Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your most disappointing purchase

• 29-04-2016 6:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭

What were you most excited about buying only to realise was a piece of junk when you got home?

I got a pair of earphones a few days ago on the back of some really good reviews only to discover I look like a total jackass with them on and the drums dominate just about every track when listened to on them. I'm sure I've had bigger disappointments but that's the one that comes to mind right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

Fake omega planet ocean for 20 quid. Looked the part.. Was in the bin following day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

I bought a tin of Dulux "Egg Shell White" paint 2.5 years ago. Upon opening the tin I discovered, to my absolute horror, that it was no more "Egg Shell White" but more a "China Porcelain White".
    Utter devastation that has lasted to this day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

A 1982 lime green, aerated, double decked and chargrilled lawnmower. Didn't live up to the hype.
    I bought a tin of Dulux "Egg Shell White" paint 2.5 years ago. Upon opening the tin I discovered, to my absolute horror, that it was no more "Egg Shell White" but more a "China Porcelain White".
    Utter devastation that has lasted to this day.

Those paint cnuts have been getting away with it for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I bought a pair of running trousers in lidl about a year ago, went home and put them on and they were a great fit, went out for a run and could I run? Could I fuck!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I bought an election in Paraguay once.

Turns out the place is a dump though.

Hardly worth the 320 million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Airtex condoms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

An epilator. It works and all. I wanted to use it on my legs but it's so painful. I put myself under the illusion that it wouldnt hurt. It didn't look that painful on the advert and why the fcuk was the woman on the box smiling?

I still use it sometimes but I'd rather quick waxing or shaving than epilating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A mk3 maroon fiesta a horrendous deplorable piece of Sh1te that used to die a death before I reached the end of the road revving the life out of the thing with the choke out to build up power before I reached the main road

Do younger folk scream "come on come on" at their cars anymore?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Solar powered torch.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

Bought and paid for water for the past 2 years.
    What a waste. Don't think I'm entitled to a refund either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Nvidia 3D vision

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

My house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Bought one of those Electric Back Massagers that strap on to your chair in the hope of some relief from chronic back pain.

FFS....it was like going 10 rounds with a pro wrestler.Made things twice as bad.

Sold it on to some other poor fcucker with a bad back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

A cinema ticket to see "Wolf of Wall Street."

There was no wolves in the film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

Bought one of those Electric Back Massagers that strap on to your chair in the hope of some relief from chronic back pain.

FFS....it was like going 10 rounds with a pro wrestler.Made things twice as bad.

Sold it on to some other poor fcucker with a bad back.

I had one as well, yeah first 10 minutes killed me but I found if you could grit your teeth long enough it actually got a lot of knots out.

Worst thing?

The one and only car I ever bought from a garage, for years buying second hand privately, always grand. Convinced by others to go with a garage, got fuking screwed. The piece of **** cost me more in the 1 year I had it than it cost and then the ****ing engine went and died.

Sold it for scrap after I removed all the good parts I had installed. ****ing **** dealer must have been laughing his ass off as I drove away

A wedding second, seriously, dont spend that much on it, its only one poxy day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

Part of me was thinking cars should be excluded from the thread, because buying a dud car must be a f*cking misery so it'll naturally top a lot of people's lists

...but I think everyone who has experienced that probably deserves the opportunity to vent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

Ejector seat for my helicopter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Probably the tayto chocolate bar.

I had such high hopes for that. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭agent graves

The wife. Im pretty sure shes broken

Lukaku a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭well spoken man

A fleshlight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I got a candy floss machine for my birthday when I was much younger, it was my only present. Turned out it never actually worked.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

A horse that turned out to be chronically lame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

A completely unreliable Canyonero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

osarusan wrote: »
    A completely unreliable Canyonero.

Unexplained fires are a matter for the courts..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭rodge68

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Solar powered torch.
    Did that too !! What I was thinking ? That County Clare had moved to Southern California or something !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Most recently a pair of Trespass hiking boots online I think less than half price (€34.95?). I wore them for 1 hour per day for possibly 2 months then walking along the beach with the dog and the soles start doing Daffy Duck impressions. I tried superglue but they just fell to pieces. 2 year guarantee but f**k it I can't be arsed boxing them up and sending them back to the UK so they went in the wheelie bin. Have a pair of €21.99 Aldi ones now and are holding well even when wading through a stream most days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭rodge68

My house.[/quote
    Same as, and an engagement ring and a wedding !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

E-voting machines. Cost a fortune, never used, then cost a fortune again in storage costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Chickarooney

A spiralizer.

A ****ing spiralizer.

Part of me was thinking cars should be excluded from the thread, because buying a dud car must be a f*cking misery so it'll naturally top a lot of people's lists

...but I think everyone who has experienced that probably deserves the opportunity to vent

I wont lie, it felt good, its been brewing inside for a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Ralph Lauren boxer shorts size L. You'd fit two of me into them. On the upside I know now what classic fit and custom fit means. Classic fit is American L and custom fit is normal L. You learn something new every day.

Maybe I should clarify. My most disappointing recent purchase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

A tablet. I really didnt need it. It is just a glorified phone and I would use my laptop for anything substantial.

You cant use a laptop to do impressions of Picard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Bought 3 x 10 euro scratch cards cos it said on the back that 1 in 3 wins .
    So disappointed they were all losers

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

20Cent wrote: »
    Ejector seat for my helicopter.
    Should have got a KA-52

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Debbie, didn't take get home but she was the very definition of you get what you pay for. Last time I go shopping on Leeson street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

A foot spa for the ma.....thought she would love it......15 years later i.e. today I saw it in a cobwebby box under her stairs :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

I bought a VR headset thinking it would be amazing.
    Pile of shyte.
    Porn is good craic tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Playstation 4.

An absolute waste, feck all difference from the PS3.