Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 6 Episode 1 "The Red Woman" - Predictions

• 12-04-2016 11:17am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭

So this time we are all on equal footing, book readers and Unsullied alike.

What are peoples predictions for this episode?

I think they have to deal with Jon Snow in the first episode. Thats not going to be left hanging.

I had assumed he warged into Ghost but I doubt the show will do that.

I think that Stannis and some of Jons supporters will be protecting his body while Aliser Thorne and his buddies want to take it and burn it so it doesnt rise with blue eyes.

Melisandre - will she be in favour of taking and burning or in trying to do what she knows Thoros of Myr did and raising the dead herself? Given that she has had a loss of faith, I think we might see a change as to what we expect here, although not sure how they will handle it.

In other predictions - Jamie will come back from Dorne and tell Cersei what happened while she tells him what happened to her and a lot of angry incest will ensue.

Sansa/Theon - an escape into the snow and Brienne will find them. Possibly they will get separated. If they do then I think Sansa ends up with Brienne.

Speaking of Brienne - I dont think she killed Stannis and he will show up at the wall. Davos may kill him for murdering Shireen?

Bran - magic magic magic - really looking forward to this story line!!

Danerys - not that excited but presumably she will be taken by the Dothraki and probably not much happen in this episode - theyll save the dragons for later I think.

Ramsay/Roose - could Ramsay get Theon back???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Sheeeeit

So this time we are all on equal footing, book readers and Unsullied alike.

What are peoples predictions for this episode?

I think that Stannis and some of Jons supporters will be protecting his body while Aliser Thorne and his buddies want to take it and burn it so it doesnt rise with blue eyes.

Bran - magic magic magic - really looking forward to this story line!!

Stannis is presumed dead? Or maybe he isn't? I don't think we'll see him in the first episode though if he isn't. I presume you meant Davos here?

I think we'll definitely see a fight between Jon's supporters and the Night's Watch in the first episode over the burning of Jon's body. I would like to think Davos and Ghost etc. win that fight but I can see Jon's body getting burnt at some stage this season and that may not be a bad thing.

I think the title 'The Red Woman' is misleading for this episode as the producers want people to assume Melisandre saves Jon Snow but I don't think it will be as simple as that.

Sansa - I think we will see Sansa and Theon being chased by the Boltons and Theon will do something brave to protect Sansa, winning over the hearts of the viewers in the process. Sansa will escape, hopefully with the help of Brienne and Pod. I think they will end up in Riverrun with Edmure and Blackfish and something major will go down there.

Arya - More ninja training with the faceless men. However for taking Merryn Trant's eyes Jaqen H'ghar has now taken her sight and she must learn to fight blind. I think she will discover her warging abilities as a Stark later on in the series but she will be no where near Bran's level.

Bran - So excited to see his and the three eyed raven's abilities. He seems to be the chosen one and I think we will see some major historical events through Bran's visions. Tower of Joy being one of them. It will be very interesting to see what he uses his powers for.

White Walkers - They've got to start marching on the wall now right?

King's Landing - What will the Lannisters do with Trystane Martell? Will the dead mountain crush his skull like he did to Red Viper? Lannisters and Tyrell's join forces to march on the Great Sept to retrieve Loras and Margaery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭intheclouds

Sheeeeit wrote: »
    Stannis is presumed dead? Or maybe he isn't? I don't think we'll see him in the first episode though if he isn't. I presume you meant Davos here?

Oops - you are quite right - I did mean Davos.
    Sheeeeit wrote: »
    I think the title 'The Red Woman' is misleading for this episode as the producers want people to assume Melisandre saves Jon Snow but I don't think it will be as simple as that.

Yes, the title has me suspicious too.

Like the rest of your thoughts - agree re Sansa ending up in Tullys.

