Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car with No insurance, Tax or NCT -can it be pushed down flat road & around corner ?

• 06-04-2016 9:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭

I have a great little car on a private plot of land less than 10 minutes down the road and around 2 corners from my house.

It was giving some trouble 2 years ago and I needed a car in a hurry for a trip so parked it there and got another car.

Its NCT, Tax and insurance expired in 2015. I was so busy I forgot about it.

Someone attempted to vandalize the car a few times at night so I decided I better do something about it and get it out of there. I figured out it needed a new radiator so I replaced the radiator, charged up the battery at home and the car started and runs fine.

Without insurance, tax or NCT it goes without question that I cant drive it legally. Apparently I also cant tow it legally which makes sense I guess since a towed vehicle also requires a driver.

The question is can I push it legally with the engine off ? It doesnt' really have far to go, 2 right turns and 10 minutes of pushing but thats not the point . The question of this thread is : Would I be on the right or wrong side of the law if I pushed it ?

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭masculinist

XR3i wrote: »
    yes

yes to which one ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

You can't push it as that is using the public road so it needs to be legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭8valve

it needs to be on a trailer or a truck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

It's not road legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

around here you wouldn't even be asking that question.

UrbanFret wrote: »
    around here you wouldn't even be asking that question.

Around where ?

Anyway this isn't an empty country road. It's a built up area of Dublin. I would literally have to push the car right past a Garda station. You would think that might have saved the car from being repeatedly vandalized but nope.
    I can ask a dealer friend to move it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

Sounded like you were more down the country. yep your dealer friend's the way to go so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It should be trailered. If you do decide to trailer it maybe very late in the evening is best, when the streets are empty.
    Like 3am when no-one is around. That way no-one will be disturbed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

this is why i live in the west, you need an nct and tax and insurance to push a car now?
    i miss old Dublin

Tigger wrote: »
    this is why i live in the west, you need an nct and tax and insurance to push a car now?
    i miss old Dublin

You need them to use the road. Driving, parking and pushing are using the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Pushers are bad, maaan. Dealers not so much.

Stick it on donedeal (after you retrieve the swag, obviously).

Tell you what - gimme fiddy and I'll make it go away.

Not your ornery onager

Not Your Ornery Onager

biko wrote: »
    It should be trailered. If you do decide to trailer it maybe very late in the evening is best, when the streets are empty.
    Like 3am when no-one is around. That way no-one will be disturbed.
    This post is disturbing - at 5am! :)

Not your ornery onager

Tigger wrote: »
    i miss old Dublin

I could rant for hours about how over-regulation is a burden on the economy and only protects the stupid from their consequences but thats not gonna change anything unfortunately...
    Del2005 wrote: »

Anyone know do the 'sulky racers' and horse drawn transports who drive around the city ignoring the lights and traffic signals also require a NCT, Tax etc ? I rarely see those obeying the rules of the road. They generally go through crossroads when the lights are against them. ''It's allright its a horse'' doesnt seem to be an excuse in my book. If I hitch my car to a horse and tow it that way whats the law in that case ? :)

The same way that motorists and cyclists regularly ignore traffic regulations, near zero enforcement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,982 ✭✭✭minikin

Drive it on two wheels along the path.
    6bbd2f1348cf97ac37cc8d045c9fc198.jpg

The same way that motorists and cyclists regularly ignore traffic regulations, near zero enforcement.

I guess so but running a red light in the city centre is so blatant...

I'm going to get my dealer friend to pick up the car. Driving with no insurance is stupid and reckless.
    He can possibly drop it off at a valeting service too so the car can be sold quickly. Luckily the vandals didnt scratch it. They jumped onto it a few times but its only the type of dent I successfully pushed out from the inside and pulled out with a huge suction cup.

I guess so but running a red light in the city centre is so blatant...

I've seen cars fly through red after I had an amber at the line, worst was 5 or 6 cars followed.
    I'm going to get my dealer friend to pick up the car. Driving with no insurance is stupid and reckless.
    He can possibly drop it off at a valeting service too so the car can be sold quickly. Luckily the vandals didnt scratch it. They jumped onto it a few times but its only the type of dent I successfully pushed out from the inside and pulled out with a huge suction cup.

With no NCT your dealer friend can't drive it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Greyfoot

Almost two days have passed since you started the thread and 10min pushing is what? 30sec driving?? You ain`t no masculinist...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭UrbanFox

PRESENCE of the vehicle in a public place - as per the RTA - is enough to trigger the requirements for valid and current tax, insurance and NCT. The trailer option obviates all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

And no insurance is going to be made much worse by the mental insurance quotes been giving out by insurers. Not saying it's right but common 1500/2000/3000 for people with full licences, no claims bonuses etc..

I've seen cars fly through red after I had an amber at the line, worst was 5 or 6 cars followed.

