Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[McGregor v Diaz Megathread] Will you be watching the mcgregor fight?

• 05-03-2016 5:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭

Mod

We might as well use this as the main thread. Please keep all talk of the fight here for tonight, cheers

K

What time is it due to be on..might hop on the bandwagon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

Specialun wrote: »
    What time is it due to be on..might hop on the bandwagon

After 4am for Holmes and 5am for McGregor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,488 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Going to Christy Moore in Waterford and on bottle 2 at the min so doubt I'll last til 5am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

Last time his fight was on v aldo, I left my mates gaf soon after it was over.
    Their was more people on the streets that night then their was during the day

I shall watch on a free stream and I do hope he gets beaten :)

Regarding the seemingly unpatriotic comment, he's not representing Ireland, he's representing himself and he's a w@nker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

I'll tape it and watch it over breakfast. Last time I stayed up all night and waited so long and it only lasted 13 seconds. Actually, it reminded me of the first time I had sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Augeo wrote: »

Regarding the seemingly unpatriotic comment, he's not representing Ireland, he's representing himself and he's a w@nker.

he is never without an irish flag and always speaking about ireland and the irish people, oh and hes irish.

but yeah, hes not representing ireland...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Now IMV anyone who watches this spectacle of battering is ill.

But then again as a gurrrlll I suppose I am banned for saying this. MMA is something else, but must be a man thing. And the tatts. FGS. All wrong for me.

But who am I?

Boxing is different, it is skilled and there are rules. Don't like it much either has to be said.

Anyway, all these fight things are rigged. For the betting. Have to be. Mafia controlled and conspiracy theories here.

The money made is just off the feckin scale really.

Anyway..

NO I will not be watching. I will be knitting instead. Thank you.

MarkY91 wrote: »
    he is never without an irish flag and always speaking about ireland and the irish people, oh and hes irish.........

Business model ;)
    Drum up support, some gnomes have to pay to watch for his pocket to get lined.

He's generally speaking about how great he is and how is opponent is a coward etc.... add in some Rolex chat and mention of where he gets his ghastly unfashionable attire and that's 99% of his speel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

As stated in the OP, we'll use this for all McGregor v Diaz talk for the night. No other threads please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭turnikett1

He's actually a really nice guy behind it all, and does lots of charitable stuff out of his own accord (ie not for publicity). The sh1te he says is part of the gig - it's what makes him rich, more or less. The attention garnered by his (admittedly brilliant) insults and cockiness is drawing lots and lots of viewers to UFC, and as a result, lots of money for the UFC, Conor and his opponents.

I won't be watching it because I don't see how I'm going to stay awake 'till 6.30am (where I live), and I don't fancy waking up at 6am just to watch it either. I'll watch a replay tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

But then again as a gurrrlll I suppose I am banned for saying this. MMA is something else, but must be a man thing. And the tatts. FGS. All wrong for me.

But who am I?

Boxing is different, it is skilled and there are rules. Don't like it much either has to be said.

Anyway, all these fight things are rigged. For the betting. Have to be. Mafia controlled and conspiracy theories here.

Anyway..

Boxing is skilled but MMA isn't... :confused::confused::confused:

turnikett1 wrote: »
    He's actually a really nice guy behind it all.........

I don't know the cnut so I can only judge on the all, and that points to him being a w@nker.

I really hope he gets beaten tonight after getting hammered in several rounds, don't want any lucky punch defence speel tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

But who am I?

Anyway..

hahaha, so boxing isn't rigged quite often?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

No, won't be staying up, last time, I think it was pencilled in for 1am and it ran 4 hrs, I woke up at 5, went to twitter and thought people were taking the p1ss.

He walks the walk, talks the talk, can't knock him, he's good at what he does and now's how to make the money.

Can't stand the sport though, am quite ignorant about it but imo punching someone when they are down is not on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭pgj2015

MarkY91 wrote: »
    he is never without an irish flag and always speaking about ireland and the irish people, oh and hes irish.

but yeah, hes not representing ireland...

He didn't have the Irish flag with him last night at the weigh in, plus he didn't even mention the Irish fans when talking to joe rogan after the weigh in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭thisonetaken

pgj2015 wrote: »
    He didn't have the Irish flag with him last night at the weigh in, plus he didn't even mention the Irish fans when talking to joe rogan after the weigh in.

That's cause there's no Irish fans out there, they've all blown their dole savings from his last fight out there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

That's cause there's no Irish fans out there, they've all blown their dole savings from his last fight out there

Actually there are tonnes of Irish fans out there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

But who am I?

Boxing is different, it is skilled and there are rules. Don't like it much either has to be said..

This is a gender neutral comment, because if a man came out with it would be equally as wrong. You realise the lads involved usually have trained for years in boxing, various types of wrestling, and martial arts.......?

I don't know the cnut so I can only judge on the all, and that points to him being a w@nker.

I really hope he gets beaten tonight after getting hammered in several rounds, don't want any lucky punch defence speel tomorrow.

You sound like such a nice upstanding member of society yourself :rolleyes:

To be honest I cant get the McGregor hate, I think he's gas. The thrash talk goes with the sport and we dont have many athletes in this small country on top of their sport. Himself, Katie, Rob Heffernan off the top of my head but thats it. He's living his dream no matter what the result and good luck to him.

Just like any other success story though, the pathetic knockers cant queue up fast enough. He's living the dream, good luck to him I say. A few more like him that actually go out there, chase the dream and succeed is what we need and not fence sitting tossers amounting to nothing and taking up space.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

So, it's clear that we're going to need some rules and I know how much you all love rules so I've started a new thread and put them all in the first post.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=98966982#post98966982

Read the first post before posting. Ta.