Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish citizenship

• 11-05-2016 2:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

Hey there I have a question, I'm an argentinian citizenship and I got married 4 years ago with an irish man, civil partnership, in Argentina. And we live in there for the last 5.
    My question is if I 'm eligible to get Irish citizenship and passport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

You are not eligible for citizenship if you are Irish Citizenship in you are living to Argentina. You need to be in residence in Ireland for some time (3 years out of 5) before you can apply. That's the current main obstacle.
    You must have had a period of 1 year's continuous reckonable residence in the island of Ireland immediately before the date of your application, and during the 4 years preceding that, have had a total reckonable residence in the island of Ireland amounting to 2 years. Altogether you must have a total of 3 years reckonable residence out of the last 5 years.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving_country/irish_citizenship/becoming_an_irish_citizen_through_marriage.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

Hey there I have a question, I'm an argentinian citizenship and I got married 4 years ago with an irish man, civil partnership, in Argentina. And we live in there for the last 5.

As the other poster mentioned, to get Irish Citizenship, you would need to move to Ireland for a number of years.

If you are asking this, because you want to move to Ireland, then you should already be able to do so.

If you are asking this, because you want to move to another EU state, then you should already be able to do so as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Marceloruffino

I'm an Italian passport holder, and I will like to change for my husband nationality.
    I used to work and live in Ireland before for 2 years. Register employee with Pps number. But we decide to move to Argentina for bussines reasons and then become married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

Marcelo, as the spouse of an Irish man, you can move to Ireland and live and work here. Since you are not a visa-required national, but Argentina is a non-EU country, you would do what my husband and I did (I am from the US). You will move to Ireland with him, and at the airport, you will tell the immigration official who stamps your passport that you intend to immigrate (this is very important). They will stamp your passport with 90 days and write that you need to register. As soon as you and your husband have a place to live in Ireland, you should go to the Garda station (in some places you will need to make an appointment) with your husband and both your passports and your marriage certificate, and tell them that you are requesting Stamp 4 permission to reside as the spouse of an Irish citizen. If they do not require more paperwork, they will register you and request a card for you. Once the card arrives, they'll let you know and you'll go in to get the card and your passport stamp. It will be good for 12 months and you will go back in to renew it before it expires.

As for citizenship, you will have to be here for the required amount of time. In that time, you should not be a user of public benefit payments for low-income people. There are other rules but the other posters have linked to them. I have been here for only two years so I do not yet qualify to apply. If we were not spouses of Irish citizens, we would have to wait longer, so we do get a little help. Good luck :)

Speedwell wrote: »
    Marcelo, as the spouse of an Irish man, you can move to Ireland and live and work here. Since you are not a visa-required national, but Argentina is a non-EU country, you would do what my husband and I did (I am from the US). You will move to Ireland with him, and at the airport, you will tell the immigration official who stamps your passport that you intend to immigrate (this is very important). They will stamp your passport with 90 days and write that you need to register. As soon as you and your husband have a place to live in Ireland, you should go to the Garda station (in some places you will need to make an appointment) with your husband and both your passports and your marriage certificate, and tell them that you are requesting Stamp 4 permission to reside as the spouse of an Irish citizen. If they do not require more paperwork, they will register you and request a card for you. Once the card arrives, they'll let you know and you'll go in to get the card and your passport stamp. It will be good for 12 months and you will go back in to renew it before it expires.

He doesn't need to do any of that. He has an EU passport

Mellor wrote: »
    He doesn't need to do any of that. He has an EU passport

You're right. Must drink coffee :) Sorry, Marcelo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭eezipc

This is the rule you need to abide by if you want an Irish passport. It seems you might have everything else in order except for this one.

"[font=Arial, 'Trebuchet MS', sans-serif, Verdana]You must have had a period of 1 year's continuous [/font][font=Arial, 'Trebuchet MS', sans-serif, Verdana]reckonable residence[/font][font=Arial, 'Trebuchet MS', sans-serif, Verdana] - see below - in the island of Ireland immediately before the date of your application, and during the 4 years preceding that, have had a total reckonable residence in the island of Ireland amounting to 2 years. Altogether you must have a total of 3 years reckonable residence out of the last 5 years"[/font]

[font=Arial, 'Trebuchet MS', sans-serif, Verdana]http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving_country/irish_citizenship/becoming_an_irish_citizen_through_marriage.html[/font]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Edward Hopper

Seems like a lot of hassle changing passport again. (presumably for the third time). If you have an Italian passport you are OK already. Jason Bourne will have less passports.

eezipc wrote: »
    This is the rule you need to abide by if you want an Irish passport. It seems you might have everything else in order except for this one.

