Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking to read some philosophy!

Options
  • 03-03-2016 10:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭

Hi All

My background is in something completely different, but I have lately discovered an immense hunger for quality philosophy. I am looking for some suggestions on where to start.

I should mention that I am interested in reading Classical and Medieval-era philosophy only. I have heard that Seneca and Aurelius are quite interesting, but I'm a newbie so I don't want my enthusiasm killed early. Is there a philosopher in this category that is quite comprehensible even for someone like me?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Joe1919

Seneca's letters are very readable. There is an older translation available online at https://en.wikisource.org/wiki/Moral_letters_to_Lucilius

Hie essays are also available e.g.
    http://thriceholy.net/Texts/Happy.html

However, its better to have a modern translation. e.g. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Selected-Letters-Oxford-Worlds-Classics/dp/0199533210/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457303780&sr=8-1&keywords=seneca+fantham