Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your euros plans

• 07-04-2016 2:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,456 ✭✭✭✭

whats your plans for this summers euros soccer cup in france in which both the boys in green and the green and white army are playing in??. going to it, watching at home, in the pub, not watching ???

hopefully ill get to watch the Sweden game (mon 13th June 5pm) in a pub somewhere, im heading to Manchester on the 16th-18th June for a stone roses concert so im praying ill be back in ireland in time for the belgium kickoff (Sat 18th June 2pm) and work pending might watch the Italy game in the pub (Wed 22 June 8pm).

Northern Ireland matches are Poland (12th June 5pm), Ukraine (16th June 5pm) and Germany (21 June 5pm)

im not the biggest soccer fan but support the national team and love the atmosphere around the place when there on. After the scotland draw last june in Dublin it looked very much like we would not qualify but thanks to Georgia and Germany letting us win in Dublin we got there after a playoff victory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

The Euros will give me the opportunity to phone a pub and ask "Are you showing the match tonight?" which will then tell me where to avoid. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Watch on TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

smash wrote: »
    The Euros will give me the opportunity to phone a pub and ask "Are you showing the match tonight?" which will then tell me where to avoid. :)

Every pub in the land with a television will be showing the Irish games in the summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Every pub in the land with a television will be showing the Irish games in the summer.
    Back to knacker drinking then...

Feck sake.

Thankfully there's a field and a river near me. Oh and Grogans don't have a television. Pints, toasties, and no ball kicking :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Gonna break into John Delaney's place & watch it through my fingers there.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I was hoping to be in a camper van with 5 or 6 other dudes going to games and enjoying some beer along the way.
    None of us got tickets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I'm planning on taking up a new hobby like watching paint dry :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Good few nationalities where I live so should be a good atmosphere. We are thinking of setting up the projector outside, beaming onto the side of one of the houses, clearing the car ports and setting up tables and benches with BBQ and beer on the side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭rsh118

Watching re-runs of the IRFUs 3 game clean sweep of the Springboks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I was hoping to be in a camper van with 5 or 6 other dudes going to games and enjoying some beer along the way.
    None of us got tickets.

Wouldnt have let that stop me!

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    None of us got tickets.

You could still go for the fun. The games will be shown on big screens at the locations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

Feck sake.

Thankfully there's a field and a river near me. Oh and Grogans don't have a television. Pints, toasties, and no ball kicking :p

Jaysus Pp it's only a game of football, no need to go that far!

That's not Grogans outside Athlone in a little village called Ballykeeran? Its the sort of pub that wouldn't have a TV.

Ill watch it on TV.

CFlat wrote: »
    Jaysus Pp it's only a game of football, no need to go that far!

That's not Grogans outside Athlone in a little village called Ballykeeran? Its the sort of pub that wouldn't have a TV.

Ill watch it on TV.

It's Grogans in the big shmoke :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

I'll be going over for the third group game vs Italy in Lille.
    Don't have a ticket for th game but have accommodation booked and will be there with a few lads on the beer.

Should be a laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭RayCon

TV + beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Not that one

Getting the kids wound up with a surge in national pride - with tales of how good the big championships used to be when Ireland were one of the "best" teams - in the days leading up to the first match.

Then give out about how crap we are after match 2 and have lost interest in the qualifying group by match 3.

Complain about how the tournament seems to be on for ages then tune back in for the final and bitch about how crap the game has become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

Going over to the first and second match. No tickets yet but I am going for the craic, not the football so don't care. Only booked a one-way flight so might go inter-railing then. Only problem is that I have a feeling that I am going to get an offer for an interview for a programme that I applied for. The interview would be in the middle of the holiday so don't know how I will get around it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Feck sake.

They'll be a live painting of the match over 90mins and a poem read out at half time for all those interested...

I'm going to wear my Ireland rugby jersey while watching the matches just to wind people up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,806 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I'm going to wear my Ireland rugby jersey while watching the matches just to wind people up
    You're wearing green in support of your country? Such a conformist! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

The only Euros for me will be the Europa League with City. Got to go to Iceland last summer, which was fairly class. Hopefully we'll get somewhere a bit warmer and/or cheaper and/or in the Eurozone this time around.

Will probably watch the Ireland matches in a pub, if I'm able. Not overly bothered about the national team in comparison - would prefer to see City advance one round in the EL than Ireland winning the European Championships. But obviously would like Ireland to do well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I'm actually going to miss most of it as I'm going to be in Mongolia on retreat. Can't say I'm regretting the thought of missing it either. Find international soccer to be rather boring.

I'm also not a fan of the tired paddywhackery antics of the 'Green Army'. Sunburnt idiots gurning into the camera as Des Cahill reports on 'the craic'. The craic being inflatable hammers, rebel music and dangerous drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

I'm also not a fan of the tired paddywhackery antics of the 'Green Army'. Sunburnt idiots gurning into the camera as Des Cahill reports on 'the craic'. The craic being inflatable hammers, rebel music and dangerous drinking.
    I am a dumb piece of meat
    and I rot everyday
    my flesh gives a rotting smell
    and people say it's the smell of life
    and they come to me
    and watch me rot
    and get happy and upset and annoyed and disgusted and maybe sometimes feel
    compassion
    but they don't realize they are rotting too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭MacauDragon

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    and I rot everyday
    and they come to me
    and watch me rot
    compassion

There once was a man from Nantucket...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,234 ✭✭✭Patser

If you're really smart/desperate/organising a stag - you should be booking a trip to Iceland for the Euros. They were one if the 1st teams to qualify, hammering the Dutch too, and it's their 1st ever tournament.

So by all accounts almost 40,000 of them have booked their trips already, mostly male, out of a population of 250,000. And due to the distance they've to travel they're mostly going for the 2 weeks.

So 2 week holiday in Iceland, surrounded by Icelandic women (don't picture Bjork, don't picture Bjork) with almost no competition!!!

Oh and a football tournament on tv!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,642 ✭✭✭cml387

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    and I rot everyday
    and they come to me
    and watch me rot
    compassion

Korea aren't in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

I'm going to sit under the television in the local, facing away from the screen for the entirety of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Patser wrote: »
    If you're really smart/desperate/organising a stag - you should be booking a trip to Iceland for the Euros. They were one if the 1st teams to qualify, hammering the Dutch too, and it's their 1st ever tournament.

So by all accounts almost 40,000 of them have booked their trips already, mostly male, out of a population of 250,000. And due to the distance they've to travel they're mostly going for the 2 weeks.

So 2 week holiday in Iceland, surrounded by Icelandic women (don't picture Bjork, don't picture Bjork) with almost no competition!!!

What's wrong with Bjork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭MacauDragon

Who travels such a distance for poon.

Other than Gary glitter.

The price of porter in Iceland might be a bit off putting for stag groups though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,234 ✭✭✭Patser

DrumSteve wrote: »
    What's wrong with Bjork?

She wears swans.