Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are the unions right to close the Luas on weekend of 1916 celebrations

• 26-03-2016 10:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭

Is it right that unions should make it difficult for many ordinary people who might have wanted to use Luas to travel to the 1916 centenary commemorations ?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

NO!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,891 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Given their demands, some phrase to do with nose face and spite seems apt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

absolutely not.

its a disgrace that this has been allowed to happen, but hopefully its a watershed moment in terms of the powers that Unions have in this country, especially for those in well paid public sector roles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭worded

They really don't give a Fcuk about anyone but themselves.

There are 52 weekends in the year, why make the public suffer so much
    on such an important hoetoric weekend?

Aside from the public, what about all the tourists here?

It's probably not possible but they should all be sacked for this IMHO along with who ever drafted their contracts. How Are they getting away with this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Uncle Ben

absolutely not.

its a disgrace that this has been allowed to happen, but hopefully its a watershed moment in terms of the powers that Unions have in this country, especially for those in well paid public sector roles.

Private sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭RealJohn

Yes. If they're not happy and have given some ground and their employers still won't play ball, they are right to strike. They've probably seen how ineffective industrial action that doesn't affect the public (or doesn't affect them very much) is from the teachers unions (whose campaign of industrial action is a joke) so they're not taking any chances.

They called off the St. Patrick's Day strike and got no thanks for it so now they've no reason to play nice since it's got them nowhere so far.

They are pretty much a bunch of unskilled workers looking for ridiculous demands, if they want such a high wage then go get a degree and get a skilled job. They should be fired and there will be thousands of people willing to do their jobs for less money.

The fact that they are striking this weekend makes me dislike them even more than I did before. Lads ye are fecking Luas drivers not doctors, they need to be realistic and see they are on massive wages for what they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

1913 here we go again, they tried it three years ago & Leo threw them out with a swift comment of "well, we can always find someone to drive them" & they went back to work the next day..
    They should be ashamed of their chip-on-the-shoulder pretence. The Lark has flown, Move on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

RealJohn wrote: »
    Yes. If they're not happy and have given some ground and their employers still won't play ball, they are right to strike. They've probably seen how ineffective industrial action that doesn't affect the public (or doesn't affect them very much) is from the teachers unions (whose campaign of industrial action is a joke) so they're not taking any chances.

They called off the St. Patrick's Day strike and got no thanks for it so now they've no reason to play nice since it's got them nowhere so far.

They got 18% over 33 months, iirc. What other cohort of employees, in the private or public service has got that kind of offer? Sacked the lot of them should be.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭chair28

Dirtbags, pure scum. Hope they all get the chop over this.
    I dont know one single person who supports them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Why were the original tram lines ever taken as imagine what Dublin would be like if it had been preserved to back in 1916 style with obviously a bit of updating.

It was a bad idea to strike this weekend for what is on but sure all its done is put people back onto the transport Tha was carrying them before it came into existence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭chair28

Why were the original tram lines ever taken as imagine what Dublin would be like if it had been preserved to back in 1916 style with obviously a bit of updating.

It was a bad idea to strike this weekend for what is on but sure all its done is put people back onto the transport Tha was carrying them before it came into existence.

Exactly what ive been saying to people.We got on Ok before the Luas,we'll get on Ok without it. These lot should be left strike without pay and see how long they last. Should be replaced with people who want to work. 7 weeks training for 34k....... Yes please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

No, rule 1 of striking is to make sure you keep as much public support as possible. They have done the total opposite here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Are transdev, the private operator of Luas right to let this strike happen on the weekend it 1916 celebrations ?

No.

It takes ttwo for a strike. The company need to take some blame too.

(I'm not agreeing with the divers here either before anyone jumps at me with a sword, keyboard warrior style)

Are transdev, the private operator of Luas right to let this strike happen on the weekend it 1916 celebrations ?

No.

It takes ttwo for a strike. The company need to take some blame too.

(I'm not agreeing with the divers here either before anyone jumps at me with a sword, keyboard warrior style)
    The company are not on strike, they have offered as much as they can and the WRC recommended acceptance yet the luas staff want more, that is pure greed and should be punished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

What ever happened to worker solidarity?
    Just because nurses/guards/teachers are poorly paid doesn't mean no one else can fight for better pay.

When you look at the deal on offer it was pathetic.
    The 18.7% increase that has been spouted by the media would only have applied to about half the workers and the other half and new entrants would be paying for that in reduced terms and there was an extra 2.5 hours work at standard rate whereas now it would be overtime.
    They wanted half their workers to pay for the other half to get a wage increase.

As for 1916, it's unfortunate but if you have a card you play it and Transdev have had an awful long time to put a fair deal on the table.

What ever happened to worker solidarity?
    Just because nurses/guards/teachers are poorly paid doesn't mean no one else can fight for better pay.

When you look at the deal on offer it was pathetic.
    The 18.7% increase that has been spouted by the media would only have applied to about half the workers and the other half and new entrants would be paying for that in reduced terms and there was an extra 2.5 hours work at standard rate whereas now it would be overtime.
    They wanted half their workers to pay for the other half to get a wage increase.

As for 1916, it's unfortunate but if you have a card you play it and Transdev have had an awful long time to put a fair deal on the table.

Worker Solidarity?!?

How could Nurses, Gardai, Teachers and other workers with worse hours and conditions and on starting salaries that are about half what these luas workers have turned down, be expected to have any solidarity with, or support the luas workers in any way??

Now you may say that the Nurses, Teachers Gardai etc can strike just like the Luas workers and you know what you would be right except they won't!

Why wont they?

They don't strike because they know that we are all in the same boat financially and we all have to make sacrifices and we all know that one of the only groups who have not had to make sacrifices are luas workers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

..and again, we don't need yet another re-hashing