Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wearing teeshirt and shorts in March

• 20-03-2016 11:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭

This is absolute madness. I know it was a nice sunny day today albeit a bit nippy, but I'm seeing several young men walking around in teeshirts and in one case a pair of shorts this evening, and temperatures having dropped to 3 degrees ! What planet are they on ? They must have unbelievable resistance to colds and flus. I'd be smothered if I tried that

I saw a 14/15 year old girl in my local centra, wearing a string vest!
    Some poor old wan in the estate asked her if she was OK, did she need a jacket?
    She looked at the old wan as if she was Mad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Ice Maiden

And there are people who wear jumpers and coats on warm days. Such attention-seeking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

congratulations, you are now official old :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

I guess they have to show off all that hard work in the gym :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,103 ✭✭✭✭neris

Can eskimos not enjoy spring in their own way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I'm not a fan of jumpers/jackets/coats at all and unless it's lashing rain or absolutely freezing, I'll mostly only wear a t-shirt/shirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    I'm not a fan of jumpers/jackets/coats at all and unless it's lashing rain or absolutely freezing, I'll mostly only wear a t-shirt/shirt

I'm the same. Never wear a jacket, just go out in whatever top I'm wearing. Unless I'm going to the in laws, then I wear a jacket because if I don't then they'll give me one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

Ally Dick wrote: »
    This is absolute madness. I know it was a nice sunny day today albeit a bit nippy, but I'm seeing several young men walking around in teeshirts and in one case a pair of shorts this evening, and temperatures having dropped to 3 degrees ! What planet are they on ? They must have unbelievable resistance to colds and flus. I'd be smothered if I tried that

You don't get the cold or flu from being cold. I mean, your immune system can be slightly weakened if you're cold, but being cold doesn't make you sick by itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Still a bit nippy out there for that ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I saw a half-naked woman running around out the front with two suckler-children hanging off her teats as she played the banjo while smoking a joint, pushing a €500 buggy with a pedigree Pug in it with M&S shopping bags hanging off the handles and then she got into a gold plated HSE Punto and fled to her 8 bedroomed rent allowance home.

I'm not a cold person and I wear light long-sleeved tops all the time - they are made of flimsy material, and I often just leave my jacket in the car if going some place; don't mind just walking from car into someplace without a jacket. But bare legs and arms in this chill (unless doing something to break a sweat) is just weird.

I saw a half-naked woman running around out the front with two suckler-children hanging off her teats as she played the banjo while smoking a joint, pushing a €500 buggy with a pedigree Pug in it with M&S shopping bags hanging off the handles and then she got into a gold plated HSE Punto and fled to her 8 bedroomed rent allowance home.

I don't think the OP had any problem with as many stereotypes as you're trying to

Ice Maiden wrote: »
    I'm not a cold person and I wear light long-sleeved tops all the time - they are made of flimsy material, and I often just leave my jacket in the car if going some place; don't mind just walking from car into someplace without a jacket. But bare legs and arms in this chill (unless doing something to break a sweat) is just weird.

Weird!? In what way is it weird? If I'm cold I wear layers, in rarely cold so as I said above I don't wear jumpers, jackets or coats. Hardly weird :confused:

I guess they have to show off all that hard work in the gym :rolleyes:

Ah Jaysus! It may be the case for some but definitely not for me. I don't like wearing layers so I don't. I'm either weird or showing off the guns :rolleyes:

Weird!? In what way is it weird? If I'm cold I wear layers, in rarely cold so as I said above I don't wear jumpers, jackets or coats. Hardly weird :confused:
    Very unusual so. Plus there is a leap from jumpers to bare arms.

I'd prefer unusual, thanks! :D I've a few long sleeve t-shirts but yeah, mostly I'd be bare arms all year around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,711 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Colds and flus are viruses spread by human contact not by being cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Good idea: Bermuda shorts.

Bad idea: Short shorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

bubblypop wrote: »
    I don't think the OP had any problem with as many stereotypes as you're trying to

Fair point.

I'd prefer unusual, thanks! :D I've a few long sleeve t-shirts but yeah, mostly I'd be bare arms all year around.
    I never wear jumpers - blouses/chiffon tops all the time, and a light cardigan these evenings. But shorts - the legs would freeze off. :pac:

I've hairy legs so I'm grand in shorts, toastie!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

I remember in college about 6 years, during one of our snowy seasons and girls would be wearing those little dolly shoes with no socks and maybe a little light blazer jacket, open of course with a low cut top, bare chest to exposed to jack frost....don't know how nothing fell off!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Ah Jaysus! It may be the case for some but definitely not for me. I don't like wearing layers so I don't. I'm either weird or showing off the guns :rolleyes:

Quit showing off ya big ham ya :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Ah, this is a new trend.

All these Polish lads going around in vests. Irish buckos onto the same lark now.

It'll all end in tears I say!