Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Famous Actors doing commercials/ads on tv

• 12-03-2016 7:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,456 ✭✭✭

I noticed a surge of ads on tv recently with famous actors involved. There's the one with Harvey Keitel playing his character from Pulp Fiction "Winston Wolfe" and he's promoting Direct Line. Then you have Arnold Schwarzenegger doing an ad for this mobile app game called Mobile Strike, and Christoph Waltz is doing this ad for another mobile app game called Clash of Clans.

Anyway it got me thinking. Why do famous actors go in for this type of thing? What's their purpose for doing ads/commercials on tv? I mean is it a money thing, or are they just trying to get a job? Because it seems to me that they would have no problem getting a role in a new movie or something, and they don't strike me as being skint.

I don't know, it just rubs me the wrong way for some reason. It feels like shameless self promoting to me, or actors selling themselves out or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,157 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

It's another job.
    More money.
    For the craic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1 Migrant Worker

Blew all their money on coke and whores and now need some cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Yeah, it just makes no sense.

Why make x amount of dollars doing 30 seconds of work when you could do a film for 3-6 months for x amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭gifted

Van damme dude ....doing an advert for some beer...better off if he sued the plastic surgeon...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭NATLOR

Stallone doing a bread ad takes the biscuit (or should that be the sandwich :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

If that Clooney coffee ad could make love to itself, it would.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

It's money for old rope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

As said above it's easy money for a couple of hours work. The reason they're chosen is to give a distinctive voice to the client's campaign, there's an added bonus if people recognise the particular voice but even if they don't you get that reassurance of a voice that feels familiar even if you don't know why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,049 ✭✭✭✭bnt

It's not a new thing, in general, but it is relatively new in UK & Ireland, it seems. US actors have been doing commercials in Japan for years. See here for examples & pictures.

Ye Hypocrites, are these your pranks
    To murder men and gie God thanks?
    Desist for shame, proceed no further
    God won't accept your thanks for murder.

―Robert Burns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

razorblunt wrote: »

They are shockin smug, but in fairness I believe most of his fee goes to the charities he works with in South Sudan.

Doesn't make the ads any less annoying though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,564 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

DAOWNLOAD NAWH FROM DA AHPP STOHRE!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

maudgonner wrote: »
    They are shockin smug, but in fairness I believe most of his fee goes to the charities he works with in South Sudan.

Doesn't make the ads any less annoying though.

Yeah, I have no problem with the fees or them doing it. I mean, it's alot of money for, what, half a days work at a time? More power to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Arne doing the Mobile Strike ads.... they are just terrible,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,526 ✭✭✭valoren

What did Lawrence Olivier say about taking roles that were low on quality but paid handsomely?

"They drove a dump truck full of money up to my house! I'm not made of stone!"*

* Money, dear boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,823 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Riddle101 wrote: »
    I noticed a surge of ads on tv recently with famous actors involved. There's the one with Harvey Keitel playing his character from Pulp Fiction "Winston Wolfe" and he's promoting Direct Line. Then you have Arnold Schwarzenegger doing an ad for this mobile app game called Mobile Strike, and Christoph Waltz is doing this ad for another mobile app game called Clash of Clans.

Anyway it got me thinking. Why do famous actors go in for this type of thing? What's their purpose for doing ads/commercials on tv? I mean is it a money thing, or are they just trying to get a job? Because it seems to me that they would have no problem getting a role in a new movie or something, and they don't strike me as being skint.

I don't know, it just rubs me the wrong way for some reason. It feels like shameless self promoting to me, or actors selling themselves out or something.

Mariah Carey earned a 7 figure sum for promoting that Game of War app. Easy money would be why they do it

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2015-06-12-mariah-carey-signs-seven-figure-deal-to-promote-free-to-play-game-of-war-app

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

As Michael Caine said about Jaws IV - "I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

gifted wrote: »
    Van damme dude ....doing an advert for some beer...better off if he sued the plastic surgeon...:D
    Yes, because talking nipples is a medical issue...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

In her modelling days when she was younger, Cameron Diaz starred in an ad for Nivea Sun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

branie2 wrote: »
    In her modelling days when she was younger, Cameron Diaz starred in an ad for Nivea Sun

and she was in a softcore bondage porn film... Don't think she is that concerned about nivea ads.

Some of the japanese adverts are great.

Salvador Dali did some ads years back

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Kevin Bacon got caught up in a pyramid scheme and has to do the EE commercials because his life savings were basically wiped out. Don't know about the other celebs though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Vic_08

rubadub wrote: »
    and she was in a softcore bondage porn film... Don't think she is that concerned about nivea ads.

Salvador Dali did some ads years back

Thumbs up on the two facts you chose to share.

Thumbs down on the choice of clip from those two facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

What else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

What else

Double what else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Arne doing the Mobile Strike ads.... they are just terrible,

The game is terrible. Another in a new spate of so called strategy games which require zero strategy or even thinking. All these tool tips tell you what to do and you just keep doing what your told until you:

A: Get to a level where you have to wait a day for your next Upgrade and then get prompted to pay $$$ to speed up the upgrade

Or

B: Delete the sodding thing.

When I was about 12 a friend gave me a disc with Dune on it. No manual, no internet to find tactics, guides or even cheats. Spent months learning how to play. Loved that game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,395 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Suntory time!

The worst is Johnny depp advertising that aftershave. In normal life he looks like he smells bad. Not the most hygienic perhaps. He wouldn't be my first choice. And the ads themselves are bizarre.

