Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What does a pair of shoes up high mean

• 21-03-2016 9:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭

I see this around cork city..pair of shoes up high on the cables

What is it a sign of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Todd Gack

It's a sign someone has thrown a pair of shoes over a cable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Todd Gack wrote: »

did you think of that one all by yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

A tightrope walker died there :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I've heard it said that it's a sign of drugs on sale, which would have credence added to it by the fact that they can be seen all over the place in some of Dublin's most notoriously drug infested housing estates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

They will scuff up the topless dancing runway ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

an angle fell frm heavn luv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Todd Gack

Specialun wrote: »
    did you think of that one all by yourself

The thinking required was fairly minimal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Honestly, when I read the title my first thought was "Someone's doing a handstand?"

Far as I know it means nothing more than some eejit had too much time on his hands and presumably someone else's runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,592 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

I've heard it said that it's a sign of drugs on sale, which would have credence added to it by the fact that they can be seen all over the place in some of Dublin's most notoriously drug infested housing estates.

Probably a sole trader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

The underpants gnomes have upped their game...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

It's for drug deals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

They used to say that in the late 70s as well. A myth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Skuxx

You see it in Limerick too, I've heard the drug dealer story also!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

me_irl wrote: »

Hah interesting read! So basically it just means "people are idiots".

Amazing how many things can be explained that way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Stealthfins

At the moment I think there's a pair hanging in Kilfenora lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Samaris wrote: »
    Hah interesting read! So basically it just means "people are idiots".

Amazing how many things can be explained that way.

seen an interview with gang members in LA i think & they said they took them off & threw them up as a memorial for the guy who was shot dead
    no ghost stories like the wiki link :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

I genuinely saw the title and thought you were on about "High top runners" like the basketball shoe things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,595 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Wouldnt that just tell the police where to wait?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

In the city about 12 miles from where I live they put boots on the lines when there's been a suicide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I've heard it said that it's a sign of drugs on sale, .
    I imagine the OP is fully aware of that total bullshit. Maybe they truly are "special" though, as it is very easy to find out.

There is even a wiki page on it.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shoe_tossing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Just wanted to say thanks - a few posts made me laugh out loud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

In my day the art was in teabag tossing. Real fine art to get a tea bag launched onto a wire. We did this to dry out our teabags for another brew next morn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I know in a few estates in the town I live in, when some chungfellit dies (usually a drug overdose or suicide) the friends toss their Nike airs up on the wires in their estate. Don't know why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,660 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

I saw a pair hanging over power lines at the junction of bridgefoot st & oliver bond st in dublin yday.

Definitely no drugs around there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

It means luke skywalker woz ere.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,566 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

In the city about 12 miles from where I live they put boots on the lines when there's been a suicide.
    But what if they accidentally electrocuted themselves throwing boots up there ... and then there's another accident ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

But what if they accidentally electrocuted themselves throwing boots up there ... and then there's another accident ...

I suppose if you're throwing something and not letting go... You probably deserve it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

There's this new thing called Google. It'll never take off though. http://bfy.tw/4s25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

Todd Gack wrote: »

It's a pretty good sign of that, yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

gangland wars, they're gracious in de feet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,706 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

bit insensitive if they hung themselves though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭FallSilently

Just don't be standing under power lines when there's a rapture expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

It means Finchy lost the office quiz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Specialun wrote: »
    I see this around cork city..pair of shoes up high on the cables

What is it a sign of

Means another langer died in the hood. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

They could be coded by type for dealers. Hiking boots for grass, trainers for speed, Docs for prescription drugs and loafers for free samples.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

OldGoat wrote: »
    They could be coded by type for dealers. Hiking boots for grass, trainers for speed, Docs for prescription drugs and loafers for free samples.

Loafers don't have laces though. so you need to be really accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Bio Mech wrote: »
    Loafers don't have laces though. so you need to be really accurate.
    And dealers don't often give away free samples, so, you know, irony.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

me_irl wrote: »
    an angle fell frm heavn luv

thats acute

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer