Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Please note that it is not permitted to have referral links posted in your signature. Keep these links contained in the appropriate forum. Thank you.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2055940817/signature-rules

Mazda MX5

Options
  • 20-04-2016 4:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭

I dunno why but I've a little soft spot for these. Is it worth looking at an old one for a project? Is it possible for a complete beginner to read up and fix one of these?

I've only had the full licence just over 2 years - named experiance on the wife's policy will I be crucified on insurance?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 4,230 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Best bet would be an early 90's one and get herself to insure it on a classic policy with the likes of Autoline. Then get you down as a named driver. If you're both over 30 this shouldn't be difficult, if between 25/30 it will limit the Insurers willing to take you on.
    Last year I had a '76 mini insured (Autoline) for €165 and added an MX5 for €18, so it is doable. TBH I think it was because the Mini was down 1st, and the Mazda added on that worked in my favour.
    A lot of guys I meet seem to be paying around the €260/€280 mark to insure one on a classic policy (with a main car insured separately).

Other than that do a google search for the main rust areas,etc. A pre '94 model will have an easier NCT emissions test. And a bonus is they are a non-interference engine, so if a timing belt snaps it's not a major concern.