Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I want your job , but I dont like work !

• 16-05-2016 7:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭

How do farmers get staff to get a fair days work done , at this stage I am beginning to give up hope , guy out there now , ok they want your job , want your money , start off with a star performance , you think finally I got a good guy but like the grand national , they begin to weaken and then arrive at a situation where you as the boss end up doing all the jobs that have to be done and these guy coast through the week to pay day , goodbye , see you next week , I dont give , a ****e attitude , I have come to the conclusion that once you think of letting a staff member go , its already too late as he should have been gone long before , do we put up with too much , is there am easier way to do all this , any other farmers with similar problems

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Obviously ,I don't know all of your circumstances but just to play devils advocate ;

Maybe its not them maybe its you:eek:

Perhaps being a boss is like being a football manager ; Not everyone is suitable for the job.

Just because you are a farmer does not mean you have the right stuff to be a boss.

Hopefully there will be capable robots available soon and then you may be ok.

Best wishes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭jaymla627

kerry cow wrote: »
    How do farmers get staff to get a fair days work done , at this stage I am beginning to give up hope , guy out there now , ok they want your job , want your money , start off with a star performance , you think finally I got a good guy but like the grand national , they begin to weaken and then arrive at a situation where you as the boss end up doing all the jobs that have to be done and these guy coast through the week to pay day , goodbye , see you next week , I dont give , a ****e attitude , I have come to the conclusion that once you think of letting a staff member go , its already too late as he should have been gone long before , do we put up with too much , is there am easier way to do all this , any other farmers with similar problems

Good commited farm staff are like hens teeth, have a very good contractor and have basically started getting him in to do all tractor work, saving me 10-15 hours a week and more during busy periods and means I can get by on my own as cow number go up with occasional help from a young lad up the road when herding/dosing etc.....
    Have worked on a lot of dairy units before I started my own herd up and you'd find it hard to believe some of the stories I have seen with staff that where working with us, best one was where relief Milker put entire wash into bulk tank and went on home with pipe still in tank having never copped on to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭red_diesel

If you pay peanuts ............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Good commited farm staff are like hens teeth, have a very good contractor and have basically started getting him in to do all tractor work, saving me 10-15 hours a week and more during busy periods and means I can get by on my own as cow number go up with occasional help from a young lad up the road when herding/dosing etc.....
    Have worked on a lot of dairy units before I started my own herd up and you'd find it hard to believe some of the stories I have seen with staff that where working with us, best one was where relief Milker put entire wash into bulk tank and went on home with pipe still in tank having never copped on to it
    Last lad here "forgot" to feed the cows :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭jaymla627

The problem is I dont pay peanuts I pay a set day rate and also overtime for each hour worked , have three employees and would be condidered one of the better farms to work on .but unfortunately if a machine can do it ,the employees must get the gate , look all around other industries , why do they not want people ," I want your job , your money but for as little as I can get away with ,"
    This is the attitude for half the population , I am going to return at least 2 , of my three staff to the dole where they belong . Thank god for technology .

If you want to nearly guarantee a good source of labour you would really need to take on someone in a share-milking/ contract milking role in this scenario then their attitude and performance will directly influence their work rate as the better the farms preforms the more money they make also gives them something to strive for if their building cow numbers/equity....
    Theirs no real point whinging about lazy workers, dairy farming isn't really a attractive job and is tough work, unless you like working with cows and are building towards something it's wouldn't be long wearing you down....
    would you honestly yourself if you where a normal Joe soap work on a large dairy herd doing 50 plus hours a week dragging yourself out of bed at half five every morning and working say every second weekend for a set wage with no real prospects of moving up the ladder and a boss dogging you who by your own admission has no bother sacking you if he reckons your getting lazy

The problem is I dont pay peanuts I pay a set day rate and also overtime for each hour worked , have three employees and would be condidered one of the better farms to work on .but unfortunately if a machine can do it ,the employees must get the gate , look all around other industries , why do they not want people ," I want your job , your money but for as little as I can get away with ,"
    This is the attitude for half the population , I am going to return at least 2 , of my three staff to the dole where they belong . Thank god for technology .
    We have only your word on this . Unless we hear from former(hopefully ones that left on good terms)/present employees how do we know you are not delusional.

You may even think you are a good employer but you might be a nightmare ; Its not the kind of thing that you can give objective opinion about.

