn right at Inchicore following the Canal, meaning you could go under nearly all the bridges for that stretch thereafter, turn left at Lesson Street and onto Fitzwilliam Place and your there.

6 to 7am is grand, there's a small halting site popped up on the road opposite Lucretia tyres at Adamstown where you'd probably start, and a massive one on the opposite side of the Canal at Labre Park, Kylemore. You will get scramblers later in the day from Bawnouge to Ballyfermot too but again, there's a huge amount of people around at that time.

I'd 100% recommend using it, it's a lovely escape from busy roads especially in the morning, saw two swans preparing for the female to give birth one time, building the nest for a couple of days on the opposite bank at Parkwest, a few days later they swam past with their new signets and I watched them get bigger over the next few months, you don't get that on the street.

Oh and after you get on, cross over the red zig zag bridge so that your on the right hand side...