Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Diesels - Are They All Horrible to Drive?

• 09-03-2016 1:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭

Traded in my car and got a good deal on a 2004 BMW 320D, not much miles etc.

Got it checked out and mechanically seemed fine.

But, it's just a pig of a yoke to drive.

Are all diesels over 10 years old like this?

Clutch is much heavier than any most petrols, gears aren't as nice to change.

I was assured by everyone I've talked to and let drive it that there's nothing wrong with clutch or gearbox and I'd just have to get used to it.

Half thinking of swapping for a petrol 1.8 or 2.0 - BMW, Audi or Honda Accord.

Don't think I could see myself driving it for the next 2-3 years (which is the usual cycle I keep my cars).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,237 ✭✭✭kirving

I much prefer petrols, but then again I haven't driven many diesels aside from a 1.6D Fiesta for a driving test, or a 1.9TDI which gives the power in big lumps.

I suspect the newer units with multiple turbos, and 7/8 speed auto boxes are far far better though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭chops018

Ah yeah - obviously the newer diesels will probably be a dream to drive.

Just wondering are most older diesels pigs.

Highly thinking of swapping - good thing is most people will probably swap a 2.0 litre petrol for a 2.0 litre diesel so I shouldn't have a problem.

I might get used to it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,533 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

But, it's just a pig of a yoke to drive.

Are all diesels over 10 years old like this?

Clutch is much heavier than any most petrols, gears aren't as nice to change.
    I would go to a dealer or two and drive the same car and see if there is a difference...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Stephenc66

Idbatterim wrote: »
    I would go to a dealer or two and drive the same car and see if there is a difference...

Good idea.. Maybe try a petrol version to before you swap. It maybe also be that the clutch in your car is nearing the end of it's life.

Another thing to consider is what have you changed from and are used to

Idbatterim wrote: »

Tbh, I did!

Not all dealers, but drove the same type of car same year in a few different places. This one seemed the best to drive, ha!

Stephenc66 wrote: »
    Good idea.. Maybe try a petrol version to before you swap. It maybe also be that the clutch in your car is nearing the end of it's life.

Another thing to consider is what have you changed from and are used to

Changed from a petrol 1.6 Audi, 2 years younger too - clutch was like you were pressing on a feather, so light, gearbox was like new, gears just slid into place.

Anyone I've said it to or shown thinks I'm mad!

May well be that I am just not used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭JackHeuston

I've been driving diesels since I got my driving licence 8 years ago. When I have to drive someone else's petrol car I don't like it at all and especially those things you mentioned (clutch, switching gears, ...) feel weird. I guess it's only a matter of getting used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,083 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

chops018 wrote: »
    Changed from a petrol 1.6 Audi, 2 years younger too - clutch was like you were pressing on a feather, so light, gearbox was like new, gears just slid into place.

Anyone I've said it to or shown thinks I'm mad!

May well be that I am just not used to it.

Manual BMWs tend to have a meatier feel to the clutch and gearbox, i.e. they feel heavier. It can be a good and bad thing depending on your viewpoint. They're certainly heavier than the set up in VAG cars for example. It's probably something you won't notice after a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

A petrol BM will change gears more or less the same as a diesel one. To be honest, the gear shift in those E46 3 series are quite nice I dunno why you'd have an issue with it :confused: diesel clutches do tend to be heavier, not always the case, but you get used to it fairly quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,481 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Manual BMWs tend to have a meatier feel to the clutch and gearbox, i.e. they feel heavier. It can be a good and bad thing depending on your viewpoint. They're certainly heavier than the set up in VAG cars for example. It's probably something you won't notice after a while.

+1 on this. Had a 2008 manual diesel 3 Series and found the clutch very heavy on it despite it being in perfect working order, it's just the way they are. Driving an automatic 5 Series diesel these days and the automatic gearbox is in a different league to a manual.

OP, if you want to swap it then I suggest you test drive an auto 3 Series diesel, that will be way nicer, the auto really suits the setup of a diesel engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Alk my life I drove only petrol and a lot of them sporty.
    I am driving alfa gt diesel for last two weeks and it felt weird.

Just from my own understanding and experience, take it for what it's worth to you:

Clutch is heavier. That's a fact, but I got used to it. Its still a bit weird when you do a lot of city driving with lots of stops and first gear starts. Anything above the feels grand.
    A lot of issues I had due to rev range difference. I am just not used to way lower revs on diesels. When you finally get used to it and get a feel for it, it becomes a lot smoother.
    Just general diesel feel on idle - its fecking tractor and you can feel so much more vibration. Its specially noticeable in city driving. Thanks **** most of my driving is long journeys on limerick - Cork Road.

All in all I am happy with switch, at least diesels got some torgue, which gives false sense of speed. It does not feel sluggish. I miss refinement of petrol engines, but when I look at my mpg right now, I just give my alfa a kiss and forget about my rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭ofcork

I would agree the diesel vibration at idle is annoying but at motorway speeds they come into their own @2k revs doing 120kph.