Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saint Patrick's Day Parade

• 17-03-2016 12:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭

Anybody watching. Just about to kick off. Looks like it could starts lashing rain at any minute.

I'd love to know what Blathnaid really thinks of Des Cahill, I'd say that would be some conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Oh dear....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Phoenix3

Anybody know the name of the music used in the opening shots? Know it well but cant think of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

And what do you know about St Patrick?

"Er, he got kidnapped by someone in America and brought to Ireland".

I LOLed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,708 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Anybody watching. Just about to kick off. Looks like it could starts lashing rain at any minute.

I'd love to know what Blathnaid really thinks of Des Cahill, I'd say that would be some conversation.

They're saying that it's clear skies and sunshine.

There is a veritable vista of logos of Irish companies behind Blainaid, like Irish Ferries, RTE, Failte Ireland and Volkswagen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

murpho999 wrote: »
    They're saying that it's clear skies and sunshine.

Yeah murph, and it's looks like clear skies now but is it just my TV or does it seem dark somehow. ??

syklops wrote: »
    There is a veritable vista of logos of Irish companies behind Blainaid, like Irish Ferries, RTE, Failte Ireland and Volkswagen.

Well "Imagine if" they weren't there then there'd be no parade.

Would they not put Joanne up on a float, that's what they usually do for the Grand Marshal??

Was wondering that too, normally go in an open topped car

I think it was her own decision to show how she and other disabled people can cope themselves, and fair play to her if that's the case.

Well "Imagine if" they weren't there then there'd be no parade.

Its not the logos I had a problem with its the inclusion of that well known Irish brand Volkswagen.

syklops wrote: »
    Its not the logos I had a problem with its the inclusion of that well known Irish brand Volkswagen.

I find it more shameful how RTE as our national broadcaster run pathetic phone competitions on every live show, and especially St Patrick's Day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Aidan Power there too.

Not a bad skin by all accounts

I find it more shameful how RTE as our national broadcaster run pathetic phone competitions on every live show, and especially St Patrick's Day.

Gots to pay the bills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭musiknonstop

Well doesn't O'Connell Bridge look marvellous?

mansize wrote: »
    Gots to pay the bills

That's what the licence and advertising is for. They should be funded stupid competitions with ridiculously simple answers.

Today's prize is a straightforward €5k cash and they are trying to make it out to be connected to Ireland. Pathetic stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭swingking

why are so many of the marching bands from countries OTHER than Ireland. Surely it should just feature Irish bands ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,505 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

And even worse ads, could they not have given a full uninterupted show? I suppose with people like Joe Duffy on over €8k a week they have to get every last cent they can.

swingking wrote: »
    why are so many of the marching bands from countries OTHER than Ireland. Surely it should just feature Irish bands ?

Because Irish bands are marching in other cities like New York. Don't knock it. Lots of fresh talent in Dublin city tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

swingking wrote: »

Because it always has. Plus we're not a country awash with marching bands.

And even worse ads, could they not have given a full uninterupted show? I suppose with people like Joe Duffy on over €8k a week they have to get every last cent they can.

That annoys me more than the textline competition. Breaking for ad breaks every twenty minutes. You cant look at the screen without seeing an ad of some kind, between behind Blainaidh, on the partitions on the street, etc, and when you get tired of that theres an ad break.

Next week, there's gonna be a serious investigation in to the cross breeding that is apparently occuring in Dublin Zoo.

Surely the third option should be Orange House?

Well doesn't O'Connell Bridge look marvellous?

Yeah, they are getting all the bands through early in preparation for all the teenagers in Celtic jerseys swigging flagons of cider that will be arriving at 6pm.

6pm? Try about half 2.

Could they not have taken one day off from advertising McDonalds fattening our kids?

Another Ad break.

First ad is for RTE content.
    Second is for McDonalds.
    Third is for Supervalu
    Fourth is for Aviva
    Next is for Expedia
    Next is for CalorGas
    Then Tesco Mobile

GDY151

They should leave the cameras in the city and broadcast live from Temple Bar around 10pm for live mayhem.

And... its over.

They should leave the cameras in the city and broadcast live from Temple Bar around 10pm for live mayhem.

Dont be silly, theyd be robbed. Or smashed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭blackcard

Gardai estimated the crowds at the St. Patricks Day Parade to be around 600,000. Right to Change sources state that there were at least 50 million at the march.

blackcard wrote: »
    Gardai estimated the crowds at the St. Patricks Day Parade to be around 600,000. Right to Change sources state that there were at least 50 million at the march.

The pro life crowd say 60 million, but they count unborn babies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Heckler

http://www.earthcam.com/world/ireland/dublin/?cam=templebar

GDY151

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

Anyone know why the old guy with the feather headdress that walks the bike wasn't in the parade this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭bored_stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

Yeah, watching it, who's yer man Tommy Smith as i've seen his face before on something?
    He had an interesting fact that the parade is 14yrs older than the US!

Its amazing and annoying when the RTE newsreaders suddenly start speaking Irish on this one day

Was just saying the same think to my partner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭lukin

Very strange get-up on Catriona Perry on the news from New York just now.I don't have a screen capture unfortunately.It sure was weird.

Dressed as a woodland animal of some sort wasn't she, not really paying attention

La Fheile Phadraig dhuit! :p
    It's also Seachtain na Gaeilge & not Coicis, but lasts for 2wks instead of a week
    cock-up more like it :rolleyes:

I like the mixture of gaeilge with English

Dressed as a woodland animal of some sort wasn't she, not really paying attention

Yeah I must screen capture it if it's on the news at 9.

lukin wrote: »
    Yeah I must screen capture it if it's on the news at 9.

Check the +1 channel, you should be able to catch it now.

287dyxx.png
    If you go down to the woods today...

287dyxx.png

I just saw that, has she a 'habit' of doing that, as it was a warm day there.
    Although i did like her getup doin the Oscars!

I came across this, what do you think on this:

Gary Busey, the definition of ZANY will join us as the Official Starter of the parade!
    Bearing the distinction of the World’s Shortest St. Patrick’s Day Parade, the route in Hot Springs, Arkansas covers just one 98 foot long street from start to finish. The Bridge Street parade is always presided over by a celebrity grand marshal, who have included Jim Belushi, Bo Derek, Mike Rowe, and Mario Lopez.

http://www.shorteststpats.com/

287dyxx.png

She's dressed like Yoda!

Yoda-banner_455_312_c1.jpg