If you were saying that you were a great lover on an internet site who would believe you ! ? ! ?:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Its not just on farms, you'd be amazed with what goes on in other areas. I worked in a factory once where easily 1/4 of the staff should have been fired. The other 3/4 then fed up because they have to do their work also.
    In fairness, farm labouring wouldn't be considered an attractive career prospect, would it.
    As said above being a boss requires an entirely different set of skills.

Its not just on farms, you'd be amazed with what goes on in other areas. I worked in a factory once where easily 1/4 of the staff should have been fired. The other 3/4 then fed up because they have to do their work also.
    In fairness, farm labouring wouldn't be considered an attractive career prospect, would it.
    As said above being a boss requires an entirely different set of skills.
    Its amazing how often you come across people that are very much in favour of other people being sacked but not too keen on the sack for them selves:eek::eek::eek:

I am sure its not easy being a boss but that kind of goes with the territory.

If you want to be a captain of industry;);)..... and all that.

The sooner these robots get their act together the better for all if you ask me.

Going off topic here but;

What will the wealthy Elite do with the rest of us when they have the robots to do all of the work:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I've been in management for a long time in large and small companies and what I would say is nobody is going to have the passion for the success of your farm than you have yourself.

They'll never go the extra mile, never burst themselves like you would. Paying a good rate is half the battle but remember your in it for more that money - all they get is money, it's the only reason they are there. People will always do the very least they can to get paid and hold down their job.

It could well be that your expectations are too high.

One thing industry has that drives people on is performance management and the carrot that there'll be more money if you perform above agreed targets, the carrot rather than the stick. It's not for everybody but it can be very successful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭kk.man

I agree with the Poster....I've only come across less than a handful of people who actually get it when it comes to work and vision (they are worth their weight in gold). I don't think getting workers is a problem its the vision that's the issue. You have to spell out what needs doing..check it mid way and check it when its complete. If an issue arises during the task most cant deal with it or have the foresight to overcome the issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Lmao!

Someone in the same boat as myself.

The lowest paid workers here are costing me €19.06/hr for a 35hr week + 7weeks paid holidays. Overtime is €28.66/hr and if the weekly hrs worked exceeds 40hrs, they have to get an extra day off (with pay) the following week. Bank holidays don't come out of the 7weeks holidays. There are 4 bank holiday w-ends in May!

It gets better...

To fire them I must lodge 4 successive quarterly returns showing that I'm going broke...

Had one of them grubbing headlands last Friday and he couldn't be ars*d changing the points on the grubber and wore the tynes down beyond repair. New set of tynes needed now €133/ piece.
    This man is actually a good operator but knows that he can't be fired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Dawggone wrote: »
    Lmao!

The lowest paid workers here are costing me €19.06/hr for a 35hr week + 7weeks paid holidays. Overtime is €28.66/hr and if the weekly hrs worked exceeds 40hrs, they have to get an extra day off (with pay) the following week. Bank holidays don't come out of the 7weeks holidays. There are 4 bank holiday w-ends in May!

It gets better...

To fire them I must lodge 4 successive quarterly returns showing that I'm going broke...

Had one of them grubbing headlands last Friday and he couldn't be ars*d changing the points on the grubber and wore the tynes down beyond repair. New set of tynes needed now €133/ piece.

No 3 written warnings? I'm sure you could encourage them to go?

2 verbal with an independent witness, usually local solicitor.
    4 written warnings. That's the law.

However he/she can take you to labor court and gain 60-80% redundancy for every year worked. The redundancy is calculated off highest wage and retrospective iykwim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

2 verbal with an independent witness, usually local solicitor.
    4 written warnings. That's the law.

However he/she can take you to labor court and gain 60-80% redundancy for every year worked. The redundancy is calculated off highest wage and retrospective iykwim.

A lot of replacable staff being put on zero hour contracts by farms/contractors here with good full timers well looked after. Even then 3 warnings in 12 months with students/casuals on a shorter leash again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Working on a dairy farm is not exactly a career. Like another poster stated early mornings every second weekend etc. A while back there was a thread on it and the consensus was that wages were 10-12 euro/hour. For shift work it is not exactly good pay and as well farmers will want you to take your holidays during the winter. Also employers may try to lengthen the day to try to get late afternoon work by 1 hour tea in the morning and an hour for lunch.

