Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

job offer -though first pay for garda vetting before training???

• 11-03-2016 3:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭

Anyone ever hear of this before? :eek:

Pay 40 euro in some kind of money vouchers for the garda vetting, and then start training 2 weeks after the deadline for submitting the 40 euro?
    The company is ¨extremely very busy¨ and there is a high take up of positions, so i guess I should be feeling the pressure.. :rolleyes:
    But it sounds like a scam to me. I didnt think there was a cost in garda vetting, and why would you pay before first paycheck? That amounts to paying to get a job.

The job seems to be in logistics, not dealing with vulnerable people...

EDIT: There was a dublin telephone number attached to the email, and with a google search it comes up as being a scam, trying to get an upfront fee from people looking for work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

Anyone ever hear of this before? :eek:

Pay 40 euro in some kind of money vouchers for the garda vetting, and then start training 2 weeks after the deadline for submitting the 40 euro?
    The company is ¨extremely very busy¨ and there is a high take up of positions, so i guess I should be feeling the pressure.. :rolleyes:
    But it sounds like a scam to me. I didnt think there was a cost in garda vetting, and why would you pay before first paycheck? That amounts to paying to get a job.

The job seems to be in logistics, not dealing with vulnerable people...

It's not unusual at all. There is a charge for Garda vetting.

Paying to get a job? Paying to be able to show you're not a criminal before a company entrust you with their customers property and their reputation.

It's €40. Pay the money and get it done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Chimichangas

It's not unusual at all. There is a charge for Garda vetting.

Paying to get a job? Paying to be able to show you're not a criminal before a company entrust you with their customers property and their reputation.

It's €40. Pay the money and get it done.

Are you lying on purpose?

...or do you just not know what youre talking about and just pretending a little...?:rolleyes: Coz its not what the gardai say... :o

http://www.garda.ie/FAQ/Default.aspx?FAQCategory=36#FAQ2721

And now thanks to the FAQ it indicates that it only relative to working with vunerable people. So why would a logistics job, prior to interview and training require it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Bicycle

Yes, that is VERY strange.

I used to be responsible for Garda Vetting for an organisation. Because we only had small numbers, we used an umbrella group to do our Garda Vetting for us. We paid an annual subscription to the umbrella group which covered Garda vetting.

We were not charged per capita. We did not charge our clients for garda vetting either.

And there is no way the garda vetting would have come back in 2 weeks. 2 months would have been a good result for us.

Garda Vetting is needed if you are working with people under the age of 18 or with vulnerable adults.

The only alternative is possibly a Garda Clearance Certificate. Again these are free IIRC. You just go to a Garda Station, pick up a form, complete it and give it back to the Garda Station. It is returned to you within a couple of weeks.

I think you should make further enquiries before you commit.

Bicycle wrote: »
    Yes, that is VERY strange.

I think you should make further enquiries before you commit.

Thanks, I just did and updated the original post, turns out the telephone number provided 012549681, comes up as being a scam number.

But yet someone comes on this thread and makes out that you do need to pay for garda vetting before getting a job.... Theres allsorts out there. :(:confused:

Must have got the details from one of the job recruitment sites!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Bicycle

Well done for following this through.

Hopefully others will read your post and be made aware of the scam.

Isn't it horrible how people prey on vulnerable people seeking work. :mad:

Good luck with your job search.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

I know the OP's situation related to a scam but to clarify on vetting - the Gardai don't charge for it but some organisations that handle vetting for other groups (the umbrella scenario another poster mentioned) do charge for it so some organisations will pass that charge on to the individuals who are being vetted.

The current processing time is less than 4 weeks for most applications. Some take longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

I'm pretty sure that if you have ever lived abroad there is a charge for garda vetting

greendom wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure that if you have ever lived abroad there is a charge for garda vetting

Thats not mentioned by the guards on their website relating to fees for garda vetting. It plainly says, there is NO FEE for garda vetting.
    See link above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

Thats not mentioned by the guards on their website relating to fees for garda vetting. It plainly says, there is NO FEE for garda vetting.
    See link above.

Yeah, yeah. Grand. It's not a Garda fee then. CPL must have used an agency to do the background check for a job I got through them. I was mistaken. That's life.