Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why the need to be so judgemental?

• 05-04-2016 10:46pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,348 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I'm 41 years of age. I've gone out and experienced life. I'm by no means perfect but I've lived and learned a little. But from being on After Hours, Im struck by the immaturity here. The rush to attack, to judge, to condemn and to moralise without experience of being in other's situations.

It's quite sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

JupiterKid wrote: »

It's quite sad.

yeah thats After Hours alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I'm 41 years of age. I've gone out and experienced life. I'm by no means perfect but I've lived and learned a little. But from being on After Hours, Im struck by the immaturity here. The rush to attack, to judge, to condemn and to moralise without experience of being in other's situations.

It's quite sad.

Yeah, what the hell do these posters think they're doing, it's just wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

This is pretty much the AH mob..

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

It's quite sad.

You wouldn't be.. judging the people here would you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Why the need to be so judgemental?

It's quite sad.

I'm struck by the irony...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Well I suppose it gives people a chance to air their opinions - however ill-informed- and it gives others (with experience or counter-arguments) a chance to air theirs too. So we can learn from each other.

Like, we've all learned by the many arguments in this forum that what Roy Keane did in Saipan was just wrong wrong wrong and Irish water was definitely a good idea....

Ya I think the thing is not to take it too seriously.

Gebgbegb wrote: »
    Well I suppose it gives people a chance to air their opinions - however ill-informed- and it gives others (with experience or counter-arguments) a chance to air theirs too. So we can learn from each other.

Like, we've all learned by the many arguments in this forum that what Roy Keane did in Saipan was just wrong wrong wrong and Irish water was definitely a good idea....

Ya I think the thing is not to take it too seriously.

I learned an awful lot about people on the dole and asylum seekers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Life is so much nicer and enjoyable when you're only focused on your own stuff. I don't understand people who are judgemental, is it a choice or something they can't help, what do they get out of it etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,257 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

This thread is bollix.

OP, I think people get impassioned about certain subjects and it can be difficult for them to see beyond their own viewpoint. This is something I'm sure we're all guilty of at times.
    For others there can be something to gain by judging or making little of another person's views. Perhaps deep down they are unhappy with the choices they have made so get satisfaction from putting down another.

Take the wanting children thread for example. Maybe there are some posters who long for a family and are deeply envious of others. Yet their only way of handling it is to take the "I'm far happier on my own" stance. The same applies to parents. Perhaps when they "you are missing out" they feel that it is they who miss out.

It's the way of life. There will always be people who clash, always people who moralise, always the self-righteous waiting in the wings. The mind is a complex thing.

In seriousness I don't think AH is that bad at all tbh, a lot of the posts will just be people looking for a laugh. There are other forums on boards, which I am probably not supposed to name, that seem to be full of people just waiting for someone new to make a post looking for a sympathetic ear, so that these sad yokes can moralise down to them and pick apart their post and make loads of judgements about them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 teemxxts

Yes it is. Welcome to the real world of bigots and people. Actually I was going to say something else but people is enough. People are people. Expect stupidity and bigotry. If you have any illusions otherwise then you are naive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

It's quite sad.
    41??

Shouldn't you be in the shed/pub/ asleep at this hour? ;)

Yeah, it's a

a/AH, b/ young enough average age on the AH forum (and with youth comes indisputable wisdom) and c/lack of regular sex

thingy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

The mind is a complex thing.

Speak for yerself mate.

oh, wait...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

You begin to recognise names after awhile. Certain people have particular groups they aren't fond of. Often they eventually go too far and end up banned for saying how the poor or whatever should be rounded up and gassed.

After awhile you know who to just roll your eyes at and not take seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

An oul boss used to say to me, if nobody thinks your a bastard, then you're worse than a bastard.

No idea what it means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

It's quite sad.

I've heard it said that
    You should never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience.

AH is the place where people attempt to disprove that theory ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Im struck by the immaturity here. The rush to attack, to judge, to condemn and to moralise without experience of being in other's situations.

It's quite sad.

Boards.ie .......it lies therein my friend

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,348 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Thanks everyone for your input. Take the Michaela McCollum thread for instance. a stupid, naive and impressionable young girl and people are baying for her blood. Sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

The AH crowd is young, that's the way it is. It won't adapt to you, so you have to adapt to it.

Stop yelling at clouds :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Paulownia

biko wrote: »
    The AH crowd is young, that's the way it is. It won't adapt to you, so you have to adapt to it.

Stop yelling at clouds :D

We all like to have our say and if nobody had an opposing opinion there would be no conversation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Opposing opinions is a bit of a AH specialty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

OP, you think that is bad ? I was ripped to pieces on After Hours a few years ago, I mean eaten by the walking dead zombies, but I did slip with my weakness of sorrowful post.

Never again will I allow these zombie headaballs get me again... run, I mean run far from this abomination after 12pm and close the demon of the page of after-hours, as it will stress you and then kill you and eat your soul.

I'm out of here never to come back, it's too dangerous, so leave now while you can.

The drug smuggler lady kind of sets herself up to be judged, she is no shrinking violet hoping people will leave her alone is she?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

It looks like I have gotten through to some folk out there, it's all quiet now and peaceful, just don't drop a pin or they will be all back really fast and fill this thread to 10,000 pages.

Shushhh.

I'm still here, that one will be going on reality shows when the Peruvians tire of her and send her back here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭JackieBauer

I just view After Hours as pure tabloid where most people talk bollocks, myself included. I promise you, most people here are probably ok in real life. Anonymity gives people more balls. It's that simple, we don't need to delve further into amatuer pyschological crap. Pinch of salt at all times on here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

Depends what they are being moralistic or judgmental about tbf.

Some are most likely trolls and being overly judgmental can get them the reaction the seek. Some do so out of genuine shock, anger or disagreement and so usually have no problem reasoning it and yet others do to be seen as being right-on. Think I prefer the trolls to the latter tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,901 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

dd972 wrote: »
    Boards.ie .......it lies therein my friend

It's not an Irish thing, it's an internet thing. People being able to hide behind a username to give exaggerated versions of their own opinions, often just to see who will take the bait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Because they're all useless (duh)

Thanks everyone for your input. Take the Michaela McCollum thread for instance. a stupid, naive and impressionable young girl and people are baying for her blood. Sad.

Oh why don't people have more time for naive drug traffickers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

I agree it is more of an internet thing. People will obviously be more open to voicing their opinion.

Some threads are unpleasant to read and it does seem to me that some people get very worked up over other people's life choices which really have no impact on them.

I also noticed that sometimes a thread can go one way or the other depending on the first few comments even though its clear the op didn't mean what has been interpreted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

1 out of 10...