Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what is it with Zetor breaks

• 13-04-2016 11:43pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭

This is coming after reading another tread but what is it with people and Zetor breaks.

I am constantly reading ads on donedeals with zetor tractors and "breaks needing attention". I understand these have dry breaks but are they an awful **** of a job to do or why so many neglected?

Is it that generally people who own Zetors don't spend the money on them until they are crocked completely or are they a fierce expensive job to do or what is the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Older ones are notorious for bad brakes and electrics. But indestructible besides that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

f140 wrote: »
    This is coming after reading another tread but what is it with people and Zetor breaks.

I am constantly reading ads on donedeals with zetor tractors and "breaks needing attention". I understand these have dry breaks but are they an awful **** of a job to do or why so many neglected?

Is it that generally people who own Zetors don't spend the money on them until they are crocked completely or are they a fierce expensive job to do or what is the story.

They are basically the same brakes as what was used on a fordson major, which were in use back as far as 1952(?), and probably even earlier than that.
    Think of the cowboy films where yer man up on the wagon pulled a piece of wood that rubbed off the wheel to attempt to slow it down when yer man got to the saloon. Got the picture?

Well with the zetor, instead of pulling a piece of wood that rubs off the wheel, yer man presses a pedal that rubs a piece of asbestos against the axle;) Got it?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭emaherx

blue5000 wrote: »
    They are basically the same brakes as what was used on a fordson major, which were in use back as far as 1952(?), and probably even earlier than that.
    Think of the cowboy films where yer man up on the wagon pulled a piece of wood that rubbed off the wheel to attempt to slow it down when yer man got to the saloon. Got the picture?

Well with the zetor, instead of pulling a piece of wood that rubs off the wheel, yer man presses a pedal that rubs a piece of asbestos against the axle;) Got it?

Not maintaining them is the bigger issue. There are too many Zetors and old tractors in general especially machines with dry disk or even drum breaks being used on Irish farms today which are over 20 years old and have never had their breaks serviced. Lads fix your breaks this is a major contributor to accidents and deaths on our farms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

f140 wrote: »

Part of the problem is they are dry brakes. The seal goes and oil leaks in and you have nothing . Parts are cheap for them. Discs , seals and springs for both sides are about 150 euros , slave cylinders are about 25 a piece.
    3/4 hours work and they are done. Do them yourself and its cheap.
    Get a garage to do them and its probably 400.

And yeah some people just wont put money into machines. Then eventually they are falling apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭emaherx

9935452 wrote: »
    Part of the problem is they are dry brakes. The seal goes and oil leaks in and you have nothing . Parts are cheap for them. Discs , seals and springs for both sides are about 150 euros , slave cylinders are about 25 a piece.
    3/4 hours work and they are done. Do them yourself and its cheap.
    Get a garage to do them and its probably 400.

And yeah some people just wont put money into machines. Then eventually they are falling apart.

I read that first as 3/4 of an hour's work and thought fair play to you ;). Presume you mean 3 to 4 hours work and probably a bit more the first time you do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

emaherx wrote: »
    I read that first as 3/4 of an hour's work and thought fair play to you ;). Presume you mean 3 to 4 hours work and probably a bit more the first time you do it.

Yeah i meant 3 to 4 hours but would get both sides done with that.
    Sure if you had all the tools ready jacks, engine hoist, air gun sockets etc you would do one side in 45 minutes . They arent hard to do