Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

QUICK! Can you name this player?

• 08-04-2016 8:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭

Hi - a friend of mine has just posted a pic of this player but for the life of me I can't place him. Any one know his name?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

The picture would be useful.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,849 ✭✭✭gifted

The invisible man? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Is it Jamie Heaslip doing the unseen work?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,814 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Tommy Bowe

(in the hope that someone might post a pic of him)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭madds

sorry, was posting from a phone and had to switch to laptop! :D pic attached to first post.

• Registered Users Posts: 37 sarciegit

Conrad smith

• Registered Users Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Is it Conrad Smith?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,814 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Ah feck, it's not Tommy Bowe :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,922 ✭✭✭trout

Conrad Smith ... or one of the Healy-Rae's

Nah, it's Conrad Smith for sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

100% Conrad Smith from New Zealand, great player

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

worlds best 13.
    the player o driscoll never bettered.

double world champion Conrad "snakey" Smith

• Registered Users Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭madds

Thanks lads, it is Conrad Smith, currently (or was until 15 minutes ago) in the Ballsbridge Hotel.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,176 ✭✭✭✭Buer

the player o driscoll never faced until well after his peak.

Cleared that one up.

Buer wrote: »
    Cleared that one up.

skinned.

one year before grand slam season.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,103 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Ee, that be Conrad Smith of Pau. Or as they call it in Yorkshire, T'Pau.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,142 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

It's Ma'a Nonu

• Registered Users Posts: 24,176 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Which was well after his best. BOD never got near the level of 2000-2006 again in terms of attacking play and acceleration.

2007-08 was the worst season of his career probably. That was the year he ended up going to Enda McNulty and didn't score once. He was much better in 2009 but a totally different player.

Two best 13s of modern times but they never met one another near their peak powers.

Ronan O'Gara

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Flipper22

skinned.

Buer wrote: »
    Which was well after his best. BOD never got near the level of 2000-2006 again in terms of attacking play and acceleration.

2007-08 was the worst season of his career probably. That was the year he ended up going to Enda McNulty and didn't score once. He was much better in 2009 but a totally different player.

Two best 13s of modern times but they never met one another near their peak powers.

I think he scored against the wallabies summer 08. Great try actually. Leamy regathered a box kick from our 22, Kearney with a great offload to set Bowe free, who put BOD over.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,961 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Tana just shepherds BOD to the inside so he could meet the GOAT (Richie).

madds wrote: »
    Hi - a friend of mine has just posted a pic of this player but for the life of me I can't place him. Any one know his name?

Is it wrong that I looked at that pic and thought that Conrad must have been hanging out with Samson Lee.

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭rsh118

He's some fella Conrad. Chatted to him once or twice and really seems like as normal a guy as you meet.

A lot in NZ rugby like him too, thanks to how close most All Blacks are to their club roots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Pink Fairy

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Tommy Bowe

(in the hope that someone might post a pic of him)

This do?

Flipper22 wrote: »

conrad smith isn't on the pitch?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭twinytwo

skinned.

2008 was the worst year for him form wise... many were questioning if he was finished at the time.

Then he came back.... and the rest is history

conrad smith isn't on the pitch?

I know that. At that point he couldn't get ahead of Umaga. BOD skins Umaga. Therefore BOD was better than Smith.

Nice try :D Smith wasn't even a professional rugby player when that game was played.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,748 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Conrad Smith may still have been at school then!

Nevertheless thank you for reminding me of a great try. That was a great match. McCaw's debut IIRC amd Ireland were 14 points up 10 minutes into the second half.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

skinned.

To be fair, he fooled him rather than skinning him.