Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Potential Grounds for appeal (Stage 2)

• 08-04-2016 7:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭

Just got my results and I've just learned that i failed Job simulation by 2%.
    With regards to the other tests i had extremely high scores, does anyone know or has anyone had any experience with appealing or requesting a retest?
    Genuinely any help or info is extremely appreciated, sitting here heartbroken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭PMMG

MrBlack93 wrote: »

Just got my results and I've just learned that i failed Job simulation by 2%.
    With regards to the other tests i had extremely high scores, does anyone know or has anyone had any experience with appealing or requesting a retest?
    Genuinely any help or info is extremely appreciated, sitting here heartbroken

That's tough. This is my second time failing job simulation (at stage 3 last time). I rang them and asked if I should get a recheck and was told that I could but it would not change my score. I did and it didn't! They told me on the phone that no one was ever successful when it came to job simulation recheck or appeal. Lovely! But I was about 20 points short last time and you are only 2 points short so if I were you I most definitely would ask for a recheck and also if you have any reason for not performing to your potential on that day then ask for a resit (although if like me you scored high on everything else then that would be a difficult argument to make). Ask for a recheck. It cannot do any harm.

This is really strange. Not one person said that they didn't qualify because of not verifying! Anyone that failed, failed because of job simulation. As I have always said the job simulation is a relative score. So basically they wanted to take a certain number forward and they used this number as a cut-off. So basically it's likely we didn't fail per se but rather 290 or so others did better than us. It's a bit crappy when you think about it. I got in the top 500 at stage one because I done really well in abstract and verbal but only barely passed job simulation. So basically I was competing against people who probably did very well in job simulation. Why not simply verify job simulation scores from stage 1 (same as what is done for verbal and abstract) rather than using them to get rid of people. This simply means that job simulation has a higher weighting than all other tests, the fairness of which is questionable. Rant over :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭MrBlack93

What's killing me is that I placed in the top 20 for abstract and verbal before this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭TheSunderz

Wow I too had extremely high score in stage 1 finished in the top 400. In the 2nd stage qualified for both aptitude tests and got 500 in the report writing. Yet I failed job simulation by just 7 marks I'm actually so annoyed. I emailed public jobs about a recheck as I could easily be given the 7 marks I hoped. Should I ring them ? Is this the best way to get a re check ? I'm actually so annoyed and by the way you guys are talking it seems like a bit of a waste of time as I feel they won't change their mind.

It is very stupid that the job simulation has higher weighting than the other areas. How can they expect us to know the best action to take in each scenario ? We are going to be trained in this as guards so it shouldn't be such a big deal now. I wouldn't mind if I failed on the aptitude tests but this is really infuriating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Malarkey101

The reason your result wont change in a recheck is that all of the answers in the job sim already have a certain amount of points allocated to them and that doesnt change so no matter how many times you add up the points you will get the same mark. Obviously we can argue that the job sim answers are very subjective but unfortunately they have already decided what answers they are looking for and allocated marks accordingly.

Ah I do understand that and I know if I do get a re check it more than likely change anything but the fact it's only 6 mear marks is quite annoying. Any how I don't think their gonna change their minds and expect people who haven't reached the mark. Is there a real point in appealing yeh result ? Or is it worth the bother ringing them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Malarkey101

You have nothing to lose by asking them but I wouldn't be getting my hopes up.

TheSunderz wrote: »
    Ah I do understand that and I know if I do get a re check it more than likely change anything but the fact it's only 6 mear marks is quite annoying. Any how I don't think their gonna change their minds and expect people who haven't reached the mark. Is there a real point in appealing yeh result ? Or is it worth the bother ringing them ?

PM'ed you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭IrelandDylan

Anyone appealing for a recheck or resit of verbal or abstract tests?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭JC43

Failed job. To be honest I think it shouldn't be an exam subject at this stage. Isn't that what training is about. To learn what to do it situations. I'd got high scores in stage 1 and validated them stage 2. My report writing was grand too. I'd worried about the report and verbal as I'm dyslexic. Wonder is it worth appealing?

JC43 wrote: »
    Failed job. To be honest I think it shouldn't be an exam subject at this stage. Isn't that what training is about. To learn what to do it situations. I'd got high scores in stage 1 and validated them stage 2. My report writing was grand too. I'd worried about the report and verbal as I'm dyslexic. Wonder is it worth appealing?

OK folks I am hearing too much people saying they failed job simulation. Something is definitely not right about this. Are they using it as a way to reduce the numbers? If so then that's unfair on those who find job simulation was not their strong point. We got great results in the other tests at stage 1 and this meant that we were grouped among candidates who had great job simulation scores in stage 1. So of course they are going to have an advantage because job simulation is their strength. We all have strengths and weaknesses. I wish I did worse in my other exams at stage 1 because in that way I would not have to compete with those who did best in job simulation. Of course I am only speculating at this point but if they are using job simulation as a means of eliminating candidates then I will be livid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Cohaw

Anyone any ideas what the best way to appeal on the job sims. Going to give it a go anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Are they using it as a way to reduce the numbers? If so then that's unfair on those who find job simulation was not their strong point.

