Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Guards RTE2 Tuesday may 17th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Looks good. Hopefully decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭jwhdkl5736

What a great show. So much better than traffic blues. Part off of it reminded me of the second season of HBO's 'The Wire'. Looking forward to next week. Glad to hear a few northern accents there too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,657 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Thought it was excellent - both the street work and the human aspect. Was worried for the Garda who confronted yer wan with the needle full of blood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭honreal

Thought it was excellent - both the street work and the human aspect. Was worried for the Garda who confronted yer wan with the needle full of blood.

He even admitted on camera he basically mad a bollox of it. Blood filled syringe... you need to box clever in a situation like that.

I wonder why they do not seem to be wearing prick-resistant gloves, just the standard medical ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

salonfire wrote: »
    I wonder why they do not seem to be wearing prick-resistant gloves, just the standard medical ones.

1. Because they are not issued and 2. It removes alot of your "feel" in your fingers, makes it difficult to find small items

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Star hurl

After seeing the assault on the two female guards I'm Just wondering is it common that two females are on patrol together ?

Star hurl wrote: »
    After seeing the assault on the two female guards I'm Just wondering is it common that two females are on patrol together ?

I felt that they should have acknowledged the help the members of the public give them at that incident as well.

The two gardai were brave no doubt, but for members of the public to step in and help out is also just as brave (possibly having no experience/training in these situations). Should have been acknowledged as well at least, I thought ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Commonly seen is 1 female member on her own. Not a very good idea really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

carzony wrote: »
    Commonly seen is 1 female member on her own. Not a very good idea really.

I know of unit that normally see that it's in large city too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭irishrgr

Grrrr. can't access it over here in the US....doesn't seem to be on Youtube yet either, is it anywhere else not behind a firewall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭jwhdkl5736

irishrgr wrote: »
    Grrrr. can't access it over here in the US....doesn't seem to be on Youtube yet either, is it anywhere else not behind a firewall?

You can pay 3.99 for RTE international?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭FionnK86

The series sent out a clear message that the Guards are doing their best in our flawed judicial system, and the courts are letting them down with very lenient sentences/fines. I would love to see a series now called 'The Courts' and see how they respond to this!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,657 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Very good show. Hope there's more of it in the future.

Letters of apology?

Football hooligans - no time for them at all. Glad someone senior criticised the weakness in the legislation re Zopiclone.

What was the uniform the female Garda was wearing, the one said she wanted to be a Garda since she was 4 - a bike unit one?

FionnK86 wrote: »
    The series sent out a clear message that the Guards are doing their best in our flawed judicial system, and the courts are letting them down with very lenient sentences/fines. I would love to see a series now called 'The Courts' and see how they respond to this!

A series on the Courts would just be months of mentions before the main episode which hears the facts after a guilty plea having dragged in multiple witnesses and the gouger getting probation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

irishrgr wrote: »

I can see it on kodi, but when I go to play it, it seems to be a spin off of the Lion King. Maybe someone messing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Murrayboy

A really great show that showed the dangers of the job and what members of AGS have to put up with. I was shocked when the young guard wrestled with that lady with the blood filled syringe. A very brave man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭MrBlack93

Any links to see this show?
    Doesn't seem to be available on RTE player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Rebelkid

MrBlack93 wrote: »
    Any links to see this show?
    Doesn't seem to be available on RTE player

Episode 1 is up but not episode 2 yet https://vimeo.com/180086993

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭justshane

Just watched episode 1, as a previous poster said the problem clearly is the sentencing getting handed down, no deterrent at all.

Keep me posted if episode 2 is ever uploaded

Thanks for uploading that...watched it yesterday. Cracking stuff, the Garda need more of this kind of exposure. It clearly shows they are working hard, dealing with bad people, paperwork and the dangers of policing. Go to YouTube and there are loads of equivalent shows about the police in the UK & the US. When it comes to this sort of thing, the Garda should be out there showing the good they do, especially with cuts etc.

Yes, deffo let us know when the next one is on Vimeo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Rebelkid

https://vimeo.com/184696456 Episode 2 is up

Thanks for that lad

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭2RockMountain

What struck me about this show was that the Gardai seem to wear latex gloves more than doctors or nurses these days.

Well done, thanks for that!!!! Funny, we wear the same blue gloves over here, globalization, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

When you watch UK police shows, they can show the faces of criminals following a conviction, whereas in that show, only victims' faces were left unblurred. Was that an editorial or legal decision?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 orlaith85

Anyone know how to access this on vimeo? It requires a password

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 orlaith85

Password?