Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3 day old calf won't suck

• 16-04-2016 2:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭

I have a pure bred Charolais calf, he hasn't sucked the mother yet.

He has no reflex even when you put an artificial tit is his mouth or even your fingers.

We have been force feeding and stomach tubing him continuously, we have tried brown sugar, white sugar still nothing.

He not sick or doesn't have any scour, just plain ignorant.

If any of ye farmers have come across this, please let me know tis getting very frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭raypallas

Ring your local vets office and they will give ya an injection for him. Worked for us a few times. Hope this helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

raypallas wrote: »
    Ring your local vets office and they will give ya an injection for him. Worked for us a few times. Hope this helps

Mederantil is the sucking injection. It works exactly 15 mins after you give it so be ready with everything for him. Make sure he's good and hungry too, not sure what you're doing with the sugar but try honey on the tit, whelan gave that tip here before and it seems to work well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭loopyloulilly

Thanks Kovu. I'll try these two remedies.

I was told by another farmer to dip the tit in sugar to start him sucking.

Thanks Kovu. I'll try these two remedies.

I was told by another farmer to dip the tit in sugar to start him sucking.

Ah it's the same as the honey so, wouldbe easier to dip the tit in honey but whatever is sweet and to hand will work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,209 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Kovu wrote: »
    Ah it's the same as the honey so, wouldbe easier to dip the tit in honey but whatever is sweet and to hand will work.
    Honey or chocolate, injection from vet . Think the injection makes something click in the brain, its like a switch being put on- works most of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Never tried the injection here, but I know a big bottle of patience always works for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,273 ✭✭✭orm0nd

our vets don't stock the injection any more

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Other than pure a death wish on his part, two things to consider are:

Was he stressed during the calving? Long time in the barrel with cow not straining, tough calving etc, i.e. consider acidosis as cause of dopiness.

Has he any breathing problems? Sore ribs, fluid on lungs etc. Might need antibiotics or pain-killers.

If sugar doesn't work, try rubbing salt on his tongue.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

Tried the honey there, still no giving in.

Dad gave the sucking injection a few days ago.
    He is a pretty huge calf, he was a tight pull alright. He will go to the cow's udder and bang his head off her tits but won't put his tongue out or try to suck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 EJ88

Tried the honey there, still no giving in.

Dad gave the sucking injection a few days ago.
    He is a pretty huge calf, he was a tight pull alright. He will go to the cow's udder and bang his head off her tits but won't put his tongue out or try to suck.

We'd the same problem with a LM Bull calf. Another big dopey fella. Persistence finally won.

Hunger too probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Never tried the injection here, but I know a big bottle of patience always works for me.

Very true, he's only three days old, it's early days yet for a big bull calf after a hard calving. He'll come right yet I'd say. I'd hate to have purebred CH cattle from the point of view of how bloody dopey and lazy their calves can be after calving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Lizard_Moon

Mederantil is the sucking injection. It works exactly 15 mins after you give it so be ready with everything for him. Make sure he's good and hungry too, not sure what you're doing with the sugar but try honey on the tit, whelan gave that tip here before and it seems to work well.

Medarantil no longer being made according to rep.
    Vets are using up last remaining stocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,209 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Any improvement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

Only learned last year, you can't stomach tube milk after 24 hrs from birth.
    After that time it sits in the wrong stomach and ferments.
    Stomach tubing water is ok though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Had a charolais calf here. Tough calving he was weak and a big dopey calf. His tongue was swollen. He would head butt the udder. I spent 4 days helping him suck 3 times a day. He couldn't manage to hold the teat in his mouth and suck at the same time. So had to keep putting the teat back in over and over again. Anyways after the forth day he was getting the hang of it. Time and patience and alot of cursing.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Any improvement?
    We have him, he sucked one quarter last night.

The honey worked!

Thanks lads. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

dar31 wrote: »
    Only learned last year, you can't stomach tube milk after 24 hrs from birth.
    After that time it sits in the wrong stomach and ferments.
    Stomach tubing water is ok though

Is this right? I stomach tubed a calf once, that I resuscitated and was brain damaged for a full week till he came right.

No i'm pretty sure it's not. It's not recommended to tube them for long periods as small amounts can go into the rumen (the big stomach for first chew on grass) and ferment a bit there. But it won't kill the calf, can bloat him a bit or leave him feeling a bit off. Wasn't there someone on another thread that tubed a calf til weaning time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Lizard_Moon

No i'm pretty sure it's not. It's not recommended to tube them for long periods as small amounts can go into the rumen (the big stomach for first chew on grass) and ferment a bit there. But it won't kill the calf, can bloat him a bit or leave him feeling a bit off. Wasn't there someone on another thread that tubed a calf til weaning time?

Current info is not to tube milk to a calf, apart from the colostrum. Tubed milk can go into the rumen where it sets up an inflammation of the rumen wall. The ruminate acidosis can cause acute problems, up to death or set up chronic ill thrift- big belly, thin, weak, pasty putty faeces.
    Link is to a clinical article if anyone any interest. http://www.researchgate.net/publication/242535760_Ruminal_Acidosis_in_Milk-fed_Calves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

had a calf a couple of years ago that would not suckle at any attempt, problem selenium lacking and got a shot from the vet the calf suckled the next day and never looked back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Englebert Humperdink

Had a calf a while ago wouldn't suck. Was a Charolais too. I was worried about him so was stomach tubing him. Vet told me I was feeding him too much and he was lazy. Cut back on amount I was feeding him and eventually he got hungry and sucked himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Alibaba

Have a divil myself for the last 2 days that won't suck.

And to make matters worse mamma is a stone mad b**ch.

She'd go for you in a second so have to be careful.

Just have to plough on I s'pose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Irish Beef

Can you catch her head in a calving gate or something, make it a lot safer, hard to get a calf sucking when you fear for your life, I had a calf myself a few years ago brought him in the mart, no way would he suck the milk bar or a tit on a bucket, had to slowly dose powder milk into him twice daily for six weeks until he could eat enough meal, nearly drove me wrong, had the vet out to him twice, gave him that injection an all, no way this calf was going to suck.

Should of got back sooner. He was away with it, Thanks to all you lovely peeps. :)