Know a lad that got a job 15/hour 8am start, 30 minutes break from 10.30-11.00am and 30 min from 1.30-2.00pm. He finishes at 5pm. T-room on site with toaster, microwave, hotplate. Drying room and shower on sit as well. No week ends, can take two weeks holidays in the summer but must keep 3 days for Christmas. That is what you are competing against not sure if it is possible for dairy farmers to compete against this.

Heard a story from a friend he went to buy a few heifers for sucklers off a dairy farmer. This lad was milking 120-150 cows however inheirtated more land and he asked him if he intended to expand his cow numbers. The dairy farmer said no as labour was too big an issue easier to expand his drystock operation returns smaller but less issue with labour.

After hitting 80-120 cows depending on amount of contracting you do you are leaving the virtual one man operation and the family farm type setup. Lads that run bigger operations are driven however those you employ especially those you employ at 10-12 euro/hour will not be as driven. As well the younger generation that are willing to work fair play to them will not take the sh!te previous ones would. The problem for dairy farmers is that with the wages dairy farms can affort they are scraping the bottom of the barrel. When you scrape the bottom of the barrel you end up with a lot of sh!t.

Finally would you encourage your son or daughter to consider a career as a farm worker.

Slava Ukrainii

A lot of replacable staff being put on zero hour contracts by farms/contractors here with good full timers well looked after. Even then 3 warnings in 12 months with students/casuals on a shorter leash again.

What I wouldn't give to be able to use zero hour contracts...

Good staff I'll always look after well but it only takes one plick to turn morale sour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 the_shark

Lmao!

It gets better...

What country is this in do you mind me asking ? 7 weeks paid holidays ? Your hourly rate is sky high for Labour. I guess sometimes it can be the difference between someone who takes pride in their work and someone who is there to pick up a pay cheque, performance related pay would be a hard one to introduce on a farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Kerry cow you must have some set up with all that staff , agree with some poster's your people management skills must be poor and not property be able to motivate your staff to do a days work as someone that worked on large scale dairy units I have seen them all good and bad. A few simple tips don't get too friendly with them, take 15 minutes in morning with a cup of coffee explaining what you would like to see done and expect to be done and pick the right man for the job ,don't tolerate any lick arsing or bitching any problems staff have give them a time to discuss the issue a time that will suit you, happy employees make good employees.

I used to get text "what will I do next?" a good person will see what needs to be done

whelan2 wrote: »
    I used to get text "what will I do next?" a good person will see what needs to be done
    Technology is great all the same:p

blinding wrote: »
    Technology is great all the same:p
    no not when you are in an important meeting:mad:

Yes he should not have to text , you should have work laiid out for him, to do and jobs that need to be done at least he text you a lot of lads would sit on there holee and make a big burst when they see you coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Paddy was labouring on a building site in England. He was working alongside two eastern European workers.

One evening the foreman called over paddy and says "I was watching you today and noticed you were carrying one block at a time, but the other lads were carrying two."

"I spotted that myself " says paddy " the feckers are too lazy to go back for the second one"

Just out of curiosity have any of the bosses on this thread worked for other people for a decent amount of time . I mean years .

Yes. In many different types of employment.

That will certainly help in being a boss.

kerryjack wrote: »
    Yes he should not have to text , you should have work laiid out for him, to do and jobs that need to be done at least he text you a lot of lads would sit on there holee and make a big burst when they see you coming
    He had been working here over a year when he started this crack of the text asking what to do. There is always something to be done on a farm.

That will certainly help in being a boss.

I'm delighted that you think that I'm a little more qualified than others to be a boss.
    Thanks.

I'm delighted that you think that I'm a little more qualified than others to be a boss.
    Thanks.
    I am not sure if I like your attitude;);)

Likewise....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Taking on employees is tricky, I give them all 3 months trial and they either take it or leave it. I have to admit I was a tramp to work for but I've calmed a bit and I'm getting better results out of staff. There has to be give and take and to be straight about it reckon the real young lads with enthusiasm or an older lad looking for a couple of days a week is far better value than someone stuck in the middle that thinks they've seen it all and feels the job is beneath them. Another point being everyone may be looking for good all rounders where often one lad may be suited better to digging holes than checking on cattle. Maybe just match the man to the job and give each there own responsibilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Kerry cow you must have some set up with all that staff , agree with some poster's your people management skills must be poor and not property be able to motivate your staff to do a days work as someone that worked on large scale dairy units I have seen them all good and bad. A few simple tips don't get too friendly with them, take 15 minutes in morning with a cup of coffee explaining what you would like to see done and expect to be done and pick the right man for the job ,don't tolerate any lick arsing or bitching any problems staff have give them a time to discuss the issue a time that will suit you, happy employees make good employees.

