Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Asking a Speed Van to move

• 27-04-2016 5:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭

Going down through Harold's Cross last night and there was a Go Safe van parked at Mount Argus. He was parked long ways (taking up 2 spaces - might be pay and display?)

There were no other spaces available....All the other ones were taken. Would I have been within my rights to ask him to move if I wanted to park there?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,246 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Non emergency services vehicle parked in a manner that manner that inconveniences others?
    I'm sure that you would have been within your rights to ask.
    Ignoring the fact that they probably would not have opened the door to you 9for safety reasons), I doubt that they would have responded to your request.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

kbannon wrote: »
    Non emergency services vehicle parked in a manner that manner that inconveniences others?
    I'm sure that you would have been within your rights to ask.
    Ignoring the fact that they probably would not have opened the door to you 9for safety reasons), I doubt that they would have responded to your request.

What if I parked tight to his back door thus blocking his view with the camera?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭alta stare

He would of called the cops and have them move you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

alta stare wrote: »
    He would of called the cops and have them move you.

If OP parked in place where parking is not illegal, then cops wouldn't really have any grounds for moving him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,014 ✭✭✭Allinall

CiniO wrote: »
    If OP parked in place where parking is not illegal, then cops wouldn't really have any grounds for moving him.

The cops can ask you to move at any time.

You don't have to be parked illegally or doing anything wrong.

You'll be in trouble if you refuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Allinall wrote: »

I unknowingly parked behind a Gardai gatso van years ago and got a good bollocking from a ban Garda..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

I always thought that if you start shouting "freeman of the state" and "peaceful protest" at the top of your voice you can pretty much do as you please :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

Truckermal wrote: »
    I got a good bollocking from a ban Garda..

Nice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

mfceiling wrote: »
    Going down through Harold's Cross last night and there was a Go Safe van parked at Mount Argus. He was parked long ways (taking up 2 spaces - might be pay and display?)

There were no other spaces available....All the other ones were taken. Would I have been within my rights to ask him to move if I wanted to park there?

In future if you could ask them to move into the sea that would be great.

I'm sure if he was blocking the view of the van then he would be asked to move.

I see them parking there regularly and they always take up 2 spaces. I wonder would they respond to an email complaint or am I wasting my time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

in the picturesque village of galbally in co limerick a go safe van found an ideal spot, for them that is, the cars came down a hill then there was a climb as one approached the village, in the middle of the clilb there is a 50k sign, one had to brake going down the hill then speed up to climb the hill entering the village, there were many many folks caught, some fast drivers, sone careless drivers, some carefull drivers, it then started to park at mass times, the usual late and rushing for mass folk got done, the old folk got done going to mass getting the paper, milk bread etc, then out of nowhere a couple of silage bales were put where the gosafe van parked, this happened last october, there is still one bale in position, so no more go safe van, no interference by the cops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I see them parking there regularly and they always take up 2 spaces. I wonder would they respond to an email complaint or am I wasting my time?

Report it to the council, something impacting their revenue will get action. It's also an offence not to park correctly so technically you can report for that, to whom is the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

Take a picture of it and post it up here, That would be a good start.

Get it picked up by broadsheet and joe.ie. Tweet it to the gardai.

The embarrassment of it might get them to issue a bulletin to the contractors to stop parking like cnuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Can someone tell me exactly where they are parking in Harolds Cross?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

alta stare wrote: »
    I'm sure if he was blocking the view of the van then he would be asked to move.

I am really surprised that you say that garda has such entitlements - to tell people to move their correctly parked cars.

I'll look up further if that's actually true, as I strongly doubt it.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Can someone tell me exactly where they are parking in Harolds Cross?

The on street parking at the entrance to Mount Argus, just before Flanagan's funeral home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,014 ✭✭✭Allinall

I am really surprised that you say that garda has such entitlements - to tell people to move their correctly parked cars.

Your correctly parked car could be blocking a wide load; could be obstructing necessary council works; could be parked where the guards need to place a vehicle for surveillance .

It doesn't matter what the reason is. If they ask you to move, you must comply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

What if I parked tight to his back door thus blocking his view with the camera?
    Truckermal wrote: »
    I unknowingly parked behind a Gardai gatso van years ago and got a good bollocking from a ban Garda..

What age are you guys??
    COP ON

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

antodeco wrote: »
    The on street parking at the entrance to Mount Argus, just before Flanagan's funeral home.

It's a subliminal "You're dead, pal" message.

Not your ornery onager

I didn't say a Guard has such entitlements I said he would be asked to move. The Guard would probably ask him regardless of his entitlement or not. If the OP knows he doesn't have to move then it is HIS entitlement to stay put.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Well the 'go safe' lads are collecting for the state and the garda are enforcers of these collection processes. So they would have told you to hump off.

antodeco wrote: »

Blooming heck never seen them there and 2 years in the area. Although I've never managed to get any speed up there but good to know there is a reason not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

They seem to work very well though :
    The results of speed surveys show in the two years from January 2011 to January 2013, compliance with the posted speed limit has increased:-

· in 50 km/h zones from 62% to 93% compliance,
    · in 60 km/h zones from 78% to 91% compliance,
    · in 80 km/h zones from 89% to 97% compliance,
    · in 100 km/h zones from 96% to 99% compliance.

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=10887

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

gctest50 wrote: »
    They seem to work very well though :
    If this is in areas where the van is parked, the majority of people who travel a certain road frequently know where the van is placed, and simply slow down for the zone where the van is and then speed up.

My village is not a speed van zone/doesn't have regular speed checks and 90%+ of people speed through it.

What age are you guys??
    COP ON

I'm 41.

So you're happy enough with people parking longways now and taking up 2 car park spaces?

If you ask him to move, and he says no, and you call the guards..

or..

If you park tight behind him and he can't view the road, and he asks you to move, and you say no, so he calls the guards..

The result is the same. The Gardai will say it's not a criminal matter, have a bit of common sense, and stop wasting their time.

However! And this is where it gets to the important stuff: If you ask him to move, and he roundhouse kicks you so hard, that you fly up the road and end up getting a speeding ticket as a result, you may have grounds to ring the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

You could always call the clampers. He's parked illegally!

marno21 wrote: »
    If this is in areas where the van is parked, the majority of people who travel a certain road frequently know where the van is placed, and simply slow down for the zone where the van is and then speed up.

My village is not a speed van zone/doesn't have regular speed checks and 90%+ of people speed through it.

Average speed cameras are getting popular elsewhere, kind-of solves that a bit :

Pictured : VECTOR speed camera location sited on the A394, Trewennack in Cornwall. Two VECTOR cameras are mounted at either end of the village to help enforce a 30mph speed limit throughout the village.

EhhZWOF.jpg

Whats our Vector Victor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

I'd have clamped him.

And don't call me Shirley.

You could always call the clampers. He's parked illegally!

Bugger! Beaten too it.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

gctest50 wrote: »
    Average speed cameras are getting popular elsewhere, kind-of solves that a bit :
    None in Ireland yet though (as of yet)

marno21 wrote: »
    None in Ireland yet though (as of yet)

Can you still defeat them by changing lanes? Finally people might start moving the feck over!

They hose the place with the new ones :
    New average-speed cameras are raking in almost £100,000 per month from drivers on one of the capital’s busiest roads.

The “cheat-proof” traps were placed at 32 sites on an 11-mile stretch of the A40 in west London.

http://www.standard.co.uk/news/london/westway-speed-trap-nets-100000-a-month-on-11mile-stretch-of-road-a3162776.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭lway

You could always park behind them, open the boot and go to the pub like this guy in England http://imgur.com/BdqnylH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

lway wrote: »
    You could always park behind them, open the boot and go to the pub like this guy in England http://imgur.com/BdqnylH

Nice idea and nice car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

I'm 41.

So you're happy enough with people parking longways now and taking up 2 car park spaces?

I'm only unhappy with speeders, law breakers, car thieves, muggers, drug dealers, home invaders, people who intimidate elderly/quiet/innocent people etc etc......
    I'm certainly not going to get angry or offensive towards speed vans, Gardaí etc etc. People like you DO NOT make their job any easier...
    Anyway I'm not getting at you.. It just annoys me when a post like the op comes up and then I read all these negative posts against the 'law'. Just leave it out we've enough toe rags in this Country without the 'General Population' getting annoyed and boisterous over a bloody speed van parked perpendicular/upside/inside out to the road :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

I'm only unhappy with speeders, law breakers, car thieves, muggers, drug dealers, home invaders, people who intimidate elderly/quiet/innocent people etc etc......
    I'm certainly not going to get angry or offensive towards speed vans, Gardaí etc etc. People like you DO NOT make their job any easier...
    Anyway I'm not getting at you.. It just annoys me when a post like the op comes up and then I read all these negative posts against the 'law'. Just leave it out we've enough toe rags in this Country without the 'General Population' getting annoyed and boisterous over a bloody speed van parked perpendicular/upside/inside out to the road :mad:

I guess if you have been a victim of one of the many and commonplace crimes you listed above and had first hand experience with the lack of enthusiasm the law has with their detection and prevention, you might better understand the apparent frustration the OP has with the vehemence of the enforcement of arguably minor road traffic infractions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

it's way off topic I suppose but I can't understand why the Plod get attacked when it's Government who starve them of resources.

Who wouldn't support more resources being put into Law and Order so that they would be able to pursue these "minor" offences more vigourously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭BarryM

I guess if you have been a victim of one of the many and commonplace crimes you listed above and had first hand experience with the lack of enthusiasm the law has with their detection and prevention, you might better understand the apparent frustration the OP has with the vehemence of the enforcement of arguably minor road traffic infractions.

I don't disagree with the sentiments, especially suggested "anti" posts such as how to get around taxing mixed use yokes as working vehicles. OTOH, guards throwing their weight around.... Plenty of experience here, they used to ask, now they tell you.

Well I just had my moment of civil disobedience. Spotted the van parked up at the entrance to Mount Argus so I walked back around a corner and decided I'd warn people it was there.

Stupid? Probably

Fun? Certainly