Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park Seats.

• 04-04-2016 7:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭

Heading to Croker for League Semis,will have elderly people with me.Booked tickets,Hogan Stand Lower Deck row K.

Looked at seating plan but it's not that clear.....would that Row be covered by stand if it rained?

Many thanks for any replies this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Heading to Croker for League Semis,will have elderly people with me.Booked tickets,Hogan Stand Lower Deck row K.

Looked at seating plan but it's not that clear.....would that Row be covered by stand if it rained?

Not really. Row K is only 11 rows from the front.

To be covered you need to be in the double letters (AA, BB, CC etc) at least AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭feichin

Be aware, that during the championship season there are no discounted OAP seats in the Hogan stand. All the discounts (OAP & Juvenile) are for the Cusack Stand. You pay full price on line and then get a refund of the difference at the turnstile. I'm not sure if this applies to league games as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Nope. If you're in Row K, you'll get soaked. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Think you will be open to elements in that row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

What are chances that stand will be full?...Kerry wouldn't have big travelling support.Might hope to change seats if things are quiet on the day and it's wet😊

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I can speak from experience that stewards are very nice about relocating especially if you have special circumstances. Unless you want to be in the very central sections of Hogan you'll find free seats under the covers of the lower tier.

That would be great...in your opinion what's chances that there will be seats available to move back to if needs be?

Loads. The view can isn't the best from the 100% covered seats. It's not terrible, but you have to crane your neck to see some parts of the pitch. As a result, they aren't as popular as the more exposed seats, with the perfect sightline.

There will be zero chance of the stand being full, especially not for the first game.

A very good chance there'll be free seats but maybe not 3 or more free seats together. The only thing is you won't know for sure if you're taking somebodies seat or not until the start of the second game. Just make sure to ask the steward early enough because people will move up to the back when it starts raining. I also find that people can be very understanding if you take their seat with good reasoning behind it.

Worst case scenario is you can move to the Cusack where there'll be a load of free sheltered seats together and you won't get soaked on the walk over because you can just go around the halls.

A very good chance there'll be free seats but maybe not 3 or more free seats together. The only thing is you won't know for sure if you're taking somebodies seat or not until the start of the second game. Just make sure to ask the steward early enough because people will move up to the back when it starts raining. I also find that people can be very understanding if you take their seat with good reasoning behind it.

Worst case scenario is you can move to the Cusack where there'll be a load of free sheltered seats together and you won't get soaked on the walk over because you can just go around the halls.

Thanks...why is it likely there will be untaken covered seats in Cusack?

People prefer Hogan because it's an easier route to get out after the game and it's where the teams would be sitting. It always tends to fill up more than Cusack whereas you're likely to get better views in the middle of the Cusack rather than the corner of the Hogan. You might get some of the middle section of Cusack fully seated but that means there's a rake of free rows of seats in the back of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Hershall

Booked tickets last night for cusack lower row k which i know is near enough the front but when buying the tickets you have no way of knowing what section there for it could be middle or towards the ends i presume????

Hershall wrote: »
    Booked tickets last night for cusack lower row k which i know is near enough the front but when buying the tickets you have no way of knowing what section there for it could be middle or towards the ends i presume????

Google a map of the Croke Park seating plan before you book & you'll be able to see where the various sections are. There may be one on the tickets.ie website, but I find it quicker to just Google it. If booking tickets on tickets.ie, you can't choose your section. You can, if you book on Ticketmaster, but they have a booking fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Hershall wrote: »

If you booked thru tickets.ie, you'll know exactly where yer sitting .. I can't remember the exact screen but certainly before checkout it'll tell you your assigned seat numbers

*afterthought* .. if you're in the Cusack and bringing the god forbids you'll be pushed to either end as they're the family section 301-303 or 310-312

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

People prefer Hogan because it's an easier route to get out after the game and it's where the teams would be sitting. It always tends to fill up more than Cusack whereas you're likely to get better views in the middle of the Cusack rather than the corner of the Hogan. You might get some of the middle section of Cusack fully seated but that means there's a rake of free rows of seats in the back of it.