Don't blame the celebrities for taking the cash but do they really help to sell the product?

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭Punkyblip

Harvey Keitel advertising direct line for me was a disaster, he was useless in the advert. His acting skills just disappeared. Must have a big monthly alimony outgoings he needs to fund or something to stoop to that level.

I would like to see Quagmire from Family Guy in an advert for Ann Summers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,395 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Punkyblip wrote: »
    Harvey Keitel advertising direct line for me was a disaster, he was useless in the advert. His acting skills just disappeared. Must have a big monthly alimony outgoings he needs to fund or something to stoop to that level.

I would like to see Quagmire from Family Guy in an advert for Ann Summers.

I haven't seen those ads but Harvey keitel is in an ad for Mini Cooper cars here at the moment too. It's obviously a bit more prestigious than direct line but he really must need the money!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Maybe they really like these products and want to share this with the entire world?

Ye are all so quick so judge....shame on you!

Maybe they really like these products and want to share this with the entire world?

Ye are all so quick so judge....shame on you!

Says the guy being paid to advertise Agatha Christie :)

Punkyblip wrote: »
    Says the guy being paid to advertise Agatha Christie :)

I don't need to be paid to advertise Agatha Christie, everybody knows that she is a world renowned author whose work has drifted wonderfully into the modern era as even today people are fascinated by her ability to weave intriguing webs and dastardly plots together with characters that simply delight and enthrall the casual reader. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Edward Hopper

I don't need to be paid to advertise Agatha Christie, everybody knows that she is a world renowned author whose work has drifted wonderfully into the modern era as even today people are fascinated by her ability to weave intriguing webs and dastardly plots together with characters that simply delight and enthrall the casual reader. :pac:

I heard somewhere she preferred Miss Marple.

GTFO - Tommy and Tuppence all the way!

Classic lol

• Registered Users Posts: 11,096 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Don't forget Claude Van Dame for Coors Light. All the perfume ads are done be celebs

Whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Christoph Waltz is doing this ad for another mobile app game called Clash of Clans.

Mobile app companies can afford to pay well. Supercell created Clash of Clans and last year were making between €1 - €3 million per day on Clash of Clans alone.
    Anyway it got me thinking. Why do famous actors go in for this type of thing? What's their purpose for doing ads/commercials on tv? I mean is it a money thing

Yes, it's a money thing.

Why is it selling out? They are doing a job that they get paid for. And besides, shameless self promoting is a part of being an actor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,082 ✭✭✭OU812

DiCaprio was paid over $1m last year for an advert for a Chinese casino & to attend a party that night. He allegedly won another $80k on a spin of the roulette table which they comped for him at the party as he didn't have any cash on him (given to charity).

36 hours in the country, couple of drinks, some nice Chinese food (of course there they just call it food), hang out with the mates (Scorsese directed it), probably shag a Chinese model, large donation to charity, private plane to & from, cheque in the bank...

Haven't a clue why they do it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

OU812 wrote: »
    DiCaprio was paid over $1m last year for an advert for a Chinese casino & to attend a party that night. He allegedly won another $80k on a spin of the roulette table which they comped for him at the party as he didn't have any cash on him (given to charity).

36 hours in the country, couple of drinks, some nice Chinese food (of course there they just call it food), hang out with the mates (Scorsese directed it), probably shag a Chinese model, large donation to charity, private plane to & from, cheque in the bank...

Haven't a clue why they do it...

God what a life. It's a wonder there aren't more celebrities going completely nuts with excess. Fair play to him for spending so much time banging on about the environment and not just basically doing this every couple of days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,371 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Booey Booey.

Always reminded me of Mr. Sparkle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,569 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Expect to see Richard Dreyfuss (WHO? i hear the young people cry) appearing in a lot of ads very soon. he has managed to blow through $50M since he retired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Keitel's not been doing much acting for a while so could be the money, Clash of Clans apparently makes $2.5mn a day or did during it's peak, and Mobile Strike was making about $3.8mn a day. Given these ads likely take 1-2 days to shoot, as very seasoned actors in leading roles (e.g. longer days and longer shoots) it's got to really seem like free money to them.

bnt wrote: »
    It's not a new thing, in general, but it is relatively new in UK & Ireland, it seems. US actors have been doing commercials in Japan for years. See here for examples & pictures.

Probably the most normal, sane thing Nicholas Cage has been in for at least 20 years.

Don't forget Claude Van Dame for Coors Light. All the perfume ads are done be celebs

Thanks for reminding me. As someone who doesn't mind for example the Clooney ads at all, I still find those Scarlett Johansson/Matthew McConnaughey ads to be the most pretentious, annoying ads I might have ever seen (certainly at least since the crazy frog 12-ish years back).

Billy86 wrote: »
    Thanks for reminding me. As someone who doesn't mind for example the Clooney ads at all, I still find those Scarlett Johansson/Matthew McConnaughey ads to be the most pretentious, annoying ads I might have ever seen (certainly at least since the crazy frog 12-ish years back).

And it was directed by Martin Scorsese to boot. :(

valoren wrote: »
    And it was directed by Martin Scorsese to boot. :(

I don't think I even knew that. Which reminded me of an even worse, more pretentious ad, against directed by him.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,096 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Billy86 wrote: »

Nothing and I MEAN NOTHING even Arni, Van Damme or those come to California Ad will be as annoying as that CRAZY FROG