Also feed them well and give them 3 days work in one and tell them get as much done as possible, that was my last employer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

I have always work since 16 in the bog turning turf for 2 years and then with a silage contracto for 1992 ,93 ,94 ,95 , on two drive tractors with no radio or a/c , up at 6 and in bed at 12 and long silage season back then , worked for a farmer in cork on ag experience and there I was one of his better student , also got student of year in ag college and have gone on to take over the farm milking 40 cows with quota to 500 today , its either in you or not , and I have always applied myself to my job it doesnt matter who I am to work , tomorrow morning I will apply myself to work for you and try and do my best , I bet alot of people can relate to this because they are brought up to be fair play but unfortunately most but not all the people we employ believe like wise

Fair play to you. As you say yourself there you were top of the class and had the work ethic to match it, the only thing not everybody can be the best and maybe you're comparing workers to too high a standard. All you can really expect from them is a fair day's work for a fair day's wages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

When I was working in different jobs frs, programming, bog, arrabawn (short spell), always gave my all. Never wanted anyone to think I wasnt
    forgot s trimming along the Auto Bahn also:-)

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Also feed them well and give them 3 days work in one and tell them get as much done as possible, that was my last employer :)

O Jesus no don't give them a big feed of spuds and bacon they do fucck all after that only lie down

I have always work since 16 in the bog turning turf for 2 years and then with a silage contracto for 1992 ,93 ,94 ,95 , on two drive tractors with no radio or a/c , up at 6 and in bed at 12 and long silage season back then , worked for a farmer in cork on ag experience and there I was one of his better student , also got student of year in ag college and have gone on to take over the farm milking 40 cows with quota to 500 today , its either in you or not , and I have always applied myself to my job it doesnt matter who I am to work , tomorrow morning I will apply myself to work for you and try and do my best , I bet alot of people can relate to this because they are brought up to be fair play but unfortunately most but not all the people we employ believe like wise

Have you them all in one block or have you them in a few herds didnt think they were many that size in kerry your not up causeway direction by any chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭stantheman1979

The problem is the farmers who can afford to hire a worker are usually big farmers who expect you to be all singing all dancing on call when they want u on weekends or to work late.If someone is fair and decent with me ill go above and beyond what i should do.But its hard to find the motavation when you dont like the farmer or they pick little things out of you're work
    When working for farmers I rather they say I want this done then if you get that done then do this and this and just leave me to it.My problem is I hate being idle and standing around talking as im not much of a comunicator so ill get two days work done in one and hell have no work the following day lol I always take the view when ive a problem rather than ring the farmer the whole time think what would I do if it was my farm but the farmer mightn't agree with your solution so then u start doubting yourself and checking everything first. I dont want people looking over my shoulder sniping. If ive done something wrong say it to me and ill fix it but leave me alone to do the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Lmao!

It gets better...

I want that job. Good enough pay, short week, if I do much more than a normal week (39 hours for me) I get an extra days holidays the following week on top of the time and a half, So much holidays I'd hardly be working anyway and when I am working I only need to do a half-assed job because I can't be sacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

O Jesus no don't give them a big feed of spuds and bacon they do fucck all after that only lie down

Spuds and bacon, I ate enough of them when I was younger to put me off for life, when I said fed well it was more like fed to appetite not stuffed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭stantheman1979

A lot of farmers are excellent businessmen stockmen but their man management/PR skills are poor. Also it doesnt occur to a lot of farmers to say thanks for coming in early or staying late. Or you did a good job there. I dont need them to blow smoke up my backside and tell me im brilliant but saying thanks,please ie manners makes you feel a bit more appreciated and will motivate you as they can see you work hard and do youre best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

A lot of farmers are excellent businessmen stockmen but their man management/PR skills are poor. Also it doesnt occur to a lot of farmers to say thanks for coming in early or staying late. Or you did a good job there. I dont need them to blow smoke up my backside and tell me im brilliant but saying thanks,please ie manners makes you feel a bit more appreciated and will motivate you as they can see you work hard and do youre best.