Trystane - surely they could just lump him overboard to swim back to Dorne?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

They ve cast a red priestess that shows up in Myrenne, so the title could refer to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

That's who I'd expect the title to refer to alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭stesaurus

Book related casting
    Kaye is back as Thoros so are we going to see Lady Stoneheart or will Sansa take over this role and take some revenge on Freys

Had a quick look at the synopsis from Sky today. "Jon Snow is Dead. Daenerys meets a strong man. Cersei sees her daughter once again."
    So that's all very clear :D

I actually hope they don't resurrect Jon in his old body. I hope they do something different and use Stannis'

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,375 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

s.welstead wrote: »
    Book related casting
    Kaye is back as Thoros so are we going to see Lady Stoneheart or will Sansa take over this role and take some revenge on Freys
    Since they cut out everything leading up to that I see them merging it into
    Sansa
    instead and could even add
    Littlefinger stearing Sansa towards doing the actions required as part of his controlling of the chaos in the kingdom
    . I agree it would be nice to finally have
    Lady Stoneheart
    back and how it would relate to when
    the white once come down; i.e. would she be joining them/fighting them/be controlled by them or not
    but with the simplified and unified story lines I think it's a relatively easy cut.

Do we really need spoiler tags here when EVERYTHING being discussed is pure speculation?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,375 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

Do we really need spoiler tags here when EVERYTHING being discussed is pure speculation?
    If it relates to book spoilers in a thread not specifically set up with book spoilers; yes we do.

Nody wrote: »
    If it relates to book spoilers in a thread not specifically set up with book spoilers; yes we do.

This is the television forum so would have presumed that book talk was not going to be happening here.

I was asking for predictions on the TV show.

This is the television forum so would have presumed that book talk was not going to be happening here.

I was asking for predictions on the TV show.
    But the speculation in spoiler tags relate to book specific knowledge which has not been shown on the TV show so far. That's also the reason why each episode has two threads with one for non book readers and one for book readers to avoid cross polluting potential book spoilers relating to the episode (even if this season will have far fewer potential spoilers).

Nody wrote: »
    But the speculation in spoiler tags relate to book specific knowledge which has not been shown on the TV show so far. That's also the reason why each episode has two threads with one for non book readers and one for book readers to avoid cross polluting potential book spoilers relating to the episode (even if this season will have far fewer potential spoilers).

There is no book written for this season - I acknowledged that in the opening post.

It just ruins a thread if its spoilered like mad, impossible to read on some devices.

Id rather the thread be deleted outright in that case - can you organise that as CMod?

intheclouds, there's lots of material in the books which hasn't made it's way to the screen. Some of it will inevitably come out this season and other bits will be cut completely, for better or for worse. s.welstead did the right thing imo by referring to the fact it was a book / casting spoiler and using the tags.

Spoilers are always going to feature in discussion in this forum. Posters are doing you a solid by using them so you're not having any of the plot ruined on you and now you're spitting the dummy and want the thread deleted because your device can't render spoiler tags correctly? C'mon, that's just ridiculous.

I can only imagine the tantrum had the spoiler tags not been used... :rolleyes:

Do you want to take your ball home to stop the rest of us playing??? Asking for a thread delete because of a spoiler tag, seriously? You don't get to dictate discussion just because you started a thread.

It's a speculation thread that I was aware enough to not be an ass and spoil things. Despite what you state in the opening post we're not all on an equal footing. Book readers still have more background and things that may seem to have been cut may re-appear in the TV show version. It's the same with any superhero movie/tv threads. Comic book readers will have more background knowledge for speculation and it's nice when they spoiler it so that at least it's your choice whether to read or not.

Good luck with the chat then lads, I will happily unfollow as spoiler tags dont work properly on my device and make threads impossible to read.

Surely there's a way of fixing that? Seems a bit crazy to have to leave whole threads because of a small technical issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I predict a poster to be overly critical of the episode, say they are done with the series, yet be back criticising episode two.

Not really a bold prediction. :pac:

I'll be honest, myself and Mrs Sleepy have been re-watching all 5 seasons in anticipation of this and we're mid-way through Season 5 at the moment. It's making me less excited for Season 6. There really is a notable drop in quality in the last season.

On top of that, I've just found out I'm away at a work conference next week and it'll Wednesday night before I can watch the season opener! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

The real question is, will this new red woman get her baps out in the first episode ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Sleepy wrote: »
    I'll be honest, myself and Mrs Sleepy have been re-watching all 5 seasons in anticipation of this and we're mid-way through Season 5 at the moment. It's making me less excited for Season 6. There really is a notable drop in quality in the last season.

On top of that, I've just found out I'm away at a work conference next week and it'll Wednesday night before I can watch the season opener! :(

Season 3 and 4 are based on the best book in the series so I was expecting a bit of a drop.