I don't think that's right. Even if your reasons are valid, (they wouldn't be for me), the refund offered surely trumps them. AFAIK the allocation in the Cusack always sells quicker.

Here is a map of the Croke Park seating, if anyone is interested.

croke%20park.gif

The first 26 rows (starting at the pitch) are A to Z. Then its AA, BB, CC and so on.

The last 12-14 rows (from roughly LL to WW) are under the cement overhang of the the Upper Cusack/Hogan Stands. I can't remember the exact row where the overhang starts, but it is somewhere around the middle of the alphabet. If it rains, you are 100% guaranteed to stay dry, but being so far back can make it hard to see some parts of the pitch. You also have to crane your neck to see if points & frees have gone over the bar.

I've enough miles on the clock to remember the time when a Dub wouldn't be caught dead in The Hogan - I still maintain it's the preserve of our country brethren :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

People prefer Hogan because it's an easier route to get out after the game

Read as "it's a shorter walk from the pub before the match".

I'm sure anyone who has gone on the trek from the Big Tree to the Cusack will understand. Fairly certain only 30% of people actually make it. The rest come down with cramp and exhaustion and won't be seen again until Christmas.

Watching a game from the Cusack stand, is a bit like going to IKEA. Only the brave make it out alive. If you don't want to wind up in the canal, or in the bowels of Summerhill, I'd suggest laying a trail of breadcrumbs (Handel & Gretel style) from your car to your seat. But the feckin' pigeons keep eating them all !

Aye getting out of the Cusack after a game down James' Avenue to Clonliffe is tighter than a mouses ear. There was a game last year when someone had the bright idea to open the gate at the handball alley to improve the flow - for the sake of a few hundred yards I'd guarantee it knocked 10 mins off the walk.

There used to be a quick way into The Davin from Jones' Rd just after the bridge .. jobsworths have closed that entrance on safety grounds and put another 10 mins on the journey down to Gills ..:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,741 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

On another note the seat numbers start in the middle of the row.

So if you are in Section 305 Seat 1, you are slap bang in the middle of 305, the aisle seats are 14 and 15 if I recall.

The reason for this is so that when you emerge from the tunnel your section is both to the left and right of you.

On another note the seat numbers start in the middle of the row.

So if you are in Section 305 Seat 1, you are slap bang in the middle of 305, the aisle seats are 14 and 15 if I recall.

The reason for this is so that when you emerge from the tunnel your section is both to the left and right of you.

Father for some reason I've just pictured you in an Air Stewardess uniform

When leaving the Cusack stand, all the walking isn't the problem. It is the lack of proper street lighting to facilitate thousands of people getting from A to B in a tightly confined space. (The residents would probably object to stronger lights, and I can't blame them.) It's bad enough on a bright summer day. It is downright dangerous, after leagues games on dark winter nights. If your car is parked on the Cusack stand of the stadium, or your bus home goes from the North Strand, it makes sense to leave via the Cusack, but you really have to watch where you're going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Read as "it's a shorter walk from the pub before the match".

I'm sure anyone who has gone on the trek from the Big Tree to the Cusack will understand. Fairly certain only 30% of people actually make it. The rest come down with cramp and exhaustion and won't be seen again until Christmas.

:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Aye getting out of the Cusack after a game down James' Avenue to Clonliffe is tighter than a mouses ear. There was a game last year when someone had the bright idea to open the gate at the handball alley to improve the flow - for the sake of a few hundred yards I'd guarantee it knocked 10 mins off the walk.