So have I. However those horse and carriage yokes don't fly through. They take their time. A car which took its time would significantly improve its chances of being caught.

With no NCT your dealer friend can't drive it.

He would be in significantly less trouble than me considering he has dealer plate tax and insurance. If i book an NCT for the car is it then legal for him to drive it ?
    Greyfoot wrote: »
    Almost two days have passed since you started the thread and 10min pushing is what? 30sec driving?? You ain`t no masculinist...

Its' not manly to break the law. Its stupid to break the law. Its manly to uphold the law and at the same time engaging in a discussion surrounding the suitability and details of the law itself is a sign of a healthy involvement in civic life. Risk versus reward at the very least old chap. The city centre is full of random checkpoints since the Regency Hotel idiots with guns incident. Additionally, theres a lot of idiots on the road. I can do everything correctly yet they can crash into me then whats my excuse ? Theres a huge taboo in my mind at least against driving without insurance. Any form of legal blemish on my record would destroy my career and send my insurance premium through the roof. For a feckin 400 euro car which is almost more trouble than its worth ?
    Plus I may need the car moved to the other side of town as I have a protected parking space there where it wont be vandalised.
    UrbanFox wrote: »
    PRESENCE of the vehicle in a public place - as per the RTA - is enough to trigger the requirements for valid and current tax, insurance and NCT. The trailer option obviates all that.

It looks like the most legal way to do it but it sure seems like a huge chunk of the value of this car.
    TallGlass wrote: »
    And no insurance is going to be made much worse by the mental insurance quotes been giving out by insurers. Not saying it's right but common 1500/2000/3000 for people with full licences, no claims bonuses etc..

My insurance has been under 400 for the last couple of years for both myself and my partner. When I recently changed from a Nissan Micra to a Citroen C3 my insurance remained exactly the same. I am insured to drive any car so long as it is already insured by its owner. I have always had to change insurer and shop around for a very long time. Each one has tried to triple the premium without fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

He would be in significantly less trouble than me considering he has dealer plate tax and insurance. If i book an NCT for the car is it then legal for him to drive it ?

No a car without NCT can't be driven on trade plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

To be fair, surely you see how ridiculous the OPs situation is?

He can still get done for the incorrect use of a trade plate. He can't drive it as it's illegal to drive without a valid NCT and since it hasn't been declared off the road it can't be driven back without tax, it's legal to drive back with a failed NCT!, and his trade plate doesn't cover that situation.
    JC01 wrote: »
    To be fair, surely you see how ridiculous the OPs situation is?

The OP is asking for the legal position of moving an untaxed, uninsured and expired NCT on a public road. The situation might be ridiculous but the law is clear the only legal way they can get the car from it's current location is on a trailer or a recovery wagon.

Not Your Ornery Onager

Tbh, I would be very surprised if a Garda encountering a car with no current NCT en route to a test centre (with proof of booking) did not use discretion and allow the driver to proceed.

If it was me, I would chance it.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Greyfoot

Its' not manly to break the law. Its stupid to break the law. Its manly to uphold the law and at the same time engaging in a discussion surrounding the suitability and details of the law itself is a sign of a healthy involvement in civic life. Risk versus reward at the very least old chap. The city centre is full of random checkpoints since the Regency Hotel idiots with guns incident. Additionally, theres a lot of idiots on the road. I can do everything correctly yet they can crash into me then whats my excuse ? Theres a huge taboo in my mind at least against driving without insurance. Any form of legal blemish on my record would destroy my career and send my insurance premium through the roof. For a feckin 400 euro car which is almost more trouble than its worth ?
    Plus I may need the car moved to the other side of town as I have a protected parking space there where it wont be vandalised.

Fair enough. In that case risk versus reward you`d might be better of selling it for scrap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

Around where ?

Anyway this isn't an empty country road. It's a built up area of Dublin. I would literally have to push the car right past a Garda station. You would think that might have saved the car from being repeatedly vandalized but nope.
    I can ask a dealer friend to move it for me.

Another option is if you know any of the guards in the station is get them to move it for you.
    No tax /insurance/ nct wont matter to them as legally in the course of their duties the have no obligation to obey the RTA

9935452 wrote: »
    Another option is if you know any of the guards in the station is get them to move it for you.
    No tax /insurance/ nct wont matter to them as legally in the course of their duties the have no obligation to obey the RTA

Thanks. That's a nice idea but would helping a mate [or a member of the public] in this manner put them legally outside of the definition of their duties ?

Greyfoot wrote: »
    Fair enough. In that case risk versus reward you`d might be better of selling it for scrap.

I may just have to insure it for a week, take it to be valeted, then take some photos and put it up for sale. It drives really well, is a small car and should sell at the right price and make me 200 or 300 but the order of doing things is probably crucial. I'd have to take it to be valeted and photographed on the first day and try to do this around an NCT appointment if I can find an early one.