Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seller doesn't allow test drives

• 10-03-2016 7:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭

Went to view a car for sale privately. After meeting the seller to view it, I asked to take it out for a drive only to be told that he doesn't allow test drives!

The seller did offer to drive it while I sat in the passenger seat however this is not very useful.

I know at auctions you can't test drive the cars, but at least you get the cars for auction prices!

Have any of you ever come across this? How is a buyer ever supposed to evaluate the car without a test drive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

No way i'd buy a used car in a private deal without driving it myself. It'd be nothing short of foolish.

I'd just move on.

Is the car something exotic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

He won't be selling it anytime soon so.

Just move on to the next one, no point dwelling on one being sold by a buffoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

did you take proof of insurance with you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

How he can expect anyone to make an offer on his car without letting them drive it is beyond me.

Did he say anything when asked that might explain his logic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Bobjims

No way i'd buy a used car in a private deal without driving it myself. It'd be nothing short of foolish.

I'd just move on.

Is the car something exotic?

It's not exotic, just hard to find one in good condition. Lexus IS250 Auto. A lot of bad ones out there.

did you take proof of insurance with you?

I had it with me but he had no interest in insurance. Just didn't want a stranger driving his car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Long Time Lurker

Bobjims wrote: »
    Went to view a car for sale privately. After meeting the seller to view it, I asked to take it out for a drive only to be told that he doesn't allow test drives!

The seller did offer to drive it while I sat in the passenger seat however this is not very useful.

I know at auctions you can't test drive the cars, but at least you get the cars for auction prices!

Have any of you ever come across this? How is a buyer ever supposed to evaluate the car without a test drive?

If you don't have insurance then what can you expect. It sounds strange in theory but in practice everyone who let's a potential buyer out in their car without insurance is in reality taking a huge risk.

That said any good mechanics will be able to identify most problems even without driving it. If you're serious just bring one with you.

NIMAN wrote: »
    How he can expect anyone to make an offer on his car without letting them drive it is beyond me.

Did he say anything when asked that might explain his logic?

He said that if I crash it he would be out of pocket. I explained that I could never buy a used car privately without a test drive.

If you don't have insurance then what can you expect. It sounds strange in theory but in practice everyone who let's a potential buyer out in their car without insurance is in reality taking a huge risk.

That said any good mechanics will be able to identify most problems even without driving it. If you're serious just bring one with you.

I suppose that's just the risk you have to take if you want to sell privately. Most policies cover third party driving of other cars, not comp.

Could a mechanic on a visual inspection find a problem such as the steering pulling off centre?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

He said that if I crash it he would be out of pocket. I explained that I could never buy a used car privately without a test drive.

It's the seller's right to stipulate any crazy condition, i.e. you can only contact him via magic turnip on the 3rd full moon of the year, that the car can only be sold when it's facing west and even that no-one may drive it.
    And it's the sellers right to smile, say "toodles", turn on his heels and walk off. He'll soon change his tune.
    And your point that a good one is hard to find makes it even more important to drive it.
    But as i said I would not even be arguing with the guy. the conversation would be:
    Me: "Can i drive the car"
    Seller: "No, you're not allowed a test drive"
    Me: "Toodles!", turn on heel, walk off.
    99% of cases this will lead to the seller chasing you and "miraculously" changing his mind.

Remember:
    No reg, not allowing to check error codes, not allowing test drives, don't care, doesn't matter, "toodles" and off you go. Too many cranks selling cars and they have to be shown in very clear terms that fcukery is not an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

It's not exotic, just hard to find one in good condition. Lexus IS250 Auto.

Seller was afraid a Ford Focus might crash into him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

I had it with me but he had no interest in insurance. Just didn't want a stranger driving his car.

I don't know why it would bother him so much when he's not keeping it.

It's the seller's right to stipulate any crazy condition, i.e. you can only contact him via magic turnip on the 3rd full moon of the year, that the car can only be sold when it's facing west and even that no-one may drive it.
    And it's the sellers right to smile, say "toodles", turn on his heels and walk off. He'll soon change his tune.
    And your point that a good one is hard to find makes it even more important to drive it.
    But as i said I would not even be arguing with the guy. the conversation would be:
    Me: "Can i drive the car"
    Seller: "No, you're not allowed a test drive"
    Me: "Toodles!", turn on heel, walk off.
    99% of cases this will lead to the seller chasing you and "miraculously" changing his mind.

