Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New TG4 Mini series about Easter Rising

• 22-04-2016 8:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭

Just saw an ad for this, Éirí Amach Amú "Wrecking the Rising" on this Weekend over 3 nights, looks interesting, the Easter rising with a twist.

Peter Coonan one of the stars, pretty handy with the cupla focal so it seems!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WjHnFE0PJDo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

could be fun, they actually built a life size replica of the front of the GPO at Galway Airport for filming!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 footcandles

final episode is on tonight at 9.30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

If anyone has watched this can I ask what is this about? I mean I read that it's a time travel story but I'd like to know a basic summary of what goes on as if it's interesting I might check out a repeat.

3 modern day re enactors who have kinda sad lives find a box with a key that transports them back to 1916. the day the rising is due to start. first thing they do is run into a major player and feck it all up. so one of the re enactors has to head to the GPO and assume a role while they other two try not to mess things up too much. Peter Coonan is great in it as are the other two. Michael Collins is basically Roy Keane in a soldiers uniform. Its an interesting take on the whole thing with a good few laughs thrown in. It has got budget limitations but for all that it pulls it off. Its surprising it hasn't been promoted more as the reviews are really good. Pat Stacey in todays herald says its a winner. Ep1 was the weakest. But last nights really picked up. and Ep 3 is by all accounts the best and thats on in half an hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Very enjoyable. Its creative and entertaining. Its not original in the sense of the plot devices used but very bold for an irish production and it works. Its clearly meant to be fun and that's what I liked.

Credit to TG4 for taking on something so off the wall. its been a great month of celebrations and reflection. nice to see a channel take a chance on something so different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,497 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I thought this was brillant. A strange mix of comedy, pathos,science-fiction, social commentary and insightfulness. Light years ahead of RTE's "rebellion" drama.
    I would go as far to say it was one of the best series I have seen. It was similar to the British TV series "Goodnight Sweetheart" that starred Nicholas Lyndhurst . Except this had an Irish slant.
    There was one major pothole though. The lads from 2016 removed the key from the postbox in 1916. This meant they would never have found it in 2016. So they would have to travel back in time again, and start everything a second time? It would be a time loop!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

It was excellent. Seems like no one saw it but I guess not many watch TG4. ep 1 was weak but once they went back in time it really took off. And the last episode was full of energy and humour. The acting was quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Tzar Chasm

Overall it was excellent, although it took a while to get going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭aziz

Fair play to TG4 for putting on a great programme but I hope it get repeated on rte as it deserves a higher viewership as I think a lot of people did not know it was on

its odd that they started it on saturday night. seems like the perfect thing to watch midweek. I know its 100 years and all that but still. I saw almost no promo for it. no one I spoke to knew it was on. and it was a great show. hope they do repeat it on RTE or something, though its TG4 so probably not the way they work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭lertsnim

aziz wrote: »
    Fair play to TG4 for putting on a great programme but I hope it get repeated on rte as it deserves a higher viewership as I think a lot of people did not know it was on

Has RTÉ repeated TG4 programming before? They are separate after all.

The bit that annoys me is that TG4 do not have the same budget as RTE yet they manage to think up better ideas. The programmes always seem to have better production standards as well.
    I am not surprised TG4 made another better programme then RTE. They recently proved that with documentaries on people involved in the rising.
    At this stage I would be shocked if RTE thought up a better programme then TG4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

lertsnim wrote: »
    Has RTÉ repeated TG4 programming before? They are separate after all.

Yeah, they have a reciprocal deal where RTE can show a certain amount of TG4 stuff and TG4 show some RTE stuff.

IIRC Scannal was shown on TG4 after first airing on RTE, and I've seen stuff like Mobs Mheiriceá (a TG4 documentary series about Irish American mobsters) on RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

The bit that annoys me is that TG4 do not have the same budget as RTE yet they manage to think up better ideas. The programmes always seem to have better production standards as well.
    I am not surprised TG4 made another better programme then RTE. They recently proved that with documentaries on people involved in the rising.
    At this stage I would be shocked if RTE thought up a better programme then TG4.

They don't actually think up the ideas, in most cases. TG4 don't produce very much of their own content - the vast majority is made by independent production companies. The indies pitch their projects to TG4, who decide to commission or not.

The same production companies will be pitching stuff to RTE, more than likely. It's just much more difficult to get stuff commissioned by RTE, particularly if you haven't done a lot of stuff for them before. They're far less likely to take a risk on something new and innovative. That's partly because they have to achieve bigger audience figures (TG4 gets away with a lot because they're a niche channel, and they exploit that to maximum benefit), but also because they tend to stick with who and what they know.

It's a really tough business, particularly if you're an independent production company that is entirely dependent on the whim of commissioning editors :(

maudgonner wrote: »
    They don't actually think up the ideas, in most cases. TG4 don't produce very much of their own content - the vast majority is made by independent production companies. The indies pitch their projects to TG4, who decide to commission or not.

The same production companies will be pitching stuff to RTE, more than likely. It's just much more difficult to get stuff commissioned by RTE, particularly if you haven't done a lot of stuff for them before. They're far less likely to take a risk on something new and innovative. That's partly because they have to achieve bigger audience figures (TG4 gets away with a lot because they're a niche channel, and they exploit that to maximum benefit), but also because they tend to stick with who and what they know.

It's a really tough business, particularly if you're an independent production company that is entirely dependent on the whim of commissioning editors :(

Well if wrecking the rising is what they know then they are on the right track. RTE could do with and learn from some of the decision making and talent that goes into TG4 output. Saw some of the Klondike thing too last year and it was a very confident production. Fair play to TG4. long may it continue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Pound for pound and given its limited budget, TG4 is the best channel on Irish TV imo and that includes RTE1, RTE2, TV3, UTV and possibly BBC too.

The thing with RTE (Montrose) is you don't have to be talented to get in the door, certainly not as a presenter. You just have to know the right people for the most part or be related to someone. This immediately limits its creativity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭RentDayBlues

Just finished watching it, thought it was well done and didn't take itself too seriously. Really enjoyed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Just finished watching it, thought it was well done and didn't take itself too seriously. Really enjoyed it

Is it online? I I didn't realise this was in last week :-(

Yeah you can watch it online on the tg4 player.