Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

False NCT

• 15-05-2016 9:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭

Hey guys,

Anyone ever come across something like this before?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volkswagen-bora-1-4-2002/12272646

NCT website has it as NCT expiring in the middle of June 16 whilst his disc (dodgy as it looks) has April next year.

I've noticed this with a couple of his ads. How fast are DoneDeal on removing these sort of ads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Hey guys,

Anyone ever come across something like this before?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volkswagen-bora-1-4-2002/12272646

NCT website has it as NCT expiring in the middle of June 16 whilst his disc (dodgy as it looks) has April next year.

I've noticed this with a couple of his ads. How fast are DoneDeal on removing these sort of ads?

If you report it very quick.

There is no mileage on the cert in window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Ad is gone now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Should have reported it to garda
    Done deal takes down adds but it will still be put up for sale on adds carzone facebook or later back up on DD

I was seeking to buy a cheap car for son about 1/2 of the cars on DD at lower end of the market had false NCT many with fake disk and wrong nct renewal date

Lower end of the market is under €500?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,505 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

They should really blacklist the phone numbers associated with those ads so they can never advertise with that number again on the site.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Lower end of the market is under €500?

Not quite that low was searching for a car at time up to 1500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,794 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

The old old 1. 4 golf / bora are prime candidates for fake cert. Alot of very tidy looking ones that fail on emissions as the engines are weak. Stick a fake cert on it and suddenly you have what looks like a good tidy car.
    No reason anyone should be getting caught out though as the nct info is there on ncts.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Got caught by this once. I had crashed my car and needed something cheap, quick. Went to foxford to see a fiesta. Had nct in the window, bought it for a few hundred.

It was two traveller lads selling it. One was dealing with me and the cash while the othr was removing the disc from the window. Didn't realise until the next day. Hadn't had mcg for 2 years. I had to scrap it after finding the incredible amount of missing metal due to rust.

mickdw wrote: »
    The old old 1. 4 golf / bora are prime candidates for fake cert. Alot of very tidy looking ones that fail on emissions as the engines are weak. Stick a fake cert on it and suddenly you have what looks like a good tidy car.
    No reason anyone should be getting caught out though as the nct info is there on ncts.ie

I use NCT site myself to do quick check when browsing through DD ads and why i skip on past cars with reg hidded. But not everyone would be aware of this scam or how to check and just take car at face value disc in window being enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

FortySeven wrote: »
    It was two traveller lads selling it. One was dealing with me and the cash while the othr was removing the disc from the window. Didn't realise until the next day. Hadn't had mcg for 2 years. I had to scrap it after finding the incredible amount of missing metal due to rust.

FFS, how naive are you? Never deal with the likes of them. Always trouble, never honest.

Got caught by this once. I had crashed my car and needed something cheap, quick. Went to foxford to see a fiesta. Had nct in the window, bought it for a few hundred.

Your not alone. Got caught out myself on diesel advenis a number of years back.. Disk in window was good forgery only came to light when tax reminder came in. It was cheap buy and i was able to replace shock and tie rods myself but still very under handed / dishonest thing to do.

FFS, how naive are you? Never deal with the likes of them. Always trouble, never honest.

Not very naive to be fair. It looked good in the ad, the girl on the phone was well spoken. I needed a car that night to get to work in the morning. It was a fair drive and dark when I got there. Car turned up with two fellas in it. Car drove well and was priced right for what it was. I checked the nct disc but was looking at the date.

Sometimes circumstances combine to catch you out. I used to be a criminal myself. Thought I knew every scam in the book and then some. I've seen lads scammed out of the very clothes they are wearing in prison reception under the eyes of the guards.

I think the biggest thing that caught me out was the maths. The level of workload and organisation they had to do to make such a small amount of money. It wasn't like it was too good to be true. Their risk / reward was way off kilter for any ordinary criminal venture.

The rewards are not small though. put an ad up for cash-for-cars. get people who just want rid of a car and don't want to fix up to sell. make lowball offer €200 or so. forge an nct disc. get prepay SIM. Advertise for €1100. take €1000. do this 3 times a week and you're clearing €3600 a week plus your dole and rent allowance etc. even 1 a week would leave you with more disposable income than most.
    Even if you get caught its very unlikely anything would come of it.
    There's no paper trail and the people that are clued in enough to run the reg won't can come see the cars usually.

not recommending anyone do this.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    The rewards are not small though. put an ad up for cash-for-cars. get people who just want rid of a car and don't want to fix up to sell. make lowball offer €200 or so. forge an nct disc. get prepay SIM. Advertise for €1100. take €1000. do this 3 times a week and you're clearing €3600 a week plus your dole and rent allowance etc. even 1 a week would leave you with more disposable income than most.
    Even if you get caught its very unlikely anything would come of it.
    There's no paper trail and the people that are clued in enough to run the reg won't can come see the cars usually.

not recommending anyone do this.

True. The fiesta I bought was €450 though. I'd hardly get out of bed for the profit - the hassle. That's what suckered me really. It wasn't too good to be true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

True. The fiesta I bought was €450 though. I'd hardly get out of bed for the profit - the hassle. That's what suckered me really. It wasn't too good to be true.

its called getting started in the trade, too many people these days expect to ring a 131 merc on day one and aren't willing to put the hours in learning a trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Scrap prices are rubbish now. Cars that are clapped out can be had for 100 quid or even less sometimes. They probably made 250 on it at least. Those fine gentlemen that sucked you in wouldn't bother if it was only midget digits.

Tigger wrote: »
    its called getting started in the trade, too many people these days expect to ring a 131 merc on day one and aren't willing to put the hours in learning a trade.

I don't lol often but when I do it's from the belly. Good one. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,589 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

... midget digits.
    Mice one!

Not your ornery onager