There used to be a quick way into The Davin from Jones' Rd just after the bridge .. jobsworths have closed that entrance on safety grounds and put another 10 mins on the journey down to Gills ..:(

One of the great secrets of getting to the Hill and saving at least those ten minutes was in through the back of the handball club, maybe even having time to have another pint of creamy porter just for sustenance, and then saunter out the front into the queue :)

But of course, some bollix copped on and for spurious reasons decided that this was unsafe (and not uncoincidentially I suspect desprived the handball club of a few extra bob on match days :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

To be out of the rain, rows GG back are 'officially' from where the covering starts, but in my experience you'd want to be a row or two further back again in HH or II at least to make sure you stay dry. Especially if it's any way windy.

Forecast looking good for Dublin tomorrow:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 coddle

Sorry for hijacking, but does anyone else have premiums for today? Not begging, just wondering if it's Reserve Ticket 1 being used?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

coddle wrote: »
    Sorry for hijacking, but does anyone else have premiums for today? Not begging, just wondering if it's Reserve Ticket 1 being used?

Yeah it's a Reserve Ticket 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 coddle

Thanks!!

Forecast looking good for Dublin tomorrow:)

Cloudy, overcast and rather windy here down & I'm only down the road from Croker. Looks like it could start lashing rain, or break into blazing sunshine any minute. I'd be packing the poncho, just in case.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Not really. Row K is only 11 rows from the front.

To be covered you need to be in the double letters (AA, BB, CC etc) at least AFAIK.

In the Cusack it's from row T back to be covered. Double letters (AA, BB, CC etc) to be safe.

Hogan roof comes out further but not sure by how much. Row T would defo be well under the roof in the Hogan.

Was well under the roof on Sunday and it was warmer outside to be honest, although there was no rain. Better standing at this time of year perhaps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Was well under the roof on Sunday and it was warmer outside to be honest, although there was no rain. Better standing at this time of year perhaps!

My standing days are over.
    Bringing the missus to her first league final so we've been shoved up to Cusack 712. Daycent view in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

My standing days are over.
    Bringing the missus to her first league final so we've been shoved up to Cusack 712. Daycent view in fairness.
    if the 1916 show after the game really has 3500 participants, then being in the upper levels might actually be an advantage to see the full extent of the show.

Just remember, the higher up you go, the colder it gets. Not something you need to consider in August or September, but last Sunday, it was effing Baltic in Croke Park and I was sitting very close to the pitch in the Lower Hogan.

Is the Hill open, does anyone know? PP can only collect from next Tuesday but they are selling Nally tkts. DCB seem not to know...

We got word that they were asking for chungfellids to hold their club flag on Hill16 during the celebration gig - the thought is that every club in Ireland will be represented on The Hill .. so if that's the case the pensioners stand (Nally) will be all that's open

So fk the 5/6,000 people who turn up in January and February?

What genius decided this?

Bonniedog wrote: »
    So fk the 5/6,000 people who turn up in January and February?

What genius decided this?

Could be talking out me blowhole Bonnie - but one of the lads on the exec was telling me Croker were looking for 2 volunteers for the gig

Was on to PP and all they said was that tickets can be collected from 19th, but that as far as they knew, was only stand and Nally for pass holders. Presumably they will pass off Nally to Hill pass holders.

Shows complete lack of respect for people who go to games all the year round, if you ask me. And nobody has :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Bonniedog wrote:
    Shows complete lack of respect for people who go to games all the year round, if you ask me. And nobody has

It's one game in 100 years. Its really not a big deal to sit/stand somewhere else.

Hardly disrespect.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    It's one game in 100 years. Its really not a big deal to sit/stand somewhere else.

Hardly disrespect.

Dublin supporters have been fked around this season with the PP, season tkts not being scanned by jobsworths in Newry and elsewhere, not telling people the match in Ros had been changed so a few gombeen men could turn a few bob. And now they are commemorating 1916 by closing the Hill. In the one competing county that had people who participated in it :)

I'll be in Gills when they are having their thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

tickets for the hill for Sunday are now on sale on tickets.ie
    otherwise only upper Hogan or Davin remaining, so it'll be a decent crowd. Papers were saying 50,000 but it looks like it'll be a little more