Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adverts.ie Problem , Gardaí, law

• 24-03-2016 5:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22

I recently bought a phone of adverts for a substantial amount. I met the person and exchanged money for the phone I asked was the phone unlocked and we went to a phone shop to try but my sim needed to be cut and I said it's fine I trust you as she has over 25 good feedback posts and I believed she was genuine, I then handed her the money in a envelop and asked her did she want to count it but she said she trusted me as I trusted her. She then rings me a half an hour later saying she lost the envelop and contacted the guards and she said the guards will ring me to conform i had met with her and the times, I asked her are you saying I didn't give her the money and she said no she told the guards she lost/stolen the envelope. I was just wondering do you think I am in any threat of being accused as not giving her money or anything of that nature by the gardaí as i handed her money and the gardaí of will check the camaras and see me handing money but her not checking the envelop, I am afraid she might have told the guards a different story that I didn't give her any money.. I need your opinions thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Db42798

I understand this might sound stupid but I am concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Db42798 wrote: »
    I understand this might sound stupid but I am concerned.

Not your problem if she lost money. Sounds like she's just looking for proof she had the money to lose in case it turns up, or has already turned up

Thanks for your help, I am just concerned she told the guards that I had not given her any money in the envelope and she told me the complete opposite. It was my first time using adverts and I was sceptical about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

It might be a shakedown.

What do you mean by this??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

You'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

What do you mean by this??
    The phone might still be locked to the previous owner's account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

She might return with a sob story about needing the phone back becasue money being robbed, boo hoo etc

I wouldn't worry about it. Does the phone work?

Victor wrote: »
    The phone might still be locked to the previous owner's account.

It's not because I rang her after asking for the iCloud account password and she told me it so I could disable find my iPhone and reset the phone

She might return with a sob story about needing the phone back becasue money being robbed, boo hoo etc

I wouldn't worry about it. Does the phone work?

Yes it works perfect and everything is reset of it including her 'find my iPhone' so she has no way of locking it. I was just concerned she is telling the guards a different story that I gave her no money in the envelop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

Yes it works perfect and everything is reset of it including her 'find my iPhone' so she has no way of locking it. I was just concerned she is telling the guards a different story that I gave her no money in the envelop

it was up to her to check it at the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭maggiepip

If she was going to report you to the guards for not giving her the money, I don't see why on earth she'd ring you and tell you she'd reported the money lost/stolen. Doesn't make sense. I wouldn't worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

You'll have to destroy any evidence of cctv op, there's no other way to be sure.
    You'll be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Needs Must

Tell her to post it on the lost and found section in Adverts, and to stop wasting your time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Sounds like she just wants you to confirm to AGS on the phone that you gave her an envelope with money to the value of €____ (how much you paid to her) so if it's handed in to them they'll know its hers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Could also be for insurance reasons, she might need to swear she has the cash by making a statement to the Gards? I know some travel insurance covers cash, and some house insurance covers random items that you lose while you're out of the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Was up to her to check it when she gave you the phone. Otherwise she looks like a t*t for giving you a phone in exchange for an empty envelope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Kettleson

Sounds like a reasonable request from her. Forget about it. I hope she finds her cash.

maggiepip wrote: »
    If she was going to report you to the guards for not giving her the money, I don't see why on earth she'd ring you and tell you she'd reported the money lost/stolen. Doesn't make sense. I wouldn't worry.

Thank you I know it sound stupid I was just concerned

I don't blame you getting hassled when some people can be so dodgy, but this doesn't sound like anything to worry about at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

maggiepip wrote: »
    I don't blame you getting hassled when some people can be so dodgy, but this doesn't sound like anything to worry about at all.

With the information you've given us this thread we could have had been looking at at least two other possible threads on here and a full episode of Joe Duffy...
    1. Ive just handed over a large sum of money for a phone without testing it and now I've discovered it's stolen/ doesn't work
    2. Ive just sold a phone to a guy and he gave me an envelope 'of money' for it which I didnt check and Ive subsequently discovered it to be empty/short

With the information you've given us this thread we could have had been looking at at least two other possible threads on here and a full episode of Joe Duffy...
    1. Ive just handed over a large sum of money for a phone without testing it and now I've discovered it's stolen/ doesn't work
    2. Ive just sold a phone to a guy and he gave me an envelope 'of money' for it which I didnt check and Ive subsequently discovered it to be empty/short

But I did test the phone and it worked perfect and I handed over the correct smount

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Johnnyhpipe

Theres no reason for any come back on you here. Don't worry about it. You'll certainly wont hear from the gardai. Hope she finds the money, but if not thats her problem, not yours.

Exactly! Stop worrying OP, theres no issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Refer to this part
    she has over 25 good feedback posts and I believed she was genuine

And keep it that way until you have a proper reason to believe otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 982 ✭✭✭VincePP

It was a private transaction - the gardai would have absolutely zero powers in a civil dispute and would not even contact you.

If however she lost the envelope and someone handed it in, she would have to show some evidence that it was hers.

Hence you'll be doing the decent thing in saying no issue if gardai wish to confirm it with you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 331 ✭✭roverrules

Could also run along the lines of, girl stopped and searched by Gardai, find money in envelope, suspected proceeds of drug dealing or similar, need to verify where cash came from. Short answer, wouldn't worry as long as phone works and is never reported as stolen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

But I did test the phone and it worked perfect and I handed over the correct smount
    I asked was the phone unlocked and we went to a phone shop to try but my sim needed to be cut and I said it's fine I trust you
    I then handed her the money in a envelop and asked her did she want to count it but she said she trusted me

You trusted her that the phone was unlocked, she trusted you that the right amount of cash was in the envelope.....there's waaaaay too much trust on both sides of this transaction for my liking....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I was just concerned she is telling the guards a different story that I gave her no money in the envelop
    Unless she reported to the Gardai that the phone was stolen, to get a new phone from her insurance, and they then blacklist your phone....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭bren2002

Not true, she could have the phone blocked by all networks using its imei code. It doesn't benefit her based on this story, it would have to be reported as stolen and reimbursed through insurance so she gets paid on the double.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭ciarano

Stop speculating and contact Adverts.ie directly for correct advice
    support @adverts.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

ciarano wrote: »
    Stop speculating and contact Adverts.ie directly for correct advice
    support @adverts.ie

Or even here - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1200