I think all employers need to do this more. a quick thank you or even show that you noticed is a great boost.

The problem is the farmers who can afford to hire a worker are usually big farmers who expect you to be all singing all dancing on call when they want u on weekends or to work late.If someone is fair and decent with me ill go above and beyond what i should do.But its hard to find the motavation when you dont like the farmer or they pick little things out of you're work
    When working for farmers I rather they say I want this done then if you get that done then do this and this and just leave me to it.My problem is I hate being idle and standing around talking as im not much of a comunicator so ill get two days work done in one and hell have no work the following day lol I always take the view when ive a problem rather than ring the farmer the whole time think what would I do if it was my farm but the farmer mightn't agree with your solution so then u start doubting yourself and checking everything first. I dont want people looking over my shoulder sniping. If ive done something wrong say it to me and ill fix it but leave me alone to do the job.
    I worked for farm relief for a couple of years before I came home. Worked on a poultry farm most days and did milkings and dairy work too. Worked with the most contrary fookers that no one else would go to. If I was to be in a place for 7 ,I would be there at 5 to. Not rolling up at 7.30 with the excuse that my alarm didnt go off. Agree though praise is great. Went milk recording then, I hated it. Farmers telling you to be there at a certain time and when you get there they havent even gone for the cows. Rowing over no allocation being given for the froth in the milk....... When recorder comes here first row is normally done and I will have a list written out for her of the numbers of cows in the first 2 rows.
    Having people wiorking for you works both ways a bit of praise and also if the worker breaks something or doesnt understand something just ask /tell someone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭parishsavings

I would gladly help out a farmer evenings / weekends, big interest in farming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭kk.man

Slightly off the tread. I rang my local meal mill to pay my outstanding bill two days ago. The guy in the credit control office didn't answer the phone thus I left a message for him to call me back. In the afternoon he hadn't call so I called again ...again no answer. I rang the reception got the lady there to go to his office and tell him I wanted him to ring me. He rang me however he wanted to clarify the credit price of some of the items with the sales rep in order to settle the bill. Just before the call ended I said 'are you going to come back to me before close of business today?' That was two days ago and I haven't heard a thing.
    Q. Am I OTT if I ring him and give him a piece of my mind about his customer service?

I don't want to get the lad in trouble but I hate poor customer service. Imagine if I couldn't afford to settle my account?!?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

kk.man wrote: »
    Slightly off the tread. I rang my local meal mill to pay my outstanding bill two days ago. The guy in the credit control office didn't answer the phone thus I left a message for him to call me back. In the afternoon he hadn't call so I called again ...again no answer. I rang the reception got the lady there to go to his office and tell him I wanted him to ring me. He rang me however he wanted to clarify the credit price of some of the items with the sales rep in order to settle the bill. Just before the call ended I said 'are you going to come back to me before close of business today?' That was two days ago and I haven't heard a thing.
    Q. Am I OTT if I ring him and give him a piece of my mind about his customer service?

I don't want to get the lad in trouble but I hate poor customer service. Imagine if I couldn't afford to settle my account?!?!?
    Can you not drive to the place in person and settle your account. Just say you had other business in the area and called in.
    You might even get more taken off when dealing face to face.
    Pita but there you go.

Edit: It's usually better to deal face to face anyway and if you pay on time always. You will have more leverage in getting the price down. If you have the money and bring all the dockets i'd go to them. They could end up charging more credit if you leave it.

Same thing happened me with water bill with irish water rang once to pay it took a long time on phone I left it and never payed it and won't pay it now , I would ring a company only once to pay a bill and if they don't take it than well they can find me after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭White Clover

Look no one is perfect. Give him a break. He could be under pressure from his boss to collect a certain account before the end of the week whereas he knows you're a safe bet.
    If I was you I'd nearly take it as a compliment!
    He'll be back to you, don't worry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

pedigree 6 wrote: »

Can you not drive to the place in person and settle your account. Just say you had other business in the area and called in.
    You might even get more taken off when dealing face to face.
    Pita but there you go.

Edit: It's usually better to deal face to face anyway and if you pay on time always. You will have more leverage in getting the price down. If you have the money and bring all the dockets i'd go to them. They could end up charging more credit if you leave it.
    I get them to call to me, perhaps a sign I'm feeding too much meal....