"[font=Arial, 'Trebuchet MS', sans-serif, Verdana]You must have had a period of 1 year's continuous [/font][font=Arial, 'Trebuchet MS', sans-serif, Verdana]reckonable residence[/font][font=Arial, 'Trebuchet MS', sans-serif, Verdana] - see below - in the island of Ireland immediately before the date of your application, and during the 4 years preceding that, have had a total reckonable residence in the island of Ireland amounting to 2 years. Altogether you must have a total of 3 years reckonable residence out of the last 5 years"[/font]

[font=Arial, 'Trebuchet MS', sans-serif, Verdana]http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving_country/irish_citizenship/becoming_an_irish_citizen_through_marriage.html[/font]

If only somebody had thought to post previously.

Seems like a lot of hassle changing passport again. (presumably for the third time). If you have an Italian passport you are OK already. Jason Bourne will have less passports.

No reason why he shouldn't get another passport if he wants one. Part of the citizenship process requires that you intend in good faith to live in Ireland in the future. My father, himself an immigrant to the US, insisted (and I think he was right to insist) that if you intend to be fully involved in the country of your residence, privileges and responsibilities alike, obtaining citizenship is your duty. Naturally if Marcelo does not intend to live in Ireland before or after obtaining Irish citizenship, there's no point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Edward Hopper

No reason why he shouldn't get another passport if he wants one. Part of the citizenship process requires that you intend in good faith to live in Ireland in the future. My father, himself an immigrant to the US, insisted (and I think he was right to insist) that if you intend to be fully involved in the country of your residence, privileges and responsibilities alike, obtaining citizenship is your duty.

Well I respectfully disagree, I think it's old fashioned thinking and not how the world today operates, particularly not the EU. I pay my way in this country and contribute the same as a citizen and therefore my passport should be irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Marceloruffino

Thank to all for the answers, Very helpful. I read all those rules to apply, but for some reason I thought that being married with him for all these years will count.

Xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭mickoneill31

No reason why he shouldn't get another passport if he wants one.
    The application fee is one reason :)
    My missus is Australian, we'd like to have an Irish passport for her but it's over a grand and the only difference we can see is that she could vote in elections.

Fair enough. As for me? I really would like to vote (both the privilege and the responsibility). If something happens to my husband (we're the age when we need to start seriously thinking about such things), I'd like the right to stay. I don't have any family or other ties to go back to in the US. Saving a grand over the next year or so is doable. I don't want to feel unstable in my adopted country; I don't feel safe buying a house or planning for retirement yet. I can't say, as others do, that I feel like a second-class citizen... I don't feel like a citizen at all, and I'd like to. I would like to share a nationality with my husband. And I'm old-fashioned enough to agree with my father that declaring loyalty to your country means something important, even today. So I guess it is more right for me than it is for many other people.

Well, feck. I hadn't considered the death bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭eezipc

If only somebody had thought to post previously.
    Good on ya for being better than everyone else.

There's a couple of benefits. Particularly in terms of travelling or working internationally. How easily can she move around the EU?
    Or if you get into bother overseas, its better to have two embassies to turn too.
    Good on ya for being better than everyone else.
    Good on you reading past the first post. :rolleyes:

There's a couple of benefits. Particularly in terms of travelling or working internationally. How easily can she move around the EU?

Shes Aussie so travelling is fine. I don't know about working in the EU but unless everything goes totally pear shaped in Ireland that's not something that's a major consideration for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

only difference we can see is that she could vote in elections.
    She can already vote in elections if she is resident in Ireland and an adult. Just not presidential, Dáil, or EP ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭Yoghurt87

You'd still eligible to apply if your spouse dies; in fact in that case the certification fees would drop to €200 from €950. Obviously, hopefully that won't happen, but just worth knowing to allay your fears on that count.

Yoghurt87 wrote: »
    You'd still eligible to apply if your spouse dies; in fact in that case the certification fees would drop to €200 from €950. Obviously, hopefully that won't happen, but just worth knowing to allay your fears on that count.

It's extraordinarily difficult to find the proper information online. Thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 20thCenturypox

You mean Captain David Webb?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Mod
    Old thread. Closing before any more comedians arrive