Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2016 Giro d'Italia - Stage 9: Chianti ITT, 40.5 km Sunday 15th May 2016-05-14

• 14-05-2016 9:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭

The much anticipated TT that will answer many questions but probably pose more

T09_Chianti_alt-PRE.jpg

Start Times :

https://gallery.mailchimp.com/823d3a40b51c82f60f316baa5/files/Ordine_di_partenza.01.pdf

Can Brambila hold on to pink?
    Will Dumoulin get pink back?
    What about Zakarin …will he be in pink after the day?
    What about Kruijswijk?
    Will Landa lose much time?
    Will Chaves lose time?
    Can Nibali win?

My Pick for the win – Cancellera
    One to watch – Uran

On Eurosport 1.30pm

Stage Winner 8 votes

Tom Dumoulin
    0%
    Fabian Cancellara
    25%
    MelodeonAll My Stars Aligned 2 votes
    Bob Jungels
    12%
    MPFGLB 1 vote
    Andrey Amador
    0%
    Ilnur Zakarin
    25%
    Darkglassesmezzanine08 2 votes
    Rigoberto Uran
    25%
    Brian?pelevin 2 votes
    Vincenzo Nibali
    12%
    g0g 1 vote
    Alejandro Valverde
    0%
    Other
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Ilnur Zakarin
    Time for a poll :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

Spoiler alert right there in the OP for those who have not seen today's stage!

I'd say that TD will defo break the hour for the 40k!

Ilnur Zakarin
    Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    Spoiler alert right there in the OP for those who have not seen today's stage!

I'd say that TD will defo break the hour for the 40k!

It's grand. See the seasonal reminder thread at the top of the forum:
    Following feedback 8/11/14, it is now permitted to create a stage thread without spoiler tags for any future stages. This means that threads for future stages will contain spoilers for all previous or current stages

Saves having to wait until after midnight to make a decent thread post.

It's grand. See the seasonal reminder thread at the top of the forum:

Saves having to wait until after midnight to make a decent thread post.

That'll learn me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

Bob Jungels
    https://twitter.com/JamieHaughey/status/731807498756313088

well that's me done with predictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

40km TT must be too much after his bout of illness. Unfortunate. Van Eden out soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,506 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Dumoulin said after yesterday's stage that he is suffering with saddle sores. He could struggle today. By that I mean, he might not win.

MPFGLB wrote: »
    well that's me done with predictions

Cancellara said before yesterday's stage that he wouldn't be contender for yesterday (even though it should have suited him because of past performances at Strade Bianche).

So I'm guessing he wouldn't have been a major contender today either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

Rigoberto Uran
    NO idea if there's any logic to it but I voted for Zakarin to win.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Rigoberto Uran
    Zakarin to put serious time into the other GC contenders today.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Brian? wrote: »
    Zakarin to put serious time into the other GC contenders today.
    He could be in Pink this evening.

Bob Jungels
    There is Fabs himself saying NIbali can do a good TT (compared to other GC guys) as the descent is very technical and also it looks like rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Thats some rain. Looks like Italy and Ireland have swapped places for the day

Ilnur Zakarin
    Cif8RHAWgAE6Wjb.jpg

Yuck

Amador has set the new fastest time at the 1st time check.

Bob Jungels
    That is it ...I will never predict a rider again

Uran out the back door big time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Landa with the ride of the day by the looks of it, seems he's going to lose nothing to the main GC rivals, which is far better than would have been expected.

Ilnur Zakarin
    Rough ride for Zakarin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

We'll give Brambilla ride of the day, that was a cracking effort.

Nibs, Valverde, Landa seem a class apart. Hope the Etixx lads can give them a battle.

Bob Jungels
    Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Nibs, Valverde, Landa seem a class apart. Hope the Etixx lads can give them a battle.

I'd put Steven K up there too

Really disappointed for Uran...How do you go from being top at TT to being that bad

A few years ago his TTing was top drawer....surely he can't have un learnt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭isitraining

I'd put Steven K up there too

Really disappointed for Uran...How do you go from being top at TT to being that bad

A few years ago his TTing was top drawer....surely he can't have un learnt it

Check out @Ride_Argyle's Tweet: https://twitter.com/Ride_Argyle/status/731881951607586818?s=09

Do we have anyone lined up for stage threads this week? I'll do Tuesdays stage if not

Bob Jungels
    Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Do we have anyone lined up for stage threads this week? I'll do Tuesdays stage if not

I can do Sat & Sun next weekend

Pudsey33 = Tuesday

Melodeon can you do Wed & Thursday ?

Pudsey can you do Friday ?

That would bring us to the last rest day

Tuesday and Friday, sure :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Fabian Cancellara
    Wednesday and Thursday, will do.

It appears that Kung from BMC is a triathlete now with no socks or shoe covers for the tt!

Bob Jungels
    Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    It appears that Kung from BMC is a triathlete now with no socks or shoe covers for the tt!

Yep...wonder what Quintana would make of Kung with his calf high shoe covers

All of Movistar today had the kneee highs on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭D9Male

One of the more interesting time trials of recent times.

Of the GC guys:

Jungels
    Amador + 34"
    Dumoulin + 1'13"
    Brambillia + 1'20"
    Nibali + 1'28"
    Landa + 1'35"
    Kruijswijk + 1'38"
    Valverde + 1'39"
    Fuglsang + 1'59"
    Majka + 2'11"
    Hesjedal + 2'13"
    Pozzovivo + 2'54"
    Chaves + 3'03"
    Zakarin + 3'06"
    Uran + 3'27"

I guess the two riders that outperformed what we expected were Landa and Brambilla. I don't think the latter is a GC threat (I just put Jungels and Brambilla here for reference really) but it was really a very good ride. Landa didn't look too good in the first few GC stages, but he had a great ride yesterday.

The two riders that really underperformed were Zakarin and Uran. Both were off the bike on multiple occasions. I would have expected both to post times similar to Amador on such a course.

Dumoulin had a bad day for him. He is clearly not on form the past few days. I never thought he would survive the high mountains. But I really felt he would gain time on the big three (ML, VN, AV) over the weekend, yet he was a net loser.