Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Professional Irishmen

• 07-03-2016 1:20pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭

They are everywhere calling themselves 'Wild Irish Poet' and 'Erin Dancer' and other nonsense. Images of them on beaches quoting Yeats. They are so clearly transparent and vapid and yet the Yanks especially eat it up.

This got me interested in other famous Professional Irishmen. Irish men who otherwise have zero talent but who wrap a Oirish cultural try hard image around themselves to compensate for their lack of talent. David Norris with his whole Joyce act was the first to come to mind. Dry ****e Jimmy McGee giving us another Ronnie Delany story is another more domestic model.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Ireland is a ****e country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

"Patriotism is the virtue of the vicious." - Oscar Wilde

*adjusts monocle*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

"Na scamaill sa spéir... an bainne as an bhó"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

Your Face wrote: »

I agree, but I am just trying to identify the worst stereotypes so my misery of existence here can avail of some respite.

I lock myself indoors on Bloomsday.

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    I agree, but I am just trying to identify the worst stereotypes so my misery of existence here can avail of some respite.

I lock myself indoors on Bloomsday.

Don't do that to yourself. There is no cure to the endless vulgarity of this insular backward-thinking country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    They are everywhere calling themselves 'Wild Irish Poet' and 'Erin Dancer' and other nonsense.

Eh, where do you hang out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Its really not.
    Most of the time people who say this are people who haven't left the country or are generally gob****es.

I have lived in Spain and Italy and would pick Ireland over them. It's so hard to get anything done over there.
    But I am 26 with a decent job living in Dublin so maybe if you lived in the bog with no money, maybe I can see your point.

Ireland is a grand country to live in. The worst part about the country is the people who complain about hurr durr de gubbermint and uncle dinny bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of hipsters and gowls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I don't mind of a bit of Potato Irishness occasionally and usually take no notice of people giving it the full Leprechaun, but I have to say Hector O'Heochagain gets on my nerves something considerable.

valoren wrote: »
    The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of hipsters and gowls.

What about hipster gowls?

Its really not.
    Most of the time people who say this are people who haven't left the country or are generally gob****es.

I have lived in Spain and Italy and would pick Ireland over them. It's so hard to get anything done over there.
    But I am 26 with a decent job living in Dublin so maybe if you lived in the bog with no money, maybe I can see your point.

Ireland is a grand country to live in. The worst part about the country is the people who complain about hurr durr de gubbermint and uncle dinny bollocks.

Proving ignorance is bliss.

...Ireland is a grand country to live in. The worst part about the country is the people who complain about hurr durr de gubbermint and uncle dinny bollocks.

Ireland is a pretty decent place, all told. It could be a lot more decenter if it weren't for de Gubbermint, Uncle Dinny and certain po-faced know-it-all educated gobadaws, many of whom are in Fine Gael. :pac:

Proving ignorance is bliss.

...to the Gentry since 1882. :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    Ireland is a pretty decent place, all told. It could be a lot more decenter if it weren't for de Gubbermint, Uncle Dinny and certain po-faced know-it-all educated gobadaws, many of whom are in Fine Gael. :pac:

Show me a country where that isn't the case.

Any country could be a lot more decenter if x and y happened.

Show me a country where that isn't the case.

Any country could be a lot more decenter if x and y happened.

To be sure. However, this is the one in which I am situated in. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

all the " whingers" should go and live in another country for 4 years. Then they'd appreciate what they have here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Bulbous Salutation

Aongus Von Bismarck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Paul Galvin!

To be sure. However, this is the one in which I am situated in. :D

Haha fair enough. Sure didn't Cromwell himself crucify pearse so we could have an auld whinge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Ever live in Australia? Now that's a ****e country. Working 45+ hours a week, and then drinking all day Sunday, wow want a place. Its a horrid hole where racism seems to be a national past time...

Ireland is grand fairly laid back, decent minimum wage and not a huge amount of working, cheaper food(better food in some cases) generally nicer people

Ever live in Australia? Now that's a ****e country. Working 45+ hours a week, and then drinking all day Sunday, wow want a place. Its a horrid hole where racism seems to be a national past time...

Ireland is grand fairly laid back, decent minimum wage and not a huge amount of working, cheaper food(better food in some cases) generally nicer people

This attitude of it being grand, it really isn't.
    45+ hours a week is the norm in a professional job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Ice Maiden

On what do you base this insight?

Asking you this, by the way, does not mean I think Ireland is perfect, but it's quite the vague sweeping statement.

And if you live here (which I'd bet you do) what are you doing to improve it? You are surely doing something, otherwise you're part of the sh-tness.

Clovenhoof might to. Although they did ignore a request for clarification on why they state most Boards.ie members are civil servants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

One of the minority parties in the government - the one where almost everyone has an Irish name (although they have toned that down a bit).

Ice Maiden wrote: »
    On what do you base this insight?

Asking you this, by the way, does not mean I think Ireland is perfect, but it's quite the vague sweeping statement.

And if you live here (which I'd bet you do) what are you doing to improve it? You are surely doing something, otherwise you're part of the sh-tness.

I do my bit locally, I'm not going into specifics, I don't do it for the credit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

OleRodrigo wrote: »
    The King of Professional Irishmen ;)

I'm a Yank and not even of Irish descent, and even I could only get about thirty seconds into that before I wanted to die of embarrassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

absolutely, the last thing a country needs is education . sure we'll all be grand knowing nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

Speedwell wrote: »
    I'm a Yank and not even of Irish descent, and even I could only get about thirty seconds into that before I wanted to die of embarrassment.

Be Jaysus, I nearly died laughin'

BoatMad wrote: »
    absolutely, the last thing a country needs is education . sure we'll all be grand knowing nothing

There is betimes a chasm vast and yawning between education and knowledge. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Alex Bruce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I love it here. You won't catch me living anywhere else again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

This attitude of it being grand, it really isn't.
    45+ hours a week is the norm in a professional job.

Really? I know plenty of people who are professionals and they do their 39 hours a week and get paid pretty well...also these 45+ jobs in oz were low level jobs with poor pay

Shes back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭thattequilagirl

smash wrote: »
    "Na scamaill sa spéir... an bainne as an bhó"

Cuinas bother cailin bainne!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

You might be confusing Ireland with Galway.

Oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

I second that. (Slightly grudgingly. Galway is grand, but there are better counties in the west :)).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

You don't like it? Leave! I'd wish you good luck but you wouldn't know what to do with it.

OK, thanks for the advice. Very helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

I don't mind of a bit of Potato Irishness occasionally and usually take no notice of people giving it the full Leprechaun, but I have to say Hector O'Heochagain gets on my nerves something considerable.

That is a beautiful sentence.