Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It may seem like a dumb question but....

• 29-04-2016 3:56pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭

let's say my mobile phone is out of charge and I need to use it urgently, then can I use one of those publicly available defibrillators to try and get it going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Yes. Yes you can. Give it a go and come back and tell us what percentage you got a charge to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

You're right, it was a dumb question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Have you not tried the microwave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Why would you bother when you can just carry around a lemon and a knife?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=E-j8mPUDjRs

Be careful though because you might get done for carrying a weapon. But just explain that you aren't going to throw the lemon at anyone or squeeze the juice in people's eyes and you should be grand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Yes. Yes you can. Give it a go and come back and tell us what percentage you got a charge to.

cool beans - will have a crack off the yoke if I can figure out how it works

At 4% at the moment and have a ton of apps on this thing so if this isn't an emergency I don't know what is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

You will need to hold a piece of metal at the same time to achieve maximum charge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

yes, that's what they are really there for

life saving situations ... like your phone being out of battery

never mind the people dying, they're probably fakers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

No you can't used an AED but you could rub a balloon against it while laying it on a carpet to charge it via the static charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

donfers wrote: »
    let's say my mobile phone is out of charge and I need to use it urgently, then can I use one of those publicly available defibrillators to try and get it going?

Yes. Yes you can.

Please ask someone else to film it while you're doing it though.
    Everyone needs to see your kind of special.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 541 ✭✭✭poa

Still haven't charged my old skool Nokia 3210 after 2 weeks.
    Apps? No thanks.
    I would rather have a dumb phone that I don't need to charge daily/twice daily thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

have you tried turning it off & back on again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

poa wrote: »
    Apps? No thanks.
    I would rather have a dumb phone that I don't need to charge daily/twice daily thanks.

I haven't charged mine in 48 years mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

If that fails, flag down the Gardai or an ambulance and tell them to plug it into the cigarette lighter. Should be grand

poa wrote: »
    Apps? No thanks.

Yep. We know the real reason from the other thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭elstingeo

No you cannot. A public defibrillator is for those who have experienced cardiac arrest. They are not toys. You may use a phone box if your call is urgent. If you unpack one an alarm may go out to alert others to it being used or it may not. Also the device speaks to the user telling them how to use it. I know you're joking. But if you have ever had to use one in real life in a person then you'd never want to joke about it again..

They represent a lifeline between the user and ambulance to preserve the life of the patient. Not an alternative charger for a mobile phone.. Go into penny's or argos and buy a portable charging block for your phone for future use..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

elstingeo wrote: »
    No you cannot. A public defibrillator is for those who have experienced cardiac arrest. They are not toys. You may use a phone box if your call is urgent. If you unpack one an alarm may go out to alert others to it being used or it may not. Also the device speaks to the user telling them how to use it. I know you're joking. But if you have ever had to use one in real life in a person then you'd never want to joke about it again..

They represent a lifeline between the user and ambulance to preserve the life of the patient. Not an alternative charger for a mobile phone.. Go into penny's or argos and buy a portable charging block for your phone for future use..

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

......... Not an alternative charger for a mobile phone.. ...............

sure why else would they put a USB port on them ?

http://i.imgur.com/tdwyEs2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

Would it be ok to use it to try and restart a sense of humour that has flatlined ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

A quicker method is to get a piece of coat hanger and jam it into the headphone jack port and the other end into the right hand hole on a socket and switch the socket on. You only need a few seconds so be ready to switch the socket off after 2 to 3 seconds max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

A quicker method is to get a piece of coat hanger and jam it into the headphone jack port and the other end into the right hand hole on a socket and switch the socket on. You only need a few seconds so be ready to switch the socket off after 2 to 3 seconds max.

Be careful. I once decided to throw out some insane advice to a fella for the craic, to see if he'd follow it. He'd been using a wooden stick to measure how much kerosene was left in his tank at home when he dropped it, and the stick fell into the oil.

I said to him it wouldn't do any harm, but if he did wanna get it back quickly then he should fill up the tank with water using the garden hosepipe, and the stick would float up to the top & he could grab it.

So he did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

Be careful. I once decided to throw out some insane advice to a fella for the craic, to see if he'd follow it. He'd been using a wooden stick to measure how much kerosene was left in his tank at home when he dropped it, and the stick fell into the oil.

I said to him it wouldn't do any harm, but if he did wanna get it back quickly then he should fill up the tank with water using the garden hosepipe, and the stick would float up to the top & he could grab it.

So he did.

is this person still alive and have children? there goes the theory of evolution :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Captain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Buzzkill

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,288 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

You could use an OTG cable to get a jump start from someone else's mobile.