It's a recruitment campaign, the whole point is to dwindle the numbers. AGS don't owe anyone a job, the whole point of these tests is to give everyone the same fair chance by giving them similar tests. They can't start holding peoples hands and giving them easier examinations because "it's not their strong suit".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 TF1992

Thinking of appealing , worth a shot in anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭VicMack

discus wrote: »
    It's a recruitment campaign, the whole point is to dwindle the numbers. AGS don't owe anyone a job, the whole point of these tests is to give everyone the same fair chance by giving them similar tests. They can't start holding peoples hands and giving them easier examinations because "it's not their strong suit".

While you're entitled to your opinion, your attitude is a disgrace. I've seen you posting in other threads, you've got through to the next stage? So be happy and offer those who didn't get through some positive advice.

The job sim is subjective and on the day of the test, ANYONE could fail it. People who have failed stage 2 have spent hours studying, spent a lot of money on prep courses and they have worked really hard to get through to the next stage because they really want to be a member of AGS just like yourself. So if you've got nothing positive to say, don't say anything at all!

JC43 wrote: »
    Yeh same as myself did great in stage 1, verified all my results got 500 in report writing and failed job sim by 7 marks so I've appealed, just say the fact it was timed in this stage three you off and ask for a re-sit. You have nothing to loose.

VicMack wrote: »
    While you're entitled to your opinion, your attitude is a disgrace. I've seen you posting in other threads, you've got through to the next stage? So be happy and offer those who didn't get through some positive advice.

The job sim is subjective and on the day of the test, ANYONE could fail it. People who have failed stage 2 have spent hours studying, spent a lot of money on prep courses and they have worked really hard to get through to the next stage because they really want to be a member of AGS just like yourself. So if you've got nothing positive to say, don't say anything at all!

Well said! discus totally didn't get the point of my argument

Can anyone tell me what email address we use to appeal? Thanks !

TF1992 wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me what email address we use to appeal? Thanks !

Gardatrainee2016@publicjobs.ie

Best of luck

My point is Mr/s arrogant. Why use job simulation as a method of eliminating candidates. You can learn the right approach to take in a particular situation. Why not use verbal or abstract to eliminate candidates. After all they are the closest thing to intelligence testing. You can't learn to be intelligent!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

I'll take it to PM. Keep in mind, I haven't insulted you, I've merely disagreed with you.

Speaking for those of us who worked very hard but did not make it through, it sure felt like an insult. I am delighted for all those that were successful but public jobs need to be more transparent about how they are scoring tests and eliminating candidates.

Anyone submit an appeal?

I did , got rejected

TF1992 wrote: »
    I did , got rejected

PM

Did anyone have a successful appeal at all? Seems most people just got told to look at the handbook we were given where it states any problems should be made known to PAS before tests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭AudiKid

Did anyone have a successful appeal at all? Seems most people just got told to look at the handbook we were given where it states any problems should be made known to PAS before tests

Did you appeal your verification?

Yep just got told to read the email again and that there was nothing they could do.

They allowed people to appeal the last time, and even gave them the option to appeal when they got their results.

If you look through the old forums, at least 5 or 6 people successfully appealed and made it all the way to Garda College.

Yeah I saw that and I was talking to a few of them but it just looks like theyre not allowing that this time around

What grounds were you using to try and appeal?

Ara just stuff like it was the first exam of the day and the conditions took getting used to because they were so different to when I took the test at home, reaching a high score in the other test after that, the pressure of attempting to get such a high score again, stuff like that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 jalock20

Got the results today. Failed job sim by 17 marks but got over 700 in report writing and got the same results as before in abstract and verbal which were also one of the highest.

Absolutely despondent. How are we expected to know exactly what to do in each situation for job sim? Granted, a bit of common sense would apply in some cases but is that not what training is for? To know what to do in certain situations?

I would have considered myself to have got on pretty good in the job sim considering I didn't put down any outrageously wrong options to take in certain situations so one would wonder what kind of marking scheme they are using.

jalock20 wrote: »
    Got the results today. Failed job sim by 17 marks but got over 700 in report writing and got the same results as before in abstract and verbal which were also one of the highest.

Absolutely despondent. How are we expected to know exactly what to do in each situation for job sim? Granted, a bit of common sense would apply in some cases but is that not what training is for? To know what to do in certain situations?

I would have considered myself to have got on pretty good in the job sim considering I didn't put down any outrageously wrong options to take in certain situations so one would wonder what kind of marking scheme they are using.

Hey, sorry to hear.

Wow I'm pretty much in the same situation as you. Placed in top 20 in stage 1 and failed job sim by 17 marks also. I know how you feel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 jalock20

Hey, sorry to hear.

Wow I'm pretty much in the same situation as you. Placed in top 20 in stage 1 and failed job sim by 17 marks also. I know how you feel

Raging. This is the first time I've applied but it would almost put me off not applying again and it's really all I've ever wanted to do. I'm 24 now so maybe if they do open up again soon it won't be too far off.

You going to bother with a recheck/appeal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Mudmask

I failed by 7, such a close margin I feel like I'd be less disappointed if I'd done worse.

No luck with my appeal. Oh well.

Hard luck.

Your so unlucky to have failed by such a small margin.