Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spraying silage fields - recommendations

• 24-04-2016 11:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21

There isn't much of any weed in the silage field, pretty clear, but will still put out some spray.
    Any recommendations of what type to put out to prevent weed breakout for May?

Also, a neighbor recommended to avoid spraying when there is frost at night & lack of growth. Do you agree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

curioush wrote: »
    There isn't much of any weed in the silage field, pretty clear, but will still put out some spray.

Also, a neighbor recommended to avoid spraying when there is frost at night & lack of growth. Do you agree?

Why spray if no weeds?

Neighbor is correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 curioush

Prevention. The father passed away recently & he sprayed them no matter what. Not sure what he put out. The resulting silage is pretty good this year as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Prevention. The father passed away recently & he sprayed them no matter what. Not sure what he put out. The resulting silage is pretty good this year as well.

If you have weeds, then spray. If not then don't.
    Lots of weeds like redshank (etc) will die when cut...
    If targeting docks then that's different.

Thanks. Any recommendation for docks? 17 acre field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

I use Hi load Mircam, it's does a grand job for me and is the most cost effective spray I can find. There's plenty of other sprays out there but most of them would cost you an arm and a leg if your covering any decent amount of ground.

Your neighbour is right, the weed needs to be growing in order to take in the spray. You should avoid spraying in any excess temperature. Hot or cold. A dead early morning or evening is best. I always spray in the evening time myself.

Maybe you should Consider leaving one field or a part of a field as a control. That way you can see what weeds develop. You might be spraying for the sake it. And That's an expensive way to pass your time.

Passing the time isn't the case. If it's not necessary..I won't do it. Just inexperienced in spraying.

Sure isn't that what I'm sayin to you.
    It sounds like your old man has eradicated most problem weeds but as always they'll be back in time. It'll save your pocket abit if you can avoid it or cut down to where your spraying each field every few years unless you get an infestation in the meantime. If you could avoid spraying them for now and have a look at um about a month before cutting, if you need to spray then that will be your last chance to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 casualguy

I'm located in the Cork area. Is there anyone spraying this week in the southern area?
    The temperatures are supposed to be low this week at night, possible frost.
    Was thinking of postponing till next Monday, which is 4 weeks from the first cut is scheduled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭satstheway

Is Hi load Mircam any good for chickweed.
    What price is it. Magenta has it but an I get it cheaper. Nobody in north Donegal seams to stock it.

satstheway wrote: »
    Is Hi load Mircam any good for chickweed.
    What price is it. Magenta has it but an I get it cheaper. Nobody in north Donegal seams to stock it.

It's listed for chickweed anyway. I think it's around 90 quid a bottle, and that'll do 10 acres (off the top of my head).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    It's listed for chickweed anyway. I think it's around 90 quid a bottle, and that'll do 10 acres (off the top of my head).

How soon after final fert application would you spray the silage field? And would it knock it back much?

It will check growth abit alright but nothing serious. I would normally wait about a week after fertilizer depending on the weather, so long as there's growth there and enough leaf on the weeds your grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Quick question, like the OP i have silage ground to spray for docks, fert is out about 2 weeks and today the weather is giving me a chance to spray, bit of frost last night and possibly tonight so not sure if i should go ahead today or not?

What would ye recommend for docks in silage ground?
    Does my sprayer need to be tested, it's ~3 years old bought brand new only used twice or does that not come in until November this year?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Quick question, like the OP i have silage ground to spray for docks, fert is out about 2 weeks and today the weather is giving me a chance to spray, bit of frost last night and possibly tonight so not sure if i should go ahead today or not?

What would ye recommend for docks in silage ground?
    Does my sprayer need to be tested, it's ~3 years old bought brand new only used twice or does that not come in until November this year?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

You can test now to ensure correct application, but from November next it is a requirement to have a current certificate for your sprayer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Rushy Fields

I have dockstar pro in shed. Was going to go spot spraying docks but it said on lable not to be used with knapsack sprayer...... anyone know why or should I carry on with napsack? 100ml per 15ltr would that be the correct ratio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,208 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Sowed the meadows at the weekend with intention of cutting end of May.
    We have a Nettle, dock & thistle problem where I'd like to spray with High load Mircam, weather permitting
    When would be a good to spray?

We have a Nettle, dock & thistle problem where I'd like to spray with High load Mircam, weather permitting

I'd normally spray about a month before I'd plan on cutting. Earlier if the weeds are established and growing. Getting the weather to do it might be a bigger problem but hopefully not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭I says

Have fert out a week and the fields are infested with docks will be hit as soon as possible with doxstar pro.

I says wrote: »
    Have fert out a week and the fields are infested with docks will be hit as soon as possible with doxstar pro.

Expensive stuff if you've a bit of ground to cover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Yes but does a proper job, you'll notice it come silage time, more grass and less waste in the pit.

A good sprayer and mark out the runs well. I use the white fencing poles and pace them out at the head lands, no tram lines in paddocks 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭I says

Place is infested has to be spent eagle did f all only check them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,208 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

I says wrote: »
    Place is infested has to be spent eagle did f all only check them

Would doxstar be much better than hi load
    Lads round here swearing by hi load

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

All your doing is controlling them. I see nothing wrong with Hi load. It wilts them back and grass will take over. You will have nothing coming in in the silage. You could do anytime now once the weather takes up and ground conditions allow. Weeds have really got a foot hold this year - no competition with the poor grass growth