TheDoctor wrote: »
    Season 3 and 4 are based on the best book in the series so I was expecting a bit of a drop.
    It was more to do with them going further and further away from the books rather than anything else that made season 5 the worst season to date. I got a feeling it's only downhill going forward at this stage as they get even more "creative" in their translation of the books to movie (as there's even less base material to work with).

It wasn't even the deviations or the change in direction of the later books translating poorly to the screen: it's a notable drop in quality.

The scores weren't as subtle, some of the direction wasn't as good, the scripts became a clunky in parts, some of the acting was sub-par. Pretty much every scene set in Dorne feels like something from the early 90's with added boobs.

I still can't believe how badly they handled it; Dorne should have been the highlight of the season with attitude female warriors wrecking havoc with the cocky westerners lead around the nose and yet it all came out as a complete fiasco... I can't understand how that made it through editing and someone actually approved that as being ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

Blew the Dorne budget on Hardhome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

What I DON'T want to happen:

-A continuation of the mis-handled/wooden/cheesy story arc in Dorne (epic boobs aside)

- Ayra's Molly Malone escapades. Boooring.

- Daenary's losing more leverage, supporters etc.

What I DO want:

- More dragons

- Whitewalkers

- Warging

- Melisandre nakedness

- Mountain blood-shed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭hotshots85

What I DON'T want to happen:

-A continuation of the mis-handled/wooden/cheesy story arc in Dorne (epic boobs aside)

What I DO want:

- More dragons

- Whitewalkers

- Warging

- Melisandre nakedness

- Mountain blood-shed

What YOU WILL GET LOADS OF:

What YOU WILL GET TINY BITS OF TO KEEP YOU HOOKED:

- More dragons

- Whitewalkers

- Warging

- Melisandre nakedness

- Mountain blood-shed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

TheDoctor wrote: »
    Blew the Dorne budget on Hardhome!

Thankfully...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭leonil7

Jon Snow dead
    They burn him
    Jon Snow lives
    Fire resurrected him
    Proven true targaryen, blood of the dragon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

leonil7 wrote: »
    Jon Snow dead
    They burn him
    Jon Snow lives
    Fire resurrected him
    Proven true targaryen, blood of the dragon.

If fire resurrected Targaryens auld Aemon would still be knocking around the Wall. Dany never died to be resurrected- she has merely proven herself immune to the damaging effects of fire.

The Red Priest resuscitation trick as employed by Thoros can work on anyone as I understand it- Beric is only minor nobility as far as I know.

Having said that, it's highly doubtful it does work for everyone; Thoros mentioned something about the ritual being 'old words'- a sort of Last Rites that I suspect he has administered many times before and after (given his age, his military past and the high attrition rate a medieval guerrilla outfit could expect to suffer) encountering Beric to no avail (given his earlier crisis of faith and the lack of other oft-slain rebels wandering around). As he explained, he performed the ritual with no expectation it would work but to comfort himself. Melisandre herself expressed astonishment at his ability.

My theory is it only works on individuals of rare determination.

In any case, Jon's restoration in this way would prove nothing about his heritage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Has anyone seen any articles/posts that reminds us where every character/storyline was at last time we saw them? I forget!

They always do a series recap.

http://winteriscoming.net/2016/04/23/maps-and-more-remind-yourself-where-everyone-is-ahead-of-season-6/

5 min recap of Season 5 with minor spoilers in the sense it mentions a few things from the official trailers for season 6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

Some serious spoiler images from the first episode have been leaked. Anyone curious can pm me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Since there was no Bran involvement in Season 5, I expect Bran to be the major feature of episode 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭DANNY2014

Could Jon snow be the new next right hand man to the white Walker king he did kill his right man so maybe who knows...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,183 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Turtyturd wrote: »
    I predict a poster to be overly critical of the episode, say they are done with the series, yet be back criticising episode two.

Not really a bold prediction. :pac:

That happens in 90% of shows. The latest is arrow but I can see there point there. Heppened in Lost also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,183 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I did a quick series playthrough in the last few weeks (as in forwarding through parts) as I had never seen it but had read the books and just finished so I would not be lost for season six with saying why is he/she dead/alive who is that and why is so and so not here yet

I did the same thing. I completely forgot that the fúckers killed off Ser Barristan. Watching it back shocked and annoyed me just as much as it did the first time..