Remember:
    No reg, not allowing to check error codes, not allowing test drives, don't care, doesn't matter, "toodles" and off you go. Too many cranks selling cars and they have to be shown in very clear terms that fcukery is not an option.

The car has only been for sale for a day. I'd say that's why he wasn't concerned when I walked for not allowing a test drive.

He'll come around to allowing test drives eventually. Otherwise he has little hope of selling it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I'd laugh first, then walk away!

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    I don't know why it would bother him so much when he's not keeping it.

I suppose it could be that he is just hiding a flaw with the car by not allowing test drives.

I'd understand if he was selling the last air cooled 911, lots of dreamers would be on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

I suppose it could be that he is just hiding a flaw with the car by not allowing test drives.

I'd understand if he was selling the last air cooled 911, lots of dreamers would be on that.

I'd find it very difficult to deal with someone like that tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I guess it all depends on what car you selling and what is your opinion of buyer.

For example when I was selling 399hp skyline the buyer was not allowed to drive it. My mechanic took him for a spin and he bought car after. I would not trust buyer with the car and he was young fella.
    When selling subaru the fella who bought it was spot on in my books and really genuine local fella. I just gave him keys and told him go for a spin, without me being in there and putting pressure. After test drive he bought the car.

It happens I guess and I did it myself, but there are certain conditions, but in general, you have to give buyer ability to drive car.
    I myself usually get my mechanic friend with me who has garage insurance. He test drives it and I trust his opinion 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Was it an SEL spec?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Did it have a Mark Levinson sound system?

Were strangers looking enviously at you?

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Were strangers looking enviously at you?

I think I'm out of the loop on this one.

There was a user on here who had an obsession with his LexUS is 250 sel with a mark Levinson sound system.

It sounds like you actually met him

I guess it all depends on what car you selling and what is your opinion of buyer.

For example when I was selling 399hp skyline the buyer was not allowed to drive it. My mechanic took him for a spin and he bought car after. I would not trust buyer with the car and he was young fella.
    When selling subaru the fella who bought it was spot on in my books and really genuine local fella. I just gave him keys and told him go for a spin, without me being in there and putting pressure. After test drive he bought the car.

It happens I guess and I did it myself, but there are certain conditions, but in general, you have to give buyer ability to drive car.
    I myself usually get my mechanic friend with me who has garage insurance. He test drives it and I trust his opinion 100%.

I think when you're selling a specialist car like that it's fair to be cautious. I'd be reluctant to let anyone drive a 400hp skyline too! Lots of time wasters would be looking for a spin in that!

With a normal car, I think the seller just has to take the risk and let genuinely interested buyers test drive the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭morritty

Enjoy Sir!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I've sold a few quick cars in the past. Plenty of not so quick ones also.

I've usually driven a few miles and then let them drive on a dual carriageway or motorway and stressed that whilst they were welcome to check out the performance of the car they'd do well to remember who the owner is :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

You think it's bad in a private sale, I had the same experience with a garage in the sticks when I was shopping for a Focus ST a few years ago. I had even rang and spoke to the guy the day before to ask if it was still for sale, as I had to travel from Dublin to Longford to see it. Got there and I was only allowed to drive it after I had paid for it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

I would always urge anyone looking at a car of mine to drive it around the estate so they know what they are buying, in fact anyone who doesn't bother tends to be trouble down the line. Any sort of test drive outside of the estate though and I would want to see insurance and if they are idiots I would just say no.

The actions of the seller in the Op are strange though. I've heard of "no cash no drive" but "no drive" is just plain odd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Seller doesn't allow test drives.

Seller doesn't sell.

Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

I'm not so sure. How much does a test drive really tell you?

I'd say the only really useful mechanical check would be for clutch slip. However even for this you could ask the owner to enact the conditions for this and listen for revs not matching power delivery.

You'd have to really want the car though to be bothered with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I miss hachiko :( anyone know what he's at? He was some craic when ya had nothing to read at work.

I'd say the only really useful mechanical check would be for clutch slip. However even for this you could ask the owner to enact the conditions for this and listen for revs not matching power delivery.

It tells a lot, starting with gear changes and any steering issues ending on how you feel driving the car.

I would never by a new (second hand, actually) car without driving it first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It's not exotic, just hard to find one in good condition. Lexus IS250 Auto. A lot of bad ones out there.

His is possibly a bad one too and he didn't want you finding out something by driving it yourself.

If it were me I'd tell him to shove it and walk away. He'll soon change his mind when he realises people are not prepared to hand over their hard earned money for something they can't try out for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

If he says it in the ad, fair enough, but if the seller doesn't mention it in the ad about no test drives, and I only find out when I get there, I'd flip him the bird, and walk away.
    A lot of bad ones out there.
    I'm wondering if there's something wrong with this one that you'd cop on the instant you used the pedals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

He might sell it though if he is in no hurry and a keen price someone not so car savvy might think it their lucky day.
    I sold an xr2i fiesta about 25 years ago to a fella who sat in the passenger seat while I did the test drive.
    He never asked to drive it himself (Thank God) but was welcome too at any time during the sale, he just let me take over and I got my asking price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

unkel wrote: »
    Seller was afraid a Ford Focus might crash into him.

job seeker wrote: »

Look for the clues :)

There is a link just few posts above yours.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

wonski wrote: »
    Seller doesn't allow test drives.

Seller doesn't sell.

Simple.

Not always the case

I sold a car before where the buyer refused to drive it! Buyer was a genuine chap and just seemed to trust me. Although saying that my car was in visibly good nick and only 2years old so that probably helped him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

If he is that attached to his car it would break his heart to sell it and see someone else driving it, so in reality it probably isnt for sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

9935452 wrote: »
    If he is that attached to his car it would break his heart to sell it and see someone else driving it, so in reality it probably isnt for sale
    Just testing the water?
    Fcukin timewasting seller so.
    I had that with a friend who went to buy a Transit, bought 1200 with him, guy was looking for 3k. friend offered him 1200 and sellers wife overheard and butted in out a window: Take the 1200 we need to pay for X!
    seller didn't bother haggling anymore.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

morritty wrote: »

Well that was disappointing. Looked like a load of butt hurt Alfa drivers got upset over this guy liking his car. That or focus drivers didn't like the way he talked about their precious cars..

Still don't get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

Not always the case

I sold a car before where the buyer refused to drive it! Buyer was a genuine chap and just seemed to trust me. Although saying that my car was in visibly good nick and only 2years old so that probably helped him.

I bought a car that I refused to drive. Of course it was my first car in Ireland so I was not insured yet, and it was a manual transmission and I didn't know how to drive it anyway! The seller, my local mechanic, asked one of his people to drive it around with me in it to point out any work that was likely to need to be done. But that's completely different from not allowing any buyer to drive it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭morritty

Caliden wrote: »
    Well that was disappointing. Looked like a load of butt hurt Alfa drivers got upset over this guy liking his car. That or focus drivers didn't like the way he talked about their precious cars..

Still don't get it.

That's only 1 thread, there's a ton of threads out there that he ruined waffling on about his IS250 SEL Auto with Mark Levinson Sound System being the greatest car ever and anything else is a peasents car. Something along those lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Maybe the torque converter in the auto box is slipping and that's why he won't let anyone test drive it. I know how much autos cost to fix, not worth it on an old car its a frightening expensive job. I scrapped a car years ago because if it. That may not be the case with this ape but you wouldn't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

If you cannot provide proof of insurance, then the seller was actually sane.

grogi wrote: »
    If you cannot provide proof of insurance, then the seller was actually sane.

Why don't you just read the posts before responding?

The seller wasn't interested in insurance or anything else. He didn't want buyer to drive his car.

Not always the case

Same thing happened with the last car I sold privately. Buyer outright refused to test drive it when I offered him the opportunity. Just showed up, sat in it for a minute and then handed over the cash!! He didn't even look at the service history or haggle on price!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

Power delivery, gearbox, clutch, brakes, suspension. It usually tells you everything. You can tell an awful lot more about a car by driving it than sitting in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

millington wrote: »
    Power delivery, gearbox, clutch, brakes, suspension. It usually tells you everything. You can tell an awful lot more about a car by driving it than sitting in it.

Indeed. And hopefully you won't find an apprehensive seller - the ones who do allow the test drive, but worry all the time. Second last car I bought, I started my test drive driving very carefully, trying to figure the seller out. He notices, and goes "check anything you want, I don't mind".

Ten minutes later, he was "I had no idea this car could go that fast!". But in the end I bought it, so he was an happy fella :D