Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Assault by LUAS security guard

• 13-03-2016 10:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34

On Monday myself and a friend were pinned to the ground and were threatened to be 'put to sleep', at a LUAS stop by STT Security.

My friend got kicked off the LUAS (rightly so) for holding the door while I bought my ticket and was asked to leave the station. We had entered by 'Entrance A' yet 'Entrance B' was closer to his house and would have taken a good ten minutes extra if he exited the same way we entered, so he started walking to Entrance B. They two STT men then starting pushing him towards the other entrance before shoving him against the wall, knocking his watch off. When I saw this I went over, picked up the watch, and attempted to give it back to my friend, but instead, one of the Security grabbed the watch and dropped it to the ground.

After 30 seconds of pushing him against a wall one officer grabbed my friend by the neck, causing notable discomfort. I shouted several times to take his hand of his neck, which he didn't listen to, so I put my hand on the Security Guards arm saying it again.

Upon this he turned to me and starting ushering me towards an exit which I complied to. Just before the exit after me saying I was no threat and showing him my hands were out by my side he wrapped an arm around my neck and started forcing me down saying, 'Shut up or I'll put you to sleep'.
    When I went to ground he held me down by grabbing my neck and forcing my face into the ground, even though I gave him the option of holding my hand behind my back to hold me down.

When I was allowed back up 40 seconds later I saw a further 3 more Security officers pinning my friend down on the ground holding his neck.
    They rang the Gardaí and we were happy to wait around and give our statement and address etc.

I haven't heard from the Gardaí since and this happened Monday night.
    I have videos on my phone which are blurry but there was a luas CCTV camera right above our heads.

I'm going down to the Garda station today to press charges for assault against the officer that assaulted me and to also give a statement for the assault on my friend.

What legal action can be taken against these officers? And would I need to hire a solicitor?
    P.S None of us were intoxicated, and none of us lashed back at the officers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

If you're serious about pursuing it (civilly) you'll need a solicitor. Some may take it on a no foal no fee basis you'll just have to shop around. It's probably better to go with a recommendation than prioritise no foal no fee but it simply depends on finances.

You've left out (and there's no point in putting it in as there are always two side to a story) your friends conduct in all of this. Bear in mind CCTV can be interpreted in different ways, a large show of force is usually the best way to hold someone who's acting the maggot. Obviously there would be a discussion around whether the security were freelancing or simply doing what they were trained to do.

To me it sounds a bit unprofessional and perhaps a bit heavy handed for the offence but as I say, two sides to every story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 gaahurling

I understand where you're coming from with the two sides to the story but I have perfect audio on the videos and if they present the CCTV then they should go hand in hand to get a better idea of what went on.
    You can hear him pleading 'Please get off me' from start til end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

gaahurling wrote: »
    You can hear him pleading 'Please get off me' from start til end

Usually used by most people been held onto by security or the gardai along with "get off me I didn't go anything "

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,773 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Moderator: This is a request for legal advice, which is expressly prohibited by the forum charter and site rules.

If you require legal advice, please engage the services of a legal professional.

Please read the forum charter before posting again.