Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adamstown to Inchicore - canal route

• 23-04-2016 8:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭

Was wondering if anyone used this route regularly, how it rides surface wise and is it a good straight hassle free track?

Thanks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,139 ✭✭✭buffalo

I've done from the 9th lock to Kilmainham/Inchicore a few Thursday evenings - the part below. Never encountered any issues - passed a couple of rough lads once or twice, but never any trouble.

https://goo.gl/maps/Sm8Xv6PQSzT2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I do it all the time. Gates are a pain, there's about 8/9 and you need to watch out for the odd bit of glass but other than that it's grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭jober

I use this route regurly , it's a lovely peacefull route in the mornings, nice to get away from all the traffic.

99% of the time it's fine in the evenings . On sunny days ye come across a few the local muppets having a few cans. Actually had a lad try to pee on me once.he was going up against the wall and thought it would be funny to aim at me. He changed he tune tho when I stopped and told him if it landed any where near me or the bike I'd smash his head in.. I'm not usually a violent person but I draw the line of been wizzed on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

It is great. I'm a big fan of it.

And you don't have to dismount at the gates with a standard bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭van_beano

I use it a lot to get to Dublin 2 area. There can be a lot of broken glass but as long as you've got decent tyres you'll be grand. You'll face the occasional eejit and sometimes a tied up horse grazing (mind when crossing over the rope). Again nothing too serious, a safer route than using the main road.

There was intermediate closers on it last year due to ESB works digging up the place so one could appreciate the route compared with being diverted onto normal routes.

The gates are handy enough to manage once you get used to them.

Going west on it ie towards Adamtown you will 99.99% of the time be cycle into a stiff westerly wind!