Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car and trailer allowed on dual carriagway?

• 26-04-2016 1:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭

we intend bringing a bull from kildare to limerick this week, and were goin to be using the dual carriageway but someone told me a car and trailer carrying a bull is not allowed on d dual carriageway, can anyone confirm this?
    would much prefer to go on the dual carriageway as opposed to back roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,724 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

No problem providing your road legal and appropriate liscence to pull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Dual carriageways don't have any specific restrictions that don't also apply to 'normal' roads. Motorways do have some restrictions, your vehicle must be capable of driving at least 50kph, and must be capable of at least 90kph to use the outside lane. Since trailers are generally restricted to 80kph this means you should be allowed on the motorway, but you can't use the outside lane.

There may be other issues related to ensuring the livestock remains secure during transport, but this applies no matter what road you are using.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Henwin

thanks lads, earlier i rang 2 garda stations, one guard had said there was no issue with cars and trailers on motorways and said sur there are horses constantly being taken on motorways to race meetings and once u have a licience and a roadworthy trailer you can go ahead.
    But when i rang another garda station the guard said that no agricultural animal is allowed be transported on a motorway, if there was an accident there would be carnage with a bull running against traffic travelling at 100 m/p/h and we would be at fault.
    so now im confused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Henwin wrote: »
    thanks lads, earlier i rang 2 garda stations, one guard had said there was no issue with cars and trailers on motorways and said sur there are horses constantly being taken on motorways to race meetings and once u have a licience and a roadworthy trailer you can go ahead.
    But when i rang another garda station the guard said that no agricultural animal is allowed be transported on a motorway, if there was an accident there would be carnage with a bull running against traffic travelling at 100 m/p/h and we would be at fault.
    so now im confused

Not sure why you'd ring two, unless the first gave you an answer you didn't like. That said, the garda won't know every detail of every law of the land, you might be better off contacting the garda traffic corps for further clarification.

You may also find useful information from the Department of Agriculture

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

so now im confused

I'd never worry about a summons, but i would make sure my insurance covered it. Drive on, you'd be in more danger on the minor roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,724 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

When I was buying caravan I found the guards very little help regarding towing regs when I ring the local station.

I found the information myself from RSA, printed a copy and kept in pocket of jeep for fear of being stopped by poorly informed guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Grueller

I have drove the length of the M11 and M50 and on to Newry with the jeep and box delivering stock. Have the appropriate licence and everything would be roadworthy. Drive on I'd say.
    The motorway restrictions are on a sign at the start of the M11 outside Camolin and I never saw livestock haulage listed as a restriction on it.
    That garda that said about the accident must be a dope. What about all the hazchem lorries on the motorway? Surely an accident with one of them would be carnage too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Livestock aren't allowed to be driven on the motorway but that's only in the same way that people can't go for a walk on the motorway.
    Haulage of livestock in a trailer is different.

The odds of a sequence of events happening where you're involved in an accident on one of the safest roads in the country which then damages the trailer so badly it opens in some way so the bull can escape while at the same time the bull is in good enough shape to run around having not had a seat belt on would have to be fairly slim. I think if the bull then caused any further which wouldn't have occurred if you'd only had a tonne of teddy bears in the trailer it would have to be called an act of god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Justjens

if there was an accident there would be carnage with a bull running against traffic travelling at 100 m/p/h and we would be at fault.
    so now im confused

Can't imagine that would be much worse than a horse doing the same thing.

Haulier takes a double from Limerick to Kildare most days, I've hauled loads of weanlings, belt away....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,224 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Tie the bull in the trailer, that way in the unlikely event of an accident, he is going nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

that second guard was just being an obnoxious ...t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

so now im confused

That's a hell of a bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,224 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

galljga1 wrote: »
    That's a hell of a bull.
    we had a heifer on the motorway a few years ago, I know your post is joking but it takes a good while for cars to slow down from the guts of 100 mph. Scary stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

whelan2 wrote: »
    we had a heifer on the motorway a few years ago, I know your post is joking but it takes a good while for cars to slow down from the guts of 100 mph. Scary stuff
    Witnessed a pbr 16mth old bull escaping from Naas mart onto the dual